Monetary benefits of accident insurance

The monetary benefits paid in the event of an accident are: daily allowance, disability pension, integrity and helplessness allowance, and surviving dependants’ pension. The monetary benefits paid under accident insurance are calculated on the basis of the insured income. 

Insured income

The monetary benefits paid under accident insurance are calculated on the basis of the insured income. This is the salary on which AHV pension contributions are based, with certain additional components. The maximum insured income (see Art. 22 para. 1 of the Accident Insurance Ordinance/UVV, SR 832.202) is set in such a way as to ensure that, in general, the full income is insured for 92–96% of all people subject to compulsory insurance.

Daily allowances are based on the last salary received before the accident. Pensions are based on the salary received for the year preceding the accident. Integrity and helplessness allowances are calculated on the basis of the maximum insured income.

Daily allowance

Persons who are wholly or partly unfit for work as a result of an accident can claim a daily allowance. This is paid for each calendar day from the third day after the day of the accident. It amounts to 80% of the insured income for complete incapacity, and correspondingly less for partial incapacity. The entitlement to a daily allowance ends when the person regains full capacity for work, is granted a disability pension, or dies. Daily allowances for persons who have an accident while unemployed are equivalent to unemployment benefits.

Disability pension

If persons become disabled as the result of an accident – i.e. if their ability to work is likely to be impaired permanently or for a prolonged period – they can claim a disability pension. The entitlement begins when continued medical treatment is not expected to result in any significant improvement in their health and any IV rehabilitation measures have been completed. The degree of disability is calculated by comparing the insured person’s potential earnings with and without the impairment.

The disability pension amounts to 80% of insured income for complete incapacity and correspondingly less for partial incapacity. For insured persons entitled to an AHV or IV pension, accident insurance pays a supplementary pension corresponding to the difference between 90% of the insured income and the AHV/IV pension. However, the total amount paid will not exceed the accident-related disability pension envisaged for complete or partial incapacity.

Entitlement to a pension ceases when the person regains full capacity for work, or upon receipt of a lump-sum benefit, a pension buyout, or the person’s death.

Integrity allowance

Persons who suffer a substantial, permanent loss of physical or mental integrity as a result of an accident (e.g. loss of a kidney or leg, tetraplegia or blindness) are entitled to an appropriate integrity allowance. This takes the form of a lump sum settlement, based on the severity of the impairment. Impairments below 5% are not deemed to be material. The percentage impairment is multiplied by the maximum insured income to determine the integrity allowance payable.

Helplessness allowance

Persons who, as a result of disability, permanently require assistance with day-to-day tasks, or personal supervision, can claim a helplessness allowance. This is calculated according to the degree of helplessness (mild, moderate or severe).

Surviving dependants’ pension

If an insured person dies as a result of an accident, the surviving spouse (under certain conditions) and children can claim surviving dependants’ pensions. An ex-spouse eligible for maintenance payments from the accident victim will be treated as equivalent to a widow or widower.

Surviving dependants’ pensions are calculated as a percentage of the insured income, amounting to 40% for widows and widowers, 15% for children having lost one parent, and 25% for orphans – up to a maximum of 70% for all surviving dependants. For an ex-spouse, the pension amounts to 20% of the insured income, but it must not exceed the maintenance payable.

For surviving dependants entitled to an AHV or IV pension, accident insurance pays a supplementary pension (cf. “Disability pension” above).

In certain cases, the widow or ex-wife will be paid a lump sum instead of a pension.

In general, a surviving spouse’s entitlement ceases upon remarriage, death or a pension buyout. Children’s entitlement normally ceases when they reach the age of 18 or complete their education, but at the latest when they reach the age of 25.

Last modification 15.05.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/leistungen/geldleistungen.html

Prestations en espèces de l'assurance-accidents

Les prestations en espèces en cas d’accident sont : l’indemnité journalière, la rente d’invalidité, l’indemnité pour atteinte à l’intégrité, l’allocation pour impotent et la rente de survivant. Les prestations en espèces sont calculées d'après le gain assuré.

Gain assuré

Les prestations en espèces sont calculées d'après le gain assuré. Est réputé gain assuré le salaire déterminant au sens de la législation sur l'AVS compte tenu de certaines dérogations. Le montant maximum du gain assuré (voir art. 22, al. 1, OLAA ; RS 832.202) est fixé de manière à ce que, en règle générale, 92 à 96% des personnes assurées à titre obligatoire soient couvertes pour leur gain intégral.

Les indemnités journalières sont calculées sur la base du salaire que la personne assurée a reçu en dernier lieu avant l’accident ; les rentes, d'après le salaire touché durant l'année qui a précédé l'accident. L'indemnité pour atteinte à l'intégrité et l'allocation pour impotent sont calculées d'après le montant maximum du gain assuré.

