Health insurance: Cross-border commuters working in Switzerland

In general, persons resident abroad who work in Switzerland are required to take out Swiss health insurance. Some exceptions apply, depending on the employee’s country of residence and nationality. 

Insurance at place of work for EU/EFTA cross-border commuters

In 2002, the coordination of social security systems was regulated under the Swiss-EU Agreement on the free movement of persons and the EFTA Convention. Accordingly, the requirement to obtain health insurance is based on the place-of-work principle. Anyone working in Switzerland, as well as non-working family members, is required to take out Swiss health insurance.

Beginning and end of compulsory health insurance

Cross-border commuters from EU/EFTA countries who hold a G permit are subject to compulsory health insurance from the date their employment contract begins. They have three months in which to register with a Swiss health insurer. If they fail to do so, they can be automatically assigned to a health insurer; if the delay is not justifiable, they will be liable to a premium surcharge for late registration. In this case, they will be required to cover the costs of any medical treatment received prior to enrolment themselves.

The requirement for compulsory health insurance ends when the employment contract ends.

Option of obtaining insurance in country of residence

Switzerland has, however, concluded agreements with its neighbouring countries (Germany, Austria, France and Italy) so that persons living in these countries have the option of taking out health insurance in their country of residence. For more details, see the table below (in German).

Residents of these countries who do not wish to take out Swiss health insurance must submit an application for exemption to the relevant cantonal authority (see list below) within three months after starting work.

In March 2015, the Federal Supreme Court issued a ruling on the exercise of this option in the area of health insurance. According to the ruling, the so-called tacit exercise of this option does not have legal force. Cross-border commuters who have previously been insured abroad rather than in Switzerland and who have not submitted a formal application for exemption from compulsory insurance may take out insurance in Switzerland under the KVG. They must obtain confirmation from the relevant authority in the canton where they work that they have not yet exercised this option with legal force. On presenting this confirmation, they will be enrolled by the Swiss health insurer (see information letter dated 20 April 2015 below).

Procedure for exercising the option for France

Cross-border commuters who are insured in France and have this option available must, within 3 months, complete the “Choice of health insurance system” form (see below) and return it, signed by the French Caisse primaire d’assurance-maladie (CPAM), to the relevant authority in the canton where they work. Persons who are insured, and continue to work, in Switzerland but who move to France and wish to obtain health insurance there must, without delay, send a copy of this form, signed by the CPAM, to the Swiss health insurer, so that their insurance in Switzerland can be terminated.

The procedure for exercising this option for France is governed by the agreement of 7 July 2016 between Switzerland and France (see the agreement below, together with the information letter of 11 July 2016 and the FAQ).

Cross-border commuters from non-EU/EFTA countries

Cross-border commuters (G permit holders) who are third-country (i.e. non-EU/EFTA) nationals, as well as non-working family members, can apply to be subject to Swiss health insurance. The application must be submitted within three months after the G permit becomes valid. If this deadline is missed, insurance cover begins on the date of enrolment.

Cover ends when employment in Switzerland ceases, the G permit is revoked or expires, or if the insured person dies or opts to be no longer subject to Swiss health insurance. In this last case, a new application can only be submitted in special circumstances.

Further information

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Health insurance: Co-payment for persons insured in Switzerland

For persons insured in Switzerland, the co-payment for treatment abroad varies, depending on the country where treatment is received.

Treatment abroad for policyholders resident abroad

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad are entitled to be treated in the country where they are staying or residing, or in Switzerland.

Last modification 04.03.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/grenzgaengerinnen-ch.html

Assurance-maladie : Travailleurs frontaliers en Suisse

Les personnes domiciliées à l'étranger qui travaillent en Suisse doivent en principe conclure une assurance-maladie en Suisse. Des exceptions sont possibles en fonction du pays de domicile et de la nationalité du travailleur.

Travailleurs frontaliers de l’UE/AELE – Assurance au lieu d‘emploi

Conformément à l'harmonisation des systèmes de sécurité sociale, introduite par l'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes avec l’UE (ALCP) et la Convention AELE, en 2002, l'obligation d'assurance dépend du principe du lieu d'emploi. Toute personne qui travaille en Suisse y est soumise à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire ainsi que les membres de sa famille sans activité lucrative. Cette règle s'applique notamment aux travailleurs frontaliers.

