Health insurance: Workers posted abroad from Switzerland

Posted workers remain subject to the social security legislation of their country of origin. As far as health insurance is concerned, the specific requirements vary depending on the country to which the worker is posted.  

Posting to an EU/EFTA country

Nationals of Switzerland or an EU/EFTA member state employed by a company whose headquarters are in Switzerland who are posted to work in an EU/EFTA country for up to 24 months remain subject to Swiss social security legislation; this also applies to health insurance. They will receive a posting certificate (A1, previously form E101) from their AHV compensation office. The duration of the posting can be extended to a maximum of six years (through a special agreement between the Federal Social Insurance Office and the relevant authority abroad).

The Swiss-EU Agreement on the free movement of persons and the EFTA Convention do not apply to third-country nationals. In most cases, postings can be arranged for them on the basis of existing bilateral agreements.

Posting to a contracting state

In the case of a posting from Switzerland to a contracting state (other than EU/EFTA countries, India and Japan), posted workers remain subject to compulsory health insurance throughout their posting (see the list of Switzerland’s international social security agreements below).

The fact that posted workers remain insured in Switzerland has no bearing on their status vis-à-vis the insurance schemes of the country where they are working. Double cover may therefore arise in some cases. If workers posted from Switzerland are required to take out health insurance in the country where they are temporarily employed, they can apply for exemption from compulsory health insurance in Switzerland, provided that continued insurance in Switzerland would result in a double burden and that they have equivalent insurance covering treatment in Switzerland.

Postings to India and Japan

Under the social security agreements with India and Japan, workers posted from Switzerland remain subject to Swiss compulsory health insurance for the duration of their posting. There is thus no risk of double cover.

Postings to non-contracting states

For posted workers not covered by the Agreement on the free movement of persons, the EFTA Convention or any other bilateral social security agreement, and for postings to countries with which Switzerland has not concluded a social security agreement (non-contracting states), Swiss compulsory health insurance will be continued for two years. On request, this period can be extended to six years.

Persons required to take out health insurance under local legislation can apply to the relevant cantonal authority for exemption from Swiss compulsory health insurance, provided that continued insurance in Switzerland would result in a double burden and that they have equivalent insurance covering treatment in Switzerland.

Further information

For an overview of all the agreements, see the document "Overview of the international social security agreements concluded by Switzerland / effects on health insurance and the liability of posted workers" (in German). Further information can be found on the website of the Federal Social Insurance Office (see the documents on social security for posted workers).

Further information

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Leistungen im Ausland für Versicherte mit Wohnsitz im Ausland

In der Schweiz versicherte Personen, die im Ausland leben, haben das Recht, sich in ihrem Aufenthalts- oder Wohnsitzland sowie in der Schweiz behandeln zu lassen.

Health insurance: International social security agreements

Switzerland has concluded a number of multilateral agreements and several international social security agreements relevant to health insurance.

Last modification 09.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/aus-ch-entsandte-arbeitnehmde.html

Assurance-maladie : Travailleurs détachés de Suisse à l’étranger

La législation de sécurité sociale du pays d’origine reste applicable au travailleur détaché. En ce qui concerne l'assurance-maladie, il convient de distinguer différentes catégories en fonction du pays vers lequel le travailleur est détaché.

Détachement vers un Etat de l'UE/AELE

Les ressortissants de nationalité suisse ou d’un Etat membre de l’UE/AELE qui sont détachés pour une période allant jusqu’à 24 mois sur le territoire d’un Etat membre de l’UE/AELE par une entreprise ayant son siège en Suisse restent soumis à la législation suisse de sécurité sociale, y compris l'assurance-maladie. Un certificat de détachement (attestation A1, anciennement formulaire E101) est délivré par la caisse de compensation AVS compétente. La durée du détachement peut être prolongée pour une durée totale maximale de six ans (conclusion d’un accord particulier entre l’Office fédéral des assurances sociales et l’autorité compétente étrangère).
L'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes avec l’UE (ALCP) et la Convention AELE ne s’appliquent pas aux ressortissants d'Etats tiers. Dans la plupart des cas, leur détachement est possible sur la base de conventions bilatérales.

Détachement vers un Etat contractant

Lors d'un détachement de Suisse vers un Etat contractant (autre que UE/AELE, Inde et Japon), le travailleur détaché reste assujetti à l'assurance-maladie suisse pendant toute la durée du détachement (pour la liste des conventions internationales de sécurité sociale conclues par la Suisse, voir ci-dessous).

La continuation de l’assurance en Suisse ne modifie pas le statut de l’assuré au regard des assurances de l’Etat dans lequel il exerce son activité ; selon les cas, une double assurance n’est donc pas exclue. Si un travailleur détaché de Suisse doit être obligatoirement assuré contre la maladie dans le pays où il exerce son activité temporaire, il peut demander à être libéré de l’obligation d’assurance en Suisse, lorsque son affiliation signifierait pour lui une double charge et qu’il dispose d’une couverture d’assurance équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse.

Détachement vers l'Inde et le Japon

Les conventions de sécurité sociale conclues avec l'Inde et le Japon prévoient que les travailleurs détachés de Suisse demeurent soumis à l’assurance maladie obligatoire suisse pendant toute la durée du détachement. Une double assurance est ainsi exclue.

Détachement vers un Etat non-contractant

Pour les travailleurs détachés auxquels ni l’ALCP ou la convention AELE, ni une autre convention bilatérale de sécurité sociale n’est applicable, ainsi que lors de détachements dans un Etat avec lequel la Suisse n’a pas conclu de convention de sécurité sociale (Etat non-contractant), l’assurance-maladie obligatoire suisse est prolongée de deux ans. Sur requête, ce délai peut être porté à six ans.

Les personnes assurées obligatoirement pour les cas de maladie en vertu du droit étranger peuvent demander à l’institution cantonale compétente d’être libérées de l’obligation d’assurance en Suisse, lorsque leur affiliation signifierait pour elles une double charge et qu’elles disposent d’une couverture d’assurance équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse.

Informations complémentaires

Pour un aperçu de l’ensemble des conventions, voir le document « Aperçu des conventions internationales de sécurité sociale conclues par la Suisse / effets sur l’assurance-maladie et l’assujettissement des travailleurs détachés ». Vous trouverez des informations supplémentaires sur le site internet de l’Office fédéral des assurances sociales (voir mémento sur la sécurité sociale des travailleurs détachés).

Informations complémentaires

Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE

Les personnes assurées en Suisse paient les primes UE/AELE applicables à leur pays de domicile. Les assurés de condition économique modeste ont droit à une réduction des primes.

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant à l'étranger

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui vivent à l'étranger ont le droit de se faire soigner dans leur pays de séjour ou de domicile et en Suisse.

Conventions internationales de sécurité sociale

La Suisse a conclu des accords multilatéraux et des conventions internationales de sécurité sociale qui ont des effets en matière d'assurance-maladie.

Dernière modification 27.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/aus-ch-entsandte-arbeitnehmde.html