Military insurance: Monetary benefits

The list of monetary benefits offered by military insurance is the most extensive of all types of social insurance and the compensation paid is more generous.

Daily allowance

If the person covered by military insurance is fully or partially incapacitated for work following an insured accident or illness, they are entitled to a daily allowance. It is payable from the day after the incapacity to work and is equal to 80% of the income of which the insured person is presumed to have been deprived. The income taken into account may not exceed CHF 152,276 for 2017 and 2018.

The entitlement to a daily allowance ends when the person recovers full capacity for work or is granted an invalidity pension, or when the insured person dies.

During the professional rehabilitation period, the insured person receives a daily allowance or a redeployment income.

Invalidity and old-age pension

If the person covered by military insurance becomes incapacitated for work following an accident or disease, or if their full or partial incapacity for work is presumed permanent or long term, they are entitled to an invalidity pension.
This entitlement starts as soon as it becomes clear that continuing treatment is not likely to bring about a marked improvement in the state of the insured person’s health, or when any rehabilitation measures have failed.

The entitlement to a pension ends when the insured person recovers full capacity for work, when they die or when they reach the age at which they are eligible to receive an OASI pension.

When the insured person reaches the age at which they are eligible to receive an OASI pension, the invalidity pension is replaced by an old-age pension from the military insurance, which amounts to half of the invalidity pension they previously received. It is payable until the insured person’s death and cannot be adjusted.

Survivors‘ pensions

If an insured person dies from an insured accident or illness, their beneficiaries (spouse, divorced spouse, children, mother and father) are entitled to receive a survivors’ pension.
Survivors’ pensions are calculated according to the annual income of the deceased insured person and cannot exceed the maximum insured annual income. The surviving spouse is entitled to 40% of the annual income of the deceased insured person, the divorced spouse to 20% provided the deceased insured person still had to pay him/her maintenance contributions, orphans to 15% and the mother and father to 20% each provided there are no other survivors who need it. The accumulated survivors’ pensions cannot exceed 100% of the annual income of the deceased insured person.

Integrity allowance

If an insured person suffers a significant and lasting loss of physical or mental integrity following an insured accident or illness, they are entitled to an integrity allowance which is usually capitalised. The amount paid depends on the degree of the damage to integrity.

Moral damages

In the event of death following an accident while on duty, or in the event of a sudden fatal disease while on duty, the insured person’s family members are entitled to compensation for moral damages. The amount is calculated in the same way as in tort law.

Funeral allowance

If the damage to health covered by the military insurance leads to the death of the insured person, a funeral allowance is paid that amounts to one tenth of the maximum annual insured income.

Compensation for professional training costs

If the mother and father or spouse of the insured person covered significant professional training costs for the insured person who died following an insured accident or disease, they are entitled to fair compensation.

Last modification 05.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/militaerversicherung/militaerversicherung-leistungen/geldleistungen.html

Assurance militaire : Prestations pécuniaires

La liste des prestations pécuniaires de l'assurance militaire est la plus étendue des assurances sociales et les indemnisations offertes sont plus généreuses.  

Indemnité journalière

L'assuré militaire qui à la suite d'un accident ou d'une maladie assurés se trouve incapable, partiellement ou en totalité, de travailler a droit à une indemnité journalière. Elle est due dès le lendemain de l'incapacité de travail et est égale à 80% du gain dont l'assuré est présumé avoir été privé. Le gain pris en considération ne peut dépasser Fr. 152'276.- pour 2017 et 2018.

Le droit à l'indemnité journalière prend fin lorsque la personne retrouve sa pleine capacité de travail ou par l'octroi d'une rente d'invalidité ou par la mort de l'assuré.

Pendant la réadaptation professionnelle, l'assuré militaire touche une indemnité journalière, voire une rente de reclassement.

Rente d'invalidité et rente de vieillesse

Si l'assuré militaire à la suite d'un accident ou d'une maladie est devenu invalide, soit lorsque son incapacité de gain, totale ou partielle, est présumée permanente ou de longue période, il a droit à une rente d'invalidité.
Ce droit commence dès que la poursuite du traitement ne permet plus d'escompter une sensible amélioration de l'état de santé et que les éventuelles mesures de réadaptation ont échouées.

Le droit à la rente prend fin lorsque l'assuré retrouve sa pleine capacité de gain, lorsqu'il est décédé ou qu'il atteint l'âge de bénéficier de l'AVS.

Lorsque l'assuré atteint l'âge de bénéficier de l'AVS, la rente d'invalidité es remplacée par une rente de vieillesse de l'assurance militaire qui est égale à la moitié de la rente d'invalidité qu'il touchait précédemment. Elle est due jusqu'à la mort de l'assuré et n'est pas révisable.

Rentes de survivants

Les ayants droit (conjoint, conjoint divorcé, enfants, père et mère) de l'assuré militaire qui décèdent des suites d'une atteinte à la santé assurée ont droit à une rente de survivants.
Les rentes de survivants se calculent en fonction du gain annuel de l'assuré décédé qui ne peut dépasser le gain annuel maximum assuré. Le conjoint survivant a droit à 40% du gain annuel de l'assuré décédé, le conjoint divorcé au maximum à 20% et pour autant que l'assuré décédé devait encore lui verser une contribution d'entretien, les orphelins à 15%, les père et mère à 20% chacun, dans la mesure où il n'y pas d'autres survivants et qu'ils en ont besoin. Le cumul des rentes de survivants ne peut dépasser 100% du gain annuel de l'assuré défunt.

Rente pour atteinte à l'intégrité

En cas de mort d'homme à la suite d'un accident en service ou en cas de maladie brutale et fatale en service, les proches de l'assuré ont droit à une réparation morale. Son montant se calcule comme en droit de la responsabilité civile.

Réparation morale

En cas de mort d'homme à la suite d'un accident en service ou en cas de maladie brutale et fatale en service, les proches de l'assuré ont droit à une réparation morale. Son montant se calcule comme en droit de la responsabilité civile.

Indemnité funéraire

Lorsque l'atteinte à la santé couverte par l'assurance militaire a entraîné le décès de l'assuré, une indemnité funéraire d'un montant d'un dixième du gain annuel maximum assuré est versée.

Indemnisation des frais de formation professionnelle

Les père et mère ou le conjoint de l'assuré qui ont assumé des frais importants pour la formation professionnelle de l'assuré militaire décédé à la suite d'un accident ou d'une maladie assurés ont droit à une indemnité équitable.

Dernière modification 05.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Section Assurance-accidents, prévention des accidents et assurance militaire
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/militaerversicherung/militaerversicherung-leistungen/geldleistungen.html