Health insurance: Workers on short-term assignments in Switzerland

In principle, anyone domiciled abroad who works in Switzerland for a short period of time must take out Swiss health insurance. Some exceptions may apply depending on the employee’s country of domicile and nationality or the type of Swiss work permit he or she holds.

EU/EFTA workers – insurance policy at place of work

Following the harmonisation of social-security systems introduced in 2002 by the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) and the EAA Agreement, the obligation to take out health insurance is based on the place of employment. Anyone working in Switzerland is required to take out compulsory Swiss health insurance, as are all members of their family not in gainful employment.
This rule applies to all workers from an EU or EFTA state who:

  • hold a short-term work permit (permit L)
  • are engaged in gainful employment in Switzerland for a maximum of three months but do not require a residence permit during this period (their stay being authorised by the notification procedure), unless they have an equivalent policy covering healthcare in Switzerland.

Exceptions can apply for workers domiciled in Germany, Austria, France and Italy who regularly return to their country of domicile (at least once a week). See note on option right in “Cross-border commuters in Switzerland”.

Beginning and end of cover

EU/EFTA nationals not requiring a residence permit (because they are working for less than 3 months) are required to take out Swiss health insurance from the date their employment contract commences. If they fail do so, they may automatically be enrolled with a health insurance fund, with a policy commencing on the date their employment began.
Insurance cover generally ends on the day the worker’s employment ends, and in any event no later than the date of his or her departure from Switzerland or death.

EU/EFTA nationals holding an L permit lasting more than 3 months are required to take out Swiss health insurance from the day they report to the Residents’ Registration Office. They must do so within a time limit of 3 months. If they fail to do so, they may be automatically enrolled with a health insurance fund – with a premium surcharge for belated admission in the absence of an excuse for the delay – and are required to pay the costs of any medical treatment received prior to the date of admission themselves.
Insurance cover generally ends on the worker’s departure date reported to the Residents’ Registration Office, and in any event no later than his or her effective date of departure from Switzerland or death.  

Workers from other countries (outside the EU/EFTA)

Third-country nationals (from outside the EU/EFTA) with a short-term work permit or a residence permit valid for at least three months are required to take out compulsory Swiss health insurance.

This requirement also applies to foreign workers whose residence permit lasts less than three months (such as seasonal workers) unless they are covered by an equivalent policy which will pay for treatment in Switzerland.

Beginning and end of cover

Holders of an L permit lasting more than 3 months are required to take out Swiss health insurance from the day they report to the Residents’ Registration Office. They must do so within three months. If they fail to do so, they may be automatically enrolled with a health insurance fund – with a premium surcharge for belated admission in the absence of an excuse for the delay – and are required to pay the costs of any medical treatment received prior to the date of admission themselves.

Holders of an L permit lasting less than 3 months are required to take out Swiss health insurance from the date they enter Switzerland. If they fail do so, they may automatically be enrolled with a health insurance fund.

Insurance cover generally ends on the departure date reported to the Residents’ Registration Office, and in any event no later than the date of the worker’s departure from Switzerland or death.

Workers employed in more than one country

Swiss or EU nationals working simultaneously either in several EU/EFTA states or in Switzerland and one or more EU/EFTA states, be it as salaried employees or as independent contractors, are subject to the legislation of one single state. For more information on this, see “Travailleurs dans l’UE ou l’AELE - Activités salariées simultanées dans l’UE/AELE ou la Suisse”

In Switzerland, authority to decide on social-security coverage rests with the Old-age and Survivors’ Insurance Compensation Offices. They also decide on health-insurance coverage requirements. If you are simultaneously engaged in gainful employment in both Switzerland and the EU/EFTA, we request that contact your OASI compensation office directly.

Further information

Cross-border commuters working in Switzerland

In principle, cross-border commuters must take out Swiss health insurance. Some exceptions may apply depending on the employee’s country of domicile and nationality.

Workers in the EU or EFTA

Health insurance obligations for persons who are resident in Switzerland and work in an EU/EFTA country or pursue multiple activities.

EU/EFTA premiums and premium reductions

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable to their country of domicile. Those of limited means are entitled to a premium reduction.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/kurzarbeitende-ch.html

Assurance-maladie : Travailleurs de courte durée en Suisse

Les personnes domiciliées à l'étranger travaillant en Suisse pour une courte durée doivent conclure une assurance-maladie en Suisse. Des exceptions existent en fonction du pays de domicile et de la nationalité du travailleur ou du type de permis de travail.

Travailleurs de l’UE/AELE – Assurance au lieu d‘emploi

Conformément à l'harmonisation des systèmes de sécurité sociale, introduite par l'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes avec l’UE (ALCP) et la Convention AELE, en 2002, l'obligation d'assurance dépend du principe du lieu d'emploi. Toute personne qui travaille en Suisse y est soumise à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire ainsi que les membres de sa famille sans activité lucrative.
Cette règle s'applique aux travailleurs provenant d'un Etat de l'UE/AELE :

  • détenteurs d'un permis de courte durée (permis L)
  • personnes qui exercent une activité lucrative en Suisse durant trois mois au maximum et qui n'ont pas besoin d'une autorisation de séjour pour cette période (procédure d'annonce), sauf s'ils disposent d'une couverture d'assurance privée équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse.

