Pregnancy and birth after in vitro fertilisation

How successful are IVF treatments? The charts on this page show the success rates for IVF and the numbers of premature or multiple births occurring after IVF.

Not all IVF treatments result in a birth. Frequently, to increase the chances of success, several embryos are transferred to the uterus. However, this also increases the likelihood of a multiple pregnancy, which involves greater risks (for mother and child) than a singleton pregnancy. For example, multiple pregnancies are more often associated with caesarean sections and premature births.

In recent years, the practice of elective single embryo transfer (eSET) has become increasingly common internationally. Thanks to modern methods, embryos produced in vitro can be observed and analysed in more detail. This makes it possible to select a single embryo, which may increase pregnancy success rates.

How to read the chart: Embryo transfer was achieved in 86 per cent of all treatment cycles started in 2007, for example; a clinical pregnancy was established in 23 per cent; and a birth (including stillbirths) resulted from 16 per cent of all treatment cycles.

In the first weeks, pregnancy can only be detected using a biochemical test (i.e. a pregnancy test). It can only be determined by ultrasound after 5 to 6 weeks. From this point onwards, it is known as a clinical pregnancy.

 

For comparison, in 2019, the proportion of multiple births was 1.70 per cent overall, while the proportion after IVF was 6.11 per cent. (Source: FSO, BEVNAT)

Further information

Reproductive Medicine Act effectiveness review

The FOPH reviews the effectiveness of the Reproductive Medicine Act.

Legislative projects

The Federal Office of Public Health is responsible for the legal work related to reproductive medicine.

Parliamentary Motions

Since the Reproductive Medicine Act went into force in 2001, more than 30 parliamentary motions have been submitted on the topic.

Expert opinions

Expert opinions on issues with regard to the Reproductive Medicine Regulation

The graphics were developed by taglab GmbH.

Last modification 23.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-fortpflanzungsmedizin/medizinische-praxis-im-bereich-fortpflanzung/schwangerschaft-geburt-in-vitro-fertilisation.html

Grossesse et naissance après une FIV

Quel est le taux de réussite des FIV ? Les graphiques de cette page présentent le taux de réussite des FIV et celui des naissances prématurées ou des grossesses multiples après une telle procédure.

Tous les traitements de FIV ne mènent pas à une naissance. Afin d’augmenter les chances de succès, on transfère souvent plusieurs embryons dans la matrice. Mais on augmente ainsi le risque de grossesse multiple, plus dangereuse pour la mère et l'enfant qu’une grossesse simple. Par exemple, les grossesses multiples entraînent souvent une césarienne ou une naissance prématurée.

Depuis quelques années, la pratique internationale tend à ne transférer plus qu’un seul embryon sélectionné (elective single embryo transfer, eSET). En effet, les méthodes récentes permettent d’analyser plus précisément les embryons conçus in vitro. Il est ainsi possible de sélectionner un seul embryon, ce qui augmente les chances de mener la grossesse à terme.

Exemple 2007 : 86 % des cycles de traitement commencés en 2007 ont donné lieu à un transfert d’embryon ; pour 23 % des cycles de traitement, le transfert d’embryon a donné lieu à une grossesse clinique ; 16 % ont donné lieu à une naissance (y c. enfants mort-nés).

Au cours de la première semaine, seul un examen biochimique (un test de grossesse) permet de détecter la grossesse. Après cinq ou six semaines, celle-ci peut être confirmée par ultrasons. On parle alors de grossesse clinique.

Par comparaison : en 2017, le taux de grossesses multiples se montait globalement à 1.86 %, celui de grossesses multiples suite à une FIV à 15.9 %. (Source : OFS, BEVNAT)  

Informations supplémentaires

Evaluation de l'efficacité de la loi

L’Office fédéral de la santé publique évalue l’efficacité de la loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée.

Travaux législatifs

L’Office fédéral de la santé publique est responsable des travaux législatifs concernant la procréation médicalement assistée.

Interventions parlementaires

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée en 2001, plus de 30 interventions parlementaires ont été déposées sur le sujet.

Prises de position et expertises

Regroupement des prises de positions et expertises concernant la loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée


Les graphiques ont été élaborés par taglab Sàrl.

Dernière modification 16.09.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section sécurité biologique, génétique humaine et procréation médicalement assistée
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-fortpflanzungsmedizin/medizinische-praxis-im-bereich-fortpflanzung/schwangerschaft-geburt-in-vitro-fertilisation.html