Accident insurance: Sectoral agreements with the EU

On 1 June 2002, the Agreement with the EU on the Free Movement of Persons entered into force. In its Annex II, the agreement contains provisions on the coordination of social security systems between Switzerland and the EU Member States.

The goal of the coordination provisions is to ensure that someone moving to another country to live or work will not be disadvantaged because of it. They are based on the coordination provisions applicable within the EU, namely Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004 (similar to a social security convention) and Regulation (EC) No. 987/2009 (Implementation Provisions).

Based on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons between Switzerland and the EU, as from 1 April 2012 the provisions of Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004 and its implementation regulation, Regulation (EC) No. 987/2009, are applicable in the relationship to EU Member States. These regulations control the coordination of social security systems within Europe.

As from 1 January 2016, the 3rd update of the social security regulations in the EFTA Agreement (Appendix 2 of Annex K) took place. Since then, Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004 and (EC) No. 987/2009 have been applicable in the relationships between Switzerland and the EFTA Member States (Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland) as well.

Regulations (EEC) No. 1408/71 and No. 574/72 are applicable only in certain cases anymore (cf. Transitional Provisions of Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004 and No. 987/2009).

The links to the acts and the documents can be found on this page under ‘Legislation â€™:

  • Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons
  • Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004
  • Regulation (EC) No. 987/2009
  • EFTA Agreement
  • Regulation (EEC) No. 1408/71
  • Regulation (EEC) No. 574/72

Last modification 05.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/internationales/sektorielle-abkommen-eu.html

Assurance-accidents : Accords sectoriels avec l’UE

L’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes avec l’UE est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2002. Cet accord comprend, dans l’annexe II, des dispositions sur la coordination des systèmes de sécurité sociale entre la Suisse et les États membres de l’UE.

Le but des dispositions de coordination est d’assurer que personne ne soit désavantagé en cas de changement de pays (nouveau domicile ou travail). Les dispositions de coordination valables au sein de l’UE, à savoir le règlement (CE) n° 883/2004 (identique à une convention de sécurité sociale) et le règlement (CE) n° 987/2009 (fixant les modalités d’application), en constituent la base.

Dans le cadre de l’accord sur la libre circulation passé entre l’UE et la Suisse, les dispositions du règlement (CE) n° 883/2004 et du règlement (CE) n° 987/2009 fixant les modalités d’application sont valables, depuis le 1er avril 2012, dans les relations avec les États membres de l’UE. Ces règlements précisent la coordination des systèmes de sécurité sociale en Europe.

Les réglementations sur les assurances sociales figurant dans la Convention AELE (appendice 2 de l’annexe K) ont été actualisées pour la 3e fois le 1er janvier 2016. Depuis, les règlements (CE) n° 883/2004 et (CE) n° 987/2009 s’appliquent aussi dans les relations entre la Suisse et les États de l’AELE (Liechtenstein, Norvège, Islande).

Les règlements (CEE) n° 1408/71 et n° 574/72 ne s’appliquent plus que dans certains cas (voir dispositions transitoires des règlements n° 883/2004 et n° 987/2009).

Vous trouverez les liens et les documents dans la rubrique «Législation»:

  • Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes
  • Règlement (CE) n° 883/2004
  • Règlement (CE) n° 987/2009
  • Convention AELE 
  • Règlement (CEE) n° 1408/71
  • Règlement (CEE) n° 574/72

Dernière modification 05.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Section Assurance-accidents, prévention des accidents et assurance militaire
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/internationales/sektorielle-abkommen-eu.html