Des exceptions sont possibles pour les travailleurs domiciliés en Allemagne, Autriche, France et Italie qui retournent régulièrement dans leur pays de domicile (au moins une fois par semaine). Voir les explications relatives au droit d'option, sous la rubrique «Travailleurs frontaliers en Suisse».

Début et fin de l'assurance

Les ressortissants d'un pays de l'UE/AELE qui n'ont pas besoin d'une autorisation de séjour (travail de moins de 3 mois) ont l'obligation de s'assurer dès le début de leur contrat de travail. S'ils ne s'assurent pas, ils risquent d'être affiliés d'office à une caisse-maladie. L'assurance devra alors commencer à la date du début de leur contrat de travail.
L'assurance prend fin à la date de l'arrêt du travail en Suisse, mais au plus tard le jour du départ effectif de la Suisse, ou au décès de l'assuré.

Les ressortissants d'un pays de l'UE/AELE détenteurs d'un permis L valable plus de 3 mois ont l'obligation de s'assurer depuis le jour où ils se sont annoncés au contrôle des habitants. Ils disposent d'un délai de 3 mois pour s'affilier auprès d'une caisse-maladie suisse. Passé ce délai, ils risquent non seulement d'être affiliés d'office à une caisse-maladie avec un supplément de prime pour affiliation tardive si le retard n’est pas excusable, mais aussi de devoir payer eux-mêmes leurs traitements médicaux jusqu'à la date d'affiliation.
L'assurance prend fin à la date de départ annoncée au contrôle des habitants, dans tous les cas le jour du départ effectif de la Suisse, ou au décès de l'assuré.

Travailleurs de pays hors UE/AELE

Les ressortissants d'un Etat tiers (hors UE/AELE) qui disposent d‘une autorisation de courte durée ou d’une autorisation de séjour valable au moins trois mois sont soumis à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire en Suisse.

L'obligation de s'assurer s'étend aussi aux travailleurs étrangers dont l'autorisation de séjour est valable pour moins de trois mois, (p. ex. travailleurs saisonniers) sauf s'ils disposent d'une couverture d'assurance équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse.

Début et fin de l'assurance

Les détenteurs d'un permis L valable plus de 3 mois ont l'obligation de s'assurer depuis le jour où ils se sont annoncés au contrôle des habitants. Ils disposent d'un délai de 3 mois pour s'affilier auprès d'une caisse-maladie suisse. Passé ce délai, ils risquent non seulement d'être affiliés d'office à une caisse-maladie avec un supplément de prime pour affiliation tardive si le retard n’est pas excusable, mais aussi de devoir payer eux-mêmes leurs traitements médicaux jusqu'à la date d'affiliation.

Les détenteurs d'un permis L valable moins de 3 mois ont l'obligation de s'assurer dès leur entrée en Suisse. S'ils ne s'assurent pas, ils risquent d'être affiliés d'office à une caisse-maladie.

L'assurance prend fin à la date de départ annoncée au contrôle des habitants, dans tous les cas le jour du départ effectif de la Suisse, ou au décès de l'assuré.

Travailleurs pluriactifs (activités dans plusieurs pays)

Un ressortissant suisse ou d’un Etat membre de l’UE qui travaille simultanément comme salarié ou indépendant, soit sur le territoire de plusieurs Etats membres de l’UE/AELE, soit en Suisse et sur le territoire d’un ou de plusieurs Etats membres de l’UE/AELE est soumis à la législation d’un seul Etat. Pour de plus amples informations, voir la rubrique "Travailleurs dans l’UE ou l’AELE - Activités salariées simultanées dans l’UE/AELE ou la Suisse"

En Suisse, les caisses de compensation AVS sont compétentes pour se prononcer sur l’assujettissement aux assurances sociales et leur décision en la matière s’applique aussi à l’assurance-maladie. Les personnes en situation d’activité simultanée en Suisse et dans l’UE/AELE sont priées de s’ adresser directement à la caisse de compensation AVS compétente.

Informations complémentaires

Travailleurs frontaliers en Suisse

Les travailleurs frontaliers doivent en principe conclure une assurance-maladie en Suisse. Des exceptions sont possibles en fonction du pays de domicile et de la nationalité du travailleur.

Travailleurs dans l’UE ou l’AELE

Assujettissement à l’assurance-maladie des personnes qui sont domiciliées en Suisse et qui travaillent dans un pays de l’UE/AELE ou qui sont en situation de pluriactivité.

Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE

Les personnes assurées en Suisse paient les primes UE/AELE applicables à leur pays de domicile. Les assurés de condition économique modeste ont droit à une réduction des primes.

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant à l'étranger

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui vivent à l'étranger ont le droit de se faire soigner dans leur pays de séjour ou de domicile et en Suisse.

Dernière modification 27.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/kurzarbeitende-ch.html