Health insurance: Premium subsidies

Under the Health Insurance Act (KVG), premiums for people on low incomes are to be reduced through federal and cantonal subsidies. 

Every person resident in Switzerland is required to have compulsory health insurance. The premiums set by health insurers are not dependent on income, although they do vary according to age category (child, young adult, adult), region of residence and the type of insurance chosen. As a social-policy measure compensating for standard premiums, the Health Insurance Act (KVG) provides for federal and cantonal subsidies to reduce premiums for people on low incomes. In addition, for families with low and middle incomes, the cantons are required to reduce premiums by at least 50% for children and young adults in education/training.

  • The cantons have wide-ranging powers to regulate premium subsidies for their insured population. Consequently, the conditions for obtaining a premium subsidy (limits on income and assets), as well as the amount and the mode of payment (automatic or on request, deadline for applications), vary according to the canton of residence.
  • When they consider premium subsidies – especially if requested to do so by policyholders – the cantons take into account the current income and family circumstances.
  • In addition, they have to ensure that premium subsidies are paid to the health insurer in such a way that policyholders do not first have to pay the full amount.

On 17 March 2017, the Health Insurance Act (KVG) was amended by Parliament (https://www.admin.ch/opc/de/federal-gazette/2017/2389.pdf) in response to the parliamentary initiatives 10.407 “Exemption from premiums for children” (https://www.parlament.ch/de/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20100407) and 13.477 “KVG. Modification of premium categories for children, adolescents and young adults” (https://www.parlament.ch/de/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20130477#/AffairSummary).
The cantons will now be required to reduce premiums for children in low- and middle-income families by at least 80%. Premiums for young adults in education/training will continue to be reduced by at least 50%. The cantons have been granted a two-year period to introduce the new system. On 11 April 2018, the Federal Council decided that this amendment to the KVG would come into force on 1 January 2019. Given the transitional period, the cantons are thus required to reduce premiums by at least 80% for children in low- and middle-income families by 1 January 2021 at the latest.

Last modification 07.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Operational Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/praemienverbilligung.html

Assurance-maladie : Réduction des primes

La loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal) prévoit que les cantons accordent des réductions de primes aux assurés de condition économique modeste, avec le soutien de la Confédération. 

Toute personne domiciliée en Suisse doit obligatoirement être assurée pour les soins en cas de maladie. Les assureurs-maladie fixent les primes de manière uniforme, par tête et indépendamment du revenu, en fonction de la catégorie d’âge (enfants, jeunes adultes et adultes), de la région, du modèle d’assurance choisi et de la franchise choisie. À titre de correctif social, la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal) prévoit que les cantons accordent des réductions de primes aux assurés de condition économique modeste, avec le soutien de la Confédération. En outre, pour les familles à bas et moyens revenus, les cantons sont tenus de réduire de 50 % au moins les primes des enfants et des jeunes adultes en formation.

  • Les cantons disposent d’une grande marge de manœuvre dans la réglementation de la réduction des primes. Les conditions à remplir pour y avoir droit (selon ses revenus et sa fortune), le montant et les modalités de versement (versement automatique, sur demande, délais) diffèrent donc d’un canton à l’autre.
  • Lors de l’examen des conditions d’octroi, les cantons tiennent compte des circonstances économiques et familiales les plus récentes, notamment à la demande de l’assuré.
  • Ils veillent également à ce que les montants versés au titre de la réduction des primes le soient de manière à ce que les ayants droit n’aient pas à s’acquitter à l’avance de leurs primes.

Le 17 mars 2017, le Parlement a modifié la LAMal  (https://www.admin.ch/opc/fr/federal-gazette/2017/2213.pdf) en raison des initiatives parlementaires 10.407 « Exonérer les enfants du paiement des primes d’assurance-maladie » (https://www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20100407) et 13.477 « LAMal. Révision des catégories de primes enfants, jeunes et jeunes adultes » (https://www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20130477#/AffairSummary).
Les cantons sont désormais contraints de réduire les primes des enfants d’au moins 80 % pour les bas et moyens revenus. Quant aux primes des jeunes adultes en formation, ils doivent continuer à les réduire d’au moins 50 %. Les cantons ont un délai de deux ans pour mettre en place le nouveau système. Le 11 avril 2018, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de mettre en vigueur cette modification de la LAMal au 1er janvier 2019. En raison du délai de transition, les cantons doivent réduire les primes des enfants d’au moins 80 % pour les familles à bas et moyens revenus, d’ici au 1er janvier 2021 au plus tard.

Dernière modification 07.04.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance opérationnelle
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/praemienverbilligung.html