Health insurance: Recipients of an EU/EFTA pension

Under the Agreement on the free movement of persons, pensioners resident in Switzerland who draw a pension exclusively from an EU/EFTA country are required to obtain health insurance in that country. 

Since the Swiss-EU Agreement on the free movement of persons came into force, health insurance obligations have been based on the place-of-work principle. In the case of pensioners, this refers to the place where a remunerated activity was formerly pursued, now entitling the person concerned to receive a pension.

Pensioners resident in Switzerland who draw a pension exclusively from an EU/EFTA country are required to be insured in that country.

Pensioners resident in Switzerland who simultaneously draw a pension from an EU/EFTA country and a Swiss pension (AHV/IV/MV/UV/BV) are required to be insured in Switzerland, irrespective of the amount of the Swiss pension.

Common Institution under the KVG

In Switzerland, the institution responsible for international coordination of health insurance for persons resident in Switzerland and drawing a pension from an EU/EFTA country is the Common Institution under the Health Insurance Act (KVG) in Olten.

The Common Institution under the KVG determines whether or not persons drawing an EU/EFTA pension are required to be insured in Switzerland and registers those persons who are still required to obtain health insurance in the EU.

All the relevant information can be found on the website of the Common Institution under the KVG (see link below), to which any queries should be addressed directly.

Further information

Health insurance: Recipients of a Swiss pension living abroad

Recipients of a Swiss pension domiciled in an EU/EFTA state must take out Swiss health insurance. If they are domiciled outside the EU/EFTA they are no longer subject to compulsory Swiss health-insurance requirements.

Last modification 04.05.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/bezuegerinnen-eu-efta-rente.html

Assurance-maladie : Bénéficiaires d’une rente UE/AELE

Les rentiers domiciliés en Suisse qui sont exclusivement au bénéfice d’une rente provenant d’un État de l’UE/AELE sont dans l’obligation de s’assurer pour les soins dans cet État, en raison de l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes. 

Depuis que l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes entre la Suisse et les pays de l’UE est entré en vigueur, l’obligation de s’assurer pour les soins repose sur le principe du lieu de travail. Dans le cas de l’obtention d’une rente, ce principe se fonde sur l’exercice d’une ancienne activité lucrative qui permet à présent de pouvoir bénéficier d’une rente.

Les rentiers domiciliés en Suisse qui bénéficient uniquement d’une rente provenant d’un pays de l’UE/AELE sont obligatoirement assurés au sein de cet État.

Les rentiers domiciliés en Suisse qui bénéficient simultanément d’une rente d’un pays de l’UE/AELE et d’une rente suisse (AVS/AI/AM/AA/PP) doivent s’assurer obligatoirement en Suisse, quel que soit le montant de la rente suisse.

Institution commune LAMal

En Suisse, l’institution de coordination internationale en matière d’assurance-maladie pour les personnes domiciliées en Suisse et bénéficiant d’une rente d’un pays de l’UE/AELE est l’Institution commune LAMal à Olten.

L’Institution commune LAMal vérifie si la personne au bénéfice d’une rente de l’UE/AELE doit ou non s’assurer en Suisse et procède à son inscription si elle reste soumise à l’obligation de s’assurer pour les soins au sein de l’UE.

Vous trouverez toutes les informations utiles sur le site internet de l’Institution commune LAMal (voir lien ci-dessous).
Pour toute question, nous vous invitons à vous adresser directement à cette dernière.

Informations complémentaires

Bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse à l'étranger

Les bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse domiciliés dans un Etat de l’UE/AELE doivent s’assurer en Suisse. S'ils sont domiciliés hors de l‘UE/AELE, ils ne sont plus soumis à l’assurance-maladie obligatoire suisse.

Dernière modification 04.05.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance de la gouvernance d’entreprise
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/bezuegerinnen-eu-efta-rente.html