Reproductive Medicine: facts & figures

Reproductive medicine can help couples who are infertile or at risk of transmitting a serious genetic disease. Who undergoes treatment and how many children are conceived with medical assistance? A monitoring programme provides data on reproductive medicine.

Each year in Switzerland, about 6000 couples who are infertile or carriers of a serious genetic disease seek medical assistance to conceive a child. Around 35 reproductive medicine centres are available. Approximately 2000 live births per year occur as a result of assisted reproduction.

The Reproductive Medicine Act (RMA) specifies the conditions under which assisted reproductive techniques may be used. The purpose of the regulations is to protect human dignity, privacy and the family. Whether the Act fulfils its purpose is to be determined by a review of its effectiveness. As part of this review, the FOPH, as a first step, is conducting a monitoring programme. This programme systematically collects data on reproductive medicine in Switzerland, thus creating transparency.

Overview of published data and sources

The data published here is divided into three main sections:

  • Medical practice in the area of reproductive medicine:  This section includes charts on the following four areas: in vitro fertilisation (IVF) and insemination; testing of embryos (preimplantation diagnosis); pregnancies and births after IVF; and preservation of reproductive cells.
  • Actors in reproductive medicine: This section focuses on physicians who require a licence to use assisted reproductive techniques and laboratories which require authorisation to perform genetic testing on embryos. 
  • Sperm-donor-conceived children: This section includes charts on sperm donors and on donor-conceived children.  

The data presented in the charts comes from the following sources:

Quellen Fmed Monitoring_e.JPG
  • F├ęcondation In Vitro National (FIVNAT) is a committee of the Swiss Society for Reproductive Medicine (SGRM) which collects IVF data. See the section on Medical practice in the area of reproductive medicine.
  • The FOPH grants authorisations to laboratories which perform genetic testing on reproductive cells or embryos. These laboratories require authorisation under Article 8 of the Federal Act on Human Genetic Testing (HGTA). See the section on Actors in reproductive medicine.
  • The Federal Office for Civil Registration (EAZW) manages data in accordance with the RMA on sperm donors and donor-conceived children. See the section on Sperm donor-conceived children.
  • The licence holders are physicians who use assisted reproductive techniques, preserve reproductive cells or arrange the supply of sperm cells and therefore require a licence under Article 8 RMA. For the purposes of monitoring, they are directly surveyed. See the section on Medical practice in the area of reproductive medicine
  • Responsibility for enforcement of the RMA lies with the cantonal supervisory authorities, who are directly surveyed for monitoring purposes. See the section on Actors in reproductive medicine.

Further information

Reproductive Medicine Act effectiveness review

The FOPH reviews the effectiveness of the Reproductive Medicine Act.

Legislative projects

The Federal Office of Public Health is responsible for the legal work related to reproductive medicine.

Parliamentary Motions

Since the Reproductive Medicine Act went into force in 2001, more than 30 parliamentary motions have been submitted on the topic.

Expert opinions

Expert opinions on issues with regard to the Reproductive Medicine Regulation

Last modification 23.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-fortpflanzungsmedizin.html

Informations et données sur la procréation médicalement assistée

La procréation médicalement assistée aide les couples stériles ou porteurs d'une maladie héréditaire grave. Qui y a recours et combien d’enfants sont conçus de cette manière ? Le monitorage de la procréation médicalement assistée livre des chiffres.

En Suisse, près de 6000 couples stériles ou porteurs d’une maladie héréditaire grave ont recours chaque année à la procréation médicalement assistée pour réaliser leur désir d’avoir des enfants. Il existe environ 35 centres spécialisés. Quelque 2000 enfants viennent chaque année au monde grâce à cette technique (naissances viables).

La loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée (LPMA) règle les conditions d'application des procédures en la matière. Cette réglementation vise à protéger la dignité humaine, la personnalité et la famille. Une évaluation de l’efficacité permettra de déterminer si ce but est atteint. Dans une première étape, l’OFSP effectue un monitorage. Celui-ci consiste à collecter systématiquement les données sur la procréation médicalement assistée en Suisse dans une démarche de transparence.

Aperçu de la publication et des sources

La présente publication se compose de trois parties :

  • Pratique médicale en matière de procréation: cette rubrique contient des graphiques relatifs aux quatre sous-rubriques suivantes : fécondation in vitro (FIV) et insémination, analyse des embryons (diagnostic préimplantatoire), grossesses et naissances après une FIV, et conservation des gamètes. 
  • Acteurs de la procréation médicalement assistée: cette rubrique met l’accent sur les médecins et les laboratoires habilités à pratiquer des procédures relatives à la procréation médicalement assistée ou des tests génétiques sur les embryons.
  • Enfants nés suite à un don de sperme: cette rubrique contient des graphiques relatifs aux donneurs de sperme et aux enfants nés suite à un don de sperme.

Les données utilisées dans les graphiques proviennent des sources suivantes :

Quellen Fmed Monitoring_f.JPG
  • La Fécondation In Vitro National (FIVNAT) est une commission de la Société suisse de médecine de la reproduction (SSMR). Elle collecte des données relatives à la pratique de la FIV. Cf. rubrique Pratique médicale.
  • L’OFSP délivre les autorisations aux laboratoires pratiquant des tests génétiques sur les gamètes ou les embryons. Conformément à l’art. 8 de la loi fédérale sur l’analyse génétique humaine (LAGH), ces laboratoires sont soumis à autorisation. Cf. rubrique Acteurs.
  • L’Office fédéral de l’état civil (OFEC) gère les données relatives aux donneurs de sperme et aux enfants nés d’un don de sperme. Cf. rubrique Enfants nés suite à un don de sperme
  • Par titulaire d'une autorisation, on entend les médecins pratiquant des procédures de procréation médicalement assistée, conservant des gamètes ou cédant du sperme et étant soumis à autorisation au sens de l'art. 8 LPMA. Ceux-ci sont interrogés directement dans le cadre du monitorage. Cf. rubrique Pratique médicale.
  • L’application de la LPMA est de la compétence des autorités de surveillance cantonales. Celles-ci sont interrogées directement dans le cadre du monitorage. Cf. rubrique Acteurs.

Informations complémentaires

Evaluation de l'efficacité de la loi

L’Office fédéral de la santé publique évalue l’efficacité de la loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée.

Travaux législatifs

L’Office fédéral de la santé publique est responsable des travaux législatifs concernant la procréation médicalement assistée.

Interventions parlementaires

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée en 2001, plus de 30 interventions parlementaires ont été déposées sur le sujet.

Prises de position et expertises

Regroupement des prises de positions et expertises concernant la loi sur la procréation médicalement assistée

Dernière modification 16.09.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section sécurité biologique, génétique humaine et procréation médicalement assistée
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-fortpflanzungsmedizin.html