Health insurance: Workers in the EU or EFTA

Since the entry into force of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP), health insurance obligations have been based on the principle of place of work.

Remunerated activity in a single EU/EFTA country

Despite being resident in Switzerland, Swiss nationals or nationals of an EU/EFTA country who exercise a remunerated activity in the territory of a single EU/EFTA member state are obliged to contribute to that country’s health insurance scheme.

The Common Institution under the Health Insurance Act (KVG) is responsible for the registration of persons resident in Switzerland who contribute to a health insurance scheme in an EU/EFTA member state. Registration requires proof of entitlement issued by the health insurer abroad. Any queries on this topic should be addressed directly to the Common Institution under the Health Insurance Act (KVG) in Solothurn (see the link below).

Simultaneous employed activities in the EU/EFTA or Switzerland

A Swiss national or national of an EU member state who simultaneously pursues employed activities either in the territory of more than one EU/EFTA member state, or in Switzerland and in the territory of one or more EU/EFTA member states is subject to the legislation of a single country. The legislation of the country of residence is applicable if a substantial part of the person’s activities (in general, more than 25%) are performed there. Depending on the circumstances, a person without substantial activities in his or her country of residence may be subject either to the legislation of the country where the employer is based, or to that of the country of residence. For further information, see the document Information of 9 March 2012 on the new European legislation on the coordination of social security systems (in French/German/Italian).

Employed and self-employed activities in the EU/EFTA or Switzerland

A person who pursues an employed activity in one country and a self-employed activity in another is subject to the legislation of the country in which the employed activity is pursued.

AHV compensation offices

In Switzerland, the AHV compensation offices are responsible for deciding on liability to social insurance and their decision on this matter is also applicable to health insurance. If you simultaneously pursue activities in Switzerland and in the EU/EFTA, please contact your AHV compensation office directly.

Further information

Insurance obligation

In principle, persons leaving Switzerland to live abroad are no longer subject to the compulsory health insurance requirement. Exceptions do however apply to people in certain categories.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/erwerbstaetige-eu-efta.html

Assurance-maladie : Travailleurs dans l’UE ou l’AELE

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP), l’obligation de s’assurer pour les soins repose sur le principe du lieu de travail.

Activité lucrative dans un seul pays UE/AELE

Bien que domiciliés en Suisse, les ressortissants suisses ou d'un pays de l'UE ou l’AELE qui exercent une activité lucrative sur le territoire d’un seul Etat membre de l’UE/AELE sont assujettis à l’assurance-maladie de cet Etat.

L’Institution commune LAMal procède à l’inscription des personnes domiciliées en Suisse et qui sont assujetties à l’assurance-maladie d’un Etat membre de l’UE/AELE. Une attestation de droit valable délivrée par l’assureur-maladie étrangère est nécessaire pour pouvoir procéder à l’inscription. Pour toute information à ce sujet, veuillez vous adresser directement à l’Institution commune LAMal à Soleure (voir le lien internet ci-dessous)

Activités salariées simultanées dans l’UE/AELE ou la Suisse

Un ressortissant suisse ou d’un Etat membre de l’UE qui travaille simultanément comme salarié soit sur le territoire de plusieurs Etats membres de l’UE/AELE, soit en Suisse et sur le territoire d’un ou de plusieurs Etats membres de l’UE/AELE est soumis à la législation d’un seul Etat. La législation de l’Etat de résidence est déterminante si l’intéressé y exerce une partie substantielle de son activité (en règle générale plus de 25%). Une personne sans activité substantielle dans son Etat de résidence peut, en fonction des circonstances, être assujettie soit à la législation de l’Etat où l’employeur a son siège, soit à celle de l’Etat de résidence (pour plus d’informations, voir le document «Informations du 9 mars 2012 relatives au nouveau droit européen de coordination des assurances sociales » ci-dessous).

Activités salariée et indépendante dans l’UE/AELE ou la Suisse

Une personne qui exerce une activité salariée dans un pays et une activité indépendante dans un autre pays, est soumise à la législation du pays dans lequel elle exerce son activité salariée.

Caisses de compensation AVS

En Suisse, les caisses de compensation AVS sont compétentes pour se prononcer sur l’assujettissement aux assurances sociales et leur décision en la matière s’applique aussi à l’assurance-maladie. Si vous êtes en situation d’activité simultanée en Suisse et dans l’UE/AELE, nous vous invitons à vous adresser directement à votre caisse de compensation AVS.

Informations complémentaires

Obligation de s'assurer

Les personnes qui déménagent à l'étranger ne sont en principe plus soumises à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire. Certaines catégories de personnes font toutefois exception à cette règle.

Dernière modification 24.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance de la gouvernance d’entreprise
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/erwerbstaetige-eu-efta.html