Indemnité journalière

La personne assurée totalement ou partiellement incapable de travailler à la suite d'un accident a droit à une indemnité journalière. Celle-ci est versée pour tous les jours à partir du 3e jour qui suit celui de l'accident. Elle correspond, en cas d'incapacité totale de travail, à 80% du gain assuré et elle est réduite en conséquence si l'incapacité de travail n'est que partielle. Le droit à l'indemnité journalière s'éteint dès que la personne assurée a recouvré sa pleine capacité de travail, dès qu'une rente est versée ou que la personne assurée décède. L'indemnité journalière allouée à une personne accidentée au chômage équivaut à l'indemnité de chômage.

Rente d’invalidité

Si une personne assurée devient invalide à la suite d'un accident - c'est-à-dire si sa capacité de gain subit vraisemblablement une atteinte permanente ou de longue durée -, elle a droit à une rente d'invalidité. Le droit à la rente prend naissance dès qu'il n'y a plus lieu d'attendre de la continuation du traitement médical une sensible amélioration de son état et que les éventuelles mesures de réadaptation de l'assurance-invalidité ont été menées à terme. Est déterminante pour l'évaluation de l'invalidité la comparaison entre la possibilité de gain de la personne assurée existant sans la diminution de la capacité de gain et celle qui subsiste du fait d'une telle diminution.

La rente d'invalidité s'élève à 80% du gain assuré en cas d'invalidité totale ; si l'invalidité n'est que partielle, la rente est diminuée en conséquence. Si la personne assurée a droit à une rente de l'assurance-vieillesse et survivants ou de l'assurance-invalidité suisses (AVS/AI), une rente complémentaire lui est allouée ; celle-ci correspond à la différence entre 90% du gain assuré et la rente de l'AVS/AI, mais au plus au montant prévu par l'assurance-accidents pour l'invalidité totale ou partielle.

Le droit à la rente s'éteint avec le rétablissement de la pleine capacité de gain, lorsque la rente est remplacée en totalité par une indemnité en capital, lorsqu'elle est rachetée ou lorsque la personne assurée décède.

Indemnité pour atteinte à l’intégrité

Si, par suite d'un accident, une personne assurée souffre d'une atteinte importante et durable à son intégrité physique ou mentale (perte d'un rein ou d'une jambe, tétraplégie, cécité totale par exemple), elle a droit à une indemnité équitable pour atteinte à l'intégrité. Cette indemnité - allouée sous forme de prestation en capital - est échelonnée suivant la gravité de l'atteinte. A cet égard, le degré d’atteinte à l’intégrité doit être d’au moins 5 %. Le pourcentage déterminant de l’atteinte est multiplié par le montant maximum du gain assuré. Le résultat correspond à l’indemnité pour atteinte à l’intégrité qui est due.

Allocation pour impotent

Si en raison de son invalidité, la personne assurée a besoin de façon permanente de l'aide d'autrui ou d'une assistance personnelle pour accomplir les actes ordinaires de la vie, elle a droit à une allocation pour impotent (impotence faible, moyenne ou grave). Celle-ci est fixée suivant le degré d'impotence.

Rentes de survivants

Lorsqu'une personne assurée décède des suites d'un accident, le conjoint survivant (à certaines conditions) et les enfants ont droit à des rentes de survivants. Le conjoint divorcé est assimilé à la veuve ou au veuf lorsque la personne assurée victime de l'accident était tenue de lui verser une contribution alimentaire.

Les rentes de survivants se montent (en pour-cent du gain assuré) à 40% pour les veuves et les veufs, à 15% pour les orphelins de père ou de mère, à 25% pour les orphelins de père et de mère, mais à 70% au plus et en tout s'il y a plusieurs survivants. La rente de survivant versée au conjoint divorcé s'élève à 20% du gain assuré, mais au plus à la contribution d'entretien qui est due.

Si les survivants ont droit à des rentes de l'AI ou de l'AVS, l'assurance-accidents leur alloue une rente complémentaire (voir la rente d'invalidité).

Dans certains cas, une indemnité en capital est allouée en lieu et place de la rente, à la veuve ou à l'épouse divorcée.

Le droit à la rente du conjoint survivant s'éteint avec le remariage ou le décès de l'ayant droit ou par le rachat de la rente. Celui des enfants s'éteint en principe à l'accomplissement de la 18e année ; si l'enfant poursuit encore à ce moment-là un apprentissage ou des études, le droit à la rente s'étend jusqu'à la fin de l'apprentissage ou des études (mais au plus tard jusqu'à 25 ans).

Dernière modification 05.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Section Assurance-accidents, prévention des accidents et assurance militaire
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/leistungen/geldleistungen.html