Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium reductions

Persons domiciled in an EU/EFTA country who are required to take out health insurance under the terms of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) or the EFTA Convention must pay the health insurance premiums applicable to their country of domicile.

EU/EFTA premiums

About one third of Swiss health insurance funds offer policies covering people domiciled in an EU or EFTA country. Some funds offer cover only for certain EU countries. These premiums must cover the costs incurred in all the countries in which policies are offered. Insurers must calculate individual premiums for each country, to reflect differences in costs.

EU/EFTA premium reductions

Switzerland grants premium reductions to policyholders of modest means residing in EU and EFTA countries. The premium reductions granted to pensioners and their family members are authorised by the Confederation and managed by the Common Institution under the KVG (see link below “Premium reductions for pensioners domiciled in an EU/EFTA country”). Conversely, in the case of people employed in Switzerland, cross-border commuters and those drawing unemployment benefit, these reductions are granted by the canton in which the people concerned work or live. The document below lists the addresses of the cantonal institutions authorised to grant premium reductions.

Further information

Insurance obligation

In principle, persons leaving Switzerland to live abroad are no longer subject to the compulsory health insurance requirement. Exceptions do however apply to people in certain categories.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/praemien-verbilligung-eu-efta.html

Assurance-maladie : Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE

Les personnes domiciliées dans un État de l’UE/AELE qui sont tenues de s’assurer en Suisse selon l’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes avec l’UE (ALCP) ou selon la Convention AELE doivent s’acquitter des primes applicables à leur pays de domicile.  

Primes UE/AELE

Près d’un tiers des assureurs-maladie suisses proposent l’assurance-maladie aux personnes qui résident dans un Etat de l’UE ou de l’AELE. Certains ne la pratiquent que dans quelques-uns des États de l’UE. Les primes doivent couvrir les coûts engendrés par les assurés de l’ensemble de ces États. Les assureurs sont tenus de calculer une prime propre à chaque État, en tenant compte des différences de coûts entre les États.

Réduction des primes UE/AELE

La Suisse accorde des réductions de primes aux assurés de condition économique modeste qui résident dans un État de l’UE ou de l’AELE. L’octroi de réductions de primes à des rentiers et aux membres de leur famille est de la compétence de la Confédération ; il s’effectue par l’intermédiaire de l’institution commune LAMal (voir lien ci-dessous "Réduction des primes pour rentiers domiciliés dans un État de l’UE/AELE"). Mais s’il s’agit de personnes qui travaillent en Suisse, de frontaliers ou de personnes qui perçoivent une prestation de l’assurance-chômage et des membres de leur famille, c’est le canton de domicile ou du lieu de travail qui est compétent. Vous trouverez dans le document ci-dessous une liste d’adresses des institutions cantonales compétentes pour la réduction des primes.

Informations complémentaires

Assurance-maladie : Obligation de s’assurer

Les personnes qui déménagent à l’étranger ne sont en principe plus soumises à l’assurance-maladie obligatoire. Certaines catégories de personnes font toutefois exception à cette règle.

Dernière modification 09.04.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/praemien-verbilligung-eu-efta.html