Health insurance: Correction of health insurance premiums (2015–17)

Between 1996 and 2013, premiums were set at too high a level in some cantons and too low in others. The resulting imbalance was partly remedied between 2015 and 2017 by means of payments totalling CHF 800 million. 

Between 1 January 1996 and 31 December 2013, premiums were set at too high a level in some cantons and too low in others. On 21 March 2014, an amendment to the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG) designed to partly remedy this imbalance was approved by the Swiss Parliament. This involved a correction of premiums amounting to CHF 800 million over a three year period (2015–17).

The funding for the correction came from three sources:

  • CHF 266 million from policyholders resident in the cantons where premium levels were too low between 1996 and 2013
  • CHF 266 million from the federal government
  • CHF 266 million from health insurers

Correction of premiums in 2017

In 2017, no further premium surcharge was levied on policyholders. In June 2017, a rebate (announced in February) was paid to policyholders who had been resident in the cantons of Zurich, Zug, Fribourg, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Graubünden, Thurgau, Ticino, Vaud and Geneva on 1 January 2017.

More details of the correction can be downloaded under Documents below. The premium surcharges and reductions and the amount of the rebate for each year are specified in separate Ordinances (see below under Legislation).

Press releases

Java script is required to display press releases. If you are unable or unwilling to activate Java script you may use the link below to access the Federal Administration News Portal, where you can read the announcements.

To the Federal Administration News Portal

Last modification 21.09.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Insurance Supervision Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/praemien-kostenbeteiligung/praemienkorrektur-2015-2017.html

Assurance-maladie : Correction des primes-maladie (de 2015 à 2017)

Entre 1996 et 2013, les primes-maladie perçues dans certains cantons étaient trop élevées ou trop basses. Ces déséquilibres seront partiellement compensés par le versement de 800 millions, payés en trois tranches de 2015 à 2017.

Entre le 1er janvier 1996 et le 31 décembre 2013, les primes-maladie perçues dans certains cantons étaient trop élevées ou trop basses par rapport aux prestations fournies. Le 21 mars 2014, le Parlement a révisé la loi sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal) pour remédier en partie à ces déséquilibres. Il a ainsi prévu le versement de 800 millions de francs répartis sur trois ans (de 2015 à 2017).

La correction des primes est financée par trois sources payant chacune 266 millions de francs, à savoir :

  • les assurés domiciliés dans les cantons où les primes perçues étaient trop basses entre 1996 et 2013 ;
  • la Confédération ;
  • les assureurs-maladie.

Correction des primes-maladie (2017)

En 2017, plus aucun assuré ne devra payer de supplément de prime. Les assurés résidant, au 1er janvier 2017, dans les cantons de ZH, ZG, FR, AI, GR, TG, TI, VD et GE se verront rembourser une somme dont le montant l'OFSP a publié le 16 février 2017.

Les montants des suppléments de prime, des diminutions de prime et des remboursements de prime sont fixés dans différentes ordonnances (rubrique «Législation»).

Communiqués

Javascript est requis pour afficher les communiqués de presse. Si vous ne pouvez ou ne souhaitez pas activer Javascript, veuillez utiliser le lien ci-dessous pour accéder au portail d’information de l’administration fédérale.

Vers le portail d’information de l’administration fédérale

Dernière modification 17.09.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/praemien-kostenbeteiligung/praemienkorrektur-2015-2017.html