Début et fin de l'assurance

Les travailleurs frontaliers ressortissants d'un pays de l'UE/AELE détenteurs d'un permis G ont l'obligation de s'assurer dès le début de leur contrat de travail. Ils disposent d'un délai de 3 mois pour s'affilier auprès d'une caisse-maladie suisse. Passé ce délai, ils risquent non seulement d'être affiliés d'office à une caisse-maladie avec un supplément de prime pour affiliation tardive si le retard n’est pas excusable, mais aussi de devoir payer eux-mêmes leurs traitements médicaux jusqu'à la date d'affiliation.

L'obligation d'assurance se termine à la fin du contrat de travail.

Droit d'option

Toutefois, la Suisse a conclu avec les pays limitrophes (Allemagne, Autriche, France, Italie) des accords particuliers permettant aux personnes qui y sont domiciliées de s'assurer dans leur pays de domicile (droit d'option). Voir ci-dessous, tableau « Assujettissement à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire de personnes résidant dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE »).
Les intéressés qui ne souhaitent pas s'assurer en Suisse doivent présenter une demande d'exemption de l'obligation de s'assurer, dans les trois mois qui suivent le début du contrat de travail, auprès de l'autorité compétente du canton où ils travaillent (voir liste ci-dessous).

En mars 2015, le Tribunal fédéral a rendu un arrêt relatif à l’exercice du droit d'option en matière d'assurance-maladie. Selon cet arrêt, l'exercice tacite du droit d'option n'est juridiquement pas valable. Les travailleurs frontaliers qui n'étaient jusqu'ici pas assurés en Suisse, mais avaient pris une assurance à l’étranger, sans avoir déposé une demande formelle d'exemption, peuvent s’assurer en Suisse selon la LAMal. Ils doivent demander à l’autorité compétente du canton où ils travaillent une attestation selon laquelle ils n’ont pas encore exercé valablement leur droit d'option. Sur présentation de cette attestation, ils pourront s’affilier auprès d’un assureur-maladie suisse (voir ci-dessous la lettre d’information du 20 avril 2015).

Modalités d'exercice du droit d'option avec la France

Les frontaliers assurés en France qui bénéficient d'un droit d'option doivent remplir le formulaire ci-dessous « Choix du système d'assurance-maladie » et le retourner, visé par la Caisse primaire d'assurance-maladie française (CPAM), à l'autorité compétente du canton où ils travaillent dans un délai de 3 mois. Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui déménagement en France et choisissent de s'y assurer doivent transmettre dans les plus brefs délais une copie du formulaire, visé par la CPAM, à leur caisse-maladie pour mettre fin à l'assurance en Suisse.

Les modalités d'exercice du droit d'option avec la France sont réglementées par l’Accord franco-suisse du 7 juillet 2016 (voir ci-dessous le texte de l’Accord et la lettre d’information du 11 juillet 2016 ainsi que les FAQ y relatives).

Travailleurs frontaliers d'un pays hors UE/AELE

Les travailleurs frontaliers (permis G) ressortissants d'un Etat tiers (hors UE/AELE) ainsi que les membres de leur famille sans activité lucrative sont soumis à l'assurance suisse sur requête de leur part. La demande doit être déposée dans les trois mois qui suivent le début de la validité du permis G. Passé ce délai, la couverture d'assurance commence au moment de l'affiliation.

L'assurance se termine à la fin de l'activité en Suisse, à l'expiration ou révocation du permis G, au décès de l'assuré ou à la renonciation à l'assujettissement à l'assurance suisse. Dans ce dernier cas, une nouvelle demande ne peut être déposée, sauf raison particulière.

Informations complémentaires

Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE

Les personnes assurées en Suisse paient les primes UE/AELE applicables à leur pays de domicile. Les assurés de condition économique modeste ont droit à une réduction des primes.

Participation aux coûts des personnes assurées en Suisse

Pour les personnes assurées en Suisse, la participation aux coûts pour les soins à l'étranger diffère en fonction du pays dans lequel le traitement est administré.

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant à l'étranger

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui vivent à l'étranger ont le droit de se faire soigner dans leur pays de séjour ou de domicile et en Suisse.

Dernière modification 04.10.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/grenzgaengerinnen-ch.html