Prevention of occupational accidents and illnesses

Employers are responsible for preventing occupational accidents and illnesses (occupational safety). But employees also have a part to play.  

The obligations of employers and employees

Employers must take all measures to prevent occupational accidents and illnesses which experience has shown to be necessary, which are applicable with the latest technology and which are appropriate to the existing conditions. Employees also have a part to play in preventing occupational accidents and illnesses. Employers cover the costs of any measures taken to ensure occupational safety.

Employees must comply with the employer’s instructions concerning occupational safety, as well as generally accepted safety regulations. In particular, they must use personal protective equipment (PPE) and must not compromise the effectiveness of safety equipment.

Binding requirements to protect employees

In the area of occupational safety, it is not sufficient merely to provide advice and information and to make recommendations. In some cases, there is a need for specific, binding requirements to protect employees (e.g. compulsory wearing of helmets, fall protection systems, safety barriers and light curtains for presses, saw blade guards). Occupational safety requirements can thus also be implemented by means of official directives.

Executive bodies

International and Swiss legislation provides for independent executive bodies which are responsible for overseeing compliance with occupational safety requirements. The following bodies are responsible for monitoring and enforcement of occupational safety:

  • Swiss Accident Insurance Fund (Suva)
  • Cantonal labour inspectorates
  • Federal Labour Inspectorate

Costs of monitoring

The costs of monitoring are financed through supplements on occupational accident insurance premiums. These supplements serve to cover the costs arising from the occupational safety activities of the executive bodies (Suva, cantonal labour inspectorates, Federal Labour Inspectorate). They are regulated by the Federal Council Ordinance on the Setting of Premium Supplements for Accident Prevention (SR 832.208).

Last modification 16.06.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/unfallverhuetung/verhuetung-berufsunfaelle-berufskrankheiten.html

Prévention des accidents et maladies professionnels

La prévention des accidents et maladies professionnels (sécurité au travail) relève de la responsabilité de l’employeur. Les employés contribuent à la prévention des accidents et maladies professionnels.

Devoirs de l’employeur, devoirs de l’employé

Dans le cadre de la prévention des accidents et des maladies professionnels, il incombe à l’employeur de prendre toutes les mesures qui sont nécessaires compte tenu des expériences acquises, applicables en l'état actuel de la technique et adaptées aux conditions données. Les employés contribuent à la prévention des accidents et maladies professionnels. L’employeur prend en charge les coûts des mesures qui lui incombent pour assurer la sécurité au travail.

L’employé est tenu de se conformer aux instructions de l’employeur en ce qui concerne la sécurité au travail ainsi qu’aux règles de sécurité généralement reconnues. Il est notamment tenu de porter l’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) et ne doit pas compromettre l’efficacité des dispositifs de protection.

Impératifs en matière de protection des employés

La sécurité au travail se distingue par le fait qu'elle n'est pas seulement mise en œuvre à travers les conseils, l’information et les recommandations, mais implique parfois des obligations concrètes qui visent la protection des employés (p. ex. port obligatoire de casques de protection, protection antichute, grille de protection et barrières lumineuses autour de lourdes presses, gaines pour lames de scie, etc.). Les autorités peuvent donc également faire appliquer la sécurité au travail en édictant des prescriptions en la matière.

Organes d’exécution étatiques

Selon les principes du droit international et du droit suisse, des organes d’exécution étatiques et indépendants sont chargés de vérifier si les prescriptions relatives à la sécurité au travail sont appliquées par l’employeur. La surveillance et l’exécution de la sécurité au travail relèvent de la compétence des organes suivants :

  • Caisse nationale suisse d’assurance en cas d’accidents (CNA)
  • Inspections cantonales du travail (ICT)
  • Inspection fédérale du travail (IFT)

Coûts de surveillance

La surveillance est financée par les suppléments de primes de l’assurance-accidents professionnels. Ce supplément sert à couvrir les frais incombant aux organes d’exécution (CNA, ICT et IFT) pour leur activité en matière de sécurité au travail. Il est prévu dans l'ordonnance du Conseil fédéral fixant les suppléments de primes pour la prévention des accidents (RS 832.208).

Dernière modification 05.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Section Assurance-accidents, prévention des accidents et assurance militaire
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/unfallverhuetung/verhuetung-berufsunfaelle-berufskrankheiten.html