Health equity

Health equity is of great importance. The National Strategy for the Prevention of Non-communicable Diseases (NCD-Strategy) and the National Strategy on Addiction and Mental Health focus on this topic in 2018. The question then arises: But what is the situation regarding health equity in Switzerland?

Titel Chancengleichheit

In all stages of life there are risks that may have a negative impact on health. Scientific studies show that health resources are not distributed equally. “Being poor makes you sick” and “being sick makes you poor” briefly describe the often unfavourable interplay between social determinants of health on the one hand and health behaviour and state of health on the other. Besides the traditional social determinants – such as education, job and income – other factors, such as gender, marital status, migration
background and psychosocial stress in an individual’s professional and personal life can also impact health. The aim of this brochure is to raise awareness and, together with the numerous stakeholders in the municipalities, cantons and at the federal
level, to help reduce inequalities in the access to health promotion, prevention and treatment. This would offer much fairer chances for everyone to enjoy good health.

Health equity: Facts and figures for Switzerland

Further information

National Strategy for the Prevention of Noncommunicable Diseases (NCD strategy)

In Switzerland 2.2 million people suffer from noncommunicable diseases such as cancer. A healthy lifestyle would help prevent many of these conditions and reduce their consequences. This is where the NCD strategy and its partners come in.

National Strategy on Addiction

Addiction is a dynamic area of policy that constantly has to respond to new challenges, for example changing patterns of behaviour and trends in consumption.

Health Equity

The federal administration’s programme on migration and health was designed to improve the health literacy of the migrant population and help healthcare professionals deal with patients of different origins.

Last modification 17.09.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Non-communicable Diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-chancengleichheit.html

Égalité des chances et santé

L’égalité des chances en matière de santé est une valeur importante. La Stratégie nationale Prévention des maladies non transmissibles (Stratégie MNT), la Stratégie nationale Addictions ainsi que le rapport sur la santé psychique mettent un accent particulier sur cette thématique en 2018. Mais qu’en est-il de l’égalité des chances en matière de santé en Suisse?

Titel Chancengleichheit

Au cours des différentes phases de vie, les personnes sont exposées à des risques qui peuvent avoir une influence négative sur leur santé. Les études scientifiques montrent que les ressources des individus pour gérer les risques sont inégalement réparties. La pauvreté rend malade et la maladie appauvrit : voilà qui résume bien les interactions souvent défavorables entre les déterminants sociaux de la santé, d’une part, et les comportements en matière de santé ainsi que l’état de santé, d’autre part. Outre les déterminants sociaux traditionnels tels que le niveau de formation, la profession et le revenu, d’autres facteurs comme le genre, la situation familiale, le contexte migratoire et la santé psychique ont également un effet sur la gestion de la santé.
A travers cette brochure, nous souhaitons sensibiliser et ensemble, avec les nombreux acteurs dans les communes, les cantons et au niveau national, contribuer à réduire les inégalités dans l’accès à la promotion de la santé, la prévention et les soins. Grâce à un tel engagement, les chances de vivre en bonne santé pourraient être encore plus équitables.

Égalité des chances: chiffres et données pour la Suisse

Informations complémentaires

Stratégie nationale Prévention des maladies non transmissibles

En Suisse, 2,2 millions de personnes souffrent d’une maladie non transmissible. Un mode de vie sain permettrait d’éviter bon nombre de ces maladies. C’est là qu’intervient la stratégie MNT, fondée sur le partenariat.

Stratégie Addictions

La politique des addictions est un secteur en constante évolution, sans cesse confronté à de nouveaux défis comme le changement des schémas comportementaux et des tendances de consommation.

Égalité des chances en matière de santé

Notre système de santé repose sur le principe de l’ouverture et de la solidarité. Il doit être accessible à tout un chacun, indépendamment de sa langue, de son origine et de son niveau de formation.

Dernière modification 19.10.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Prévention des maladies non transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-chancengleichheit.html