Health insurance: Tourists in Switzerland

Tourists from an EU/EFTA member state are entitled to receive medical treatment during temporary visits to Switzerland (for holidays or business trips). Nationals of other countries must have sufficient insurance to cover the cost of any possible healthcare needs.

Tourists from the EU/EFTA

A blue identity card

Persons with statutory health insurance cover from an EU/EFTA member state are entitled to treatment in the event of illness, non-professional accidents and maternity during temporary visits to Switzerland (for holidays or business trips). On presentation of their European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) they are entitled to the medical care appropriate to their condition and the projected duration of their stay in Switzerland. This means that patients must not be required to shorten their visit to Switzerland in order to return home for treatment. Persons who do not have their EHIC with them may request that their health insurer send them a temporary certificate.
For more information, see links below to the Common Institution under the KVG.

Tourists from other countries

Tourists from other countries must ensure they have sufficient health-insurance cover. Additional travel insurance covering medical treatment in Switzerland is recommended.

Persons needing a Schengen visa to visit Switzerland are required to take out medical insurance cover of at least CHF 30,000. Further information on this can be found on the State Secretariat for Migration website, “Short-term stay: entry requirements for Switzerland”.

Entering with the intention of settling in Switzerland

Persons entering Switzerland with the intention of taking up residence (e.g. due to marriage) are subject to compulsory health insurance from the date of their arrival, not their registration with the Residents' Registration Office or the issue of their residence permit (see Federal Supreme Court ruling of 12 January 1999 ATF125 V 76). They must obtain insurance from an approved Swiss health insurer within 3 months after arriving in Switzerland - in which case it will apply retroactively from the date of their arrival. If they fail to do so, they may be automatically enrolled with a health insurance fund – with a premium surcharge for belated admission in the absence of an excuse for the delay – and are required to pay the costs of any medical treatment received prior to the date of admission themselves.

Medical tourism

Persons staying in Switzerland for the sole purpose of receiving medical treatment or to undergo a cure are not permitted to take out cover with a Swiss health insurer.

Further information

Cost participation

Policyholders must participate in the costs of the treatment they receive in Switzerland.

Tourists abroad and globetrotters

Persons travelling abroad remain subject to insurance obligations in Switzerland.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/touristinnen-ch.html

Assurance-maladie : Touristes en Suisse

Les touristes d’un Etat de l’UE/AELE ont le droit de se faire soigner durant un séjour temporaire en Suisse (vacances, voyage d'affaires). Les ressortissants d'autres pays doivent être suffisamment assurés pour les soins en Suisse.

Touristes de l’UE/AELE

Une carte bleu

Les personnes affiliées au système d’assurance-maladie légal au sein d’un Etat de l’UE/AELE peuvent se faire soigner en cas de maladie, d’accident non professionnel ou de maternité pendant un séjour temporaire en Suisse (vacances, voyage d'affaires). Sur présentation de leur carte européenne d’assurance-maladie (CEAM), elles ont droit aux soins nécessaires sur le plan médical compte tenu de la nature du traitement et de la durée prévue de leur séjour. Cela signifie que le patient ne doit pas être contraint d'abréger son voyage en Suisse pour rentrer se faire soigner dans son pays de domicile. Les personnes qui n'ont pas emporté leur CEAM peuvent demander à leur assurance-maladie de leur envoyer un certificat provisoire de remplacement de durée limitée.
Pour plus d'informations, voir les liens ci-dessous de l'Institution commune LAMal.

Touristes provenant d’autres pays

Les touristes d'autres pays (hors UE/AELE) doivent veiller à être suffisamment assurés. Il est recommandé de conclure une assurance voyage complémentaire qui couvre les coûts des prestations médicales nécessaires en Suisse.

Les personnes qui ont besoin d'un visa de l'espace Schengen pour entrer en Suisse doivent souscrire une assurance-maladie privée d'une couverture minimale de CHF 30'000.- Pour plus d'informations, voir le site du Secrétariat d'Etat aux migrations "Séjour de courte durée : conditions d’entrée en Suisse".

Entrée en Suisse dans le but de s'y établir

Lorsqu'une personne entre en Suisse avec l'intention d'y transférer son domicile (p. ex. mariage), l'obligation de s'assurer débute à la date d'entrée en Suisse, et non pas au moment de l'annonce au contrôle des habitants ou de l'établissement du permis de séjour (jurisprudence du Tribunal fédéral du 12.01.1999 ATF125 V 76). La personne doit s'assurer auprès d'une caisse-maladie agréée en Suisse dans les 3 mois qui suivent son entrée en Suisse. Si ce délai est respecté, la couverture d'assurance vaut rétroactivement à la date d'entrée en Suisse. Passé ce délai, la personne risque non seulement d'être affiliée d'office à une caisse-maladie avec un supplément de prime pour affiliation tardive si le retard n’est pas excusable, mais aussi de devoir payer elle-même ses traitements médicaux jusqu'à la date d'affiliation.

Tourisme médical

Les personnes qui séjournent en Suisse dans le seul but de suivre un traitement médical ou une cure n'ont pas le droit de s'assurer auprès d'une caisse-maladie suisse.

Informations complémentaires

Participation aux coûts

Les assurés doivent participer aux coûts de leurs traitements médicaux en Suisse

Touristes à l’étranger et globe-trotters

Les personnes qui voyagent à l’étranger restent soumises à l’obligation de s’assurer en Suisse.

Dernière modification 27.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/touristinnen-ch.html