Health insurance: Co-payment for persons insured in Switzerland

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad can be treated either in Switzerland or in their country of residence. The co-payment regulations vary depending on the country where treatment is received. 

Treatment in Switzerland

Co-payment is subject to the provisions of Swiss law. Further information can be found under “Cost participation for persons insured in Switzerland”.

Treatment in the country of residence

Using the S1 form (previously E106, E109, E121) provided by the insurer, policyholders and/or family members can register to obtain benefits in kind from the healthcare institution of their country of residence, which will be reimbursed by the Swiss health insurer. Co-payment is subject to the legal provisions of the country of residence.

Treatment in another EU/EFTA country

With the European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) issued by the health insurer, policyholders, in the event of illness, accident or maternity during their stay, are entitled to receive all benefits in kind considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay. Co-payment is subject to the regulations of the country where treatment is received and is generally payable directly. Co-payment in Switzerland is then not applicable. Nor is co-payment in an EU/EFTA country taken into account for the Swiss deductible or retention fee. For more information, see “Stay in EU/EFTA” (available in French/German/Italian) on the website of the Common Institution under the KVG (Swiss liaison body).

Treatment in a non-EU/EFTA country

During a temporary stay in a country outside the EU/EFTA, the costs of emergency treatment for illness or accident (in cases where a return to Switzerland is not possible for medical reasons) will be reimbursed up to a maximum of twice the amount that the insurer would have paid if the treatment had been provided in Switzerland. In the case of inpatient treatment, however, this means that the insurer will reimburse no more than 90% of the costs that would have arisen for hospitalisation in Switzerland. Co-payment is based on the Swiss regulations. Further information on this topic can be found under “Cost participation for persons insured in Switzerland”.
Other medical treatments abroad are not generally covered by compulsory health insurance.

Private supplementary insurance

Medical costs in certain countries outside the EU/EFTA (e.g. the US, Canada and Japan) are very high, while co-payment rates in certain EU/EFTA countries (e.g. France) are higher than in Switzerland. It is therefore advisable to take out travel insurance to cover possible co-payment and medical treatment expenses exceeding the amount reimbursed by compulsory health insurance.

Further information

Health insurance: Co-payment for persons resident in Switzerland

Services are generally subject to co-payment by policyholders.

Treatment abroad for policyholders resident abroad

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad are entitled to be treated in the country where they are staying or residing, or in Switzerland.

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Last modification 09.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/kostenbeteiligung/kostenbeteiligung-versicherte-ch.html

Assurance-maladie : Participation aux coûts des personnes assurées en Suisse

Les personnes assurées en Suisse et domiciliées à l’étranger peuvent se faire soigner en Suisse et dans leur pays de domicile. Les règles relatives à la participation aux coûts diffèrent en fonction du pays dans lequel le traitement est administré. 

Soins administrés en Suisse

Les principes de la participation aux coûts du droit suisse sont applicables. Vous trouverez plus d’informations à ce sujet sur notre page internet concernant la participation aux coûts des assurés ayant leur domicile en Suisse.

Soins administrés dans l’Etat de domicile

Un formulaire S1 (ancien formulaire E106, E109, E121) est délivré par l’assureur et permet à la personne assurée et/ou ses membres de famille de s’inscrire auprès de l’institution d’assurance maladie de leur domicile afin de bénéficier des prestations en nature de l’assurance maladie, à la charge de la caisse-maladie suisse. Pour la participation aux coûts, les dispositions du droit de l’État de domicile sont applicables.

Soins administrés dans un autre État de l’UE/AELE ou UK

La carte européenne d’assurance-maladie (CEAM) délivrée par la caisse-maladie confère à l’assuré le droit de bénéficier durant son séjour des prestations en nature en cas de maladie, d’accident ou de maternité qui s’avèrent médicalement nécessaires, compte tenu de la nature des soins et de la durée prévue du séjour. La participation aux coûts s’aligne sur les directives du pays dans lequel le traitement est suivi et doit généralement être payée généralement sur place. La participation aux coûts en Suisse n’est alors plus applicable. La participation payée dans l’UE/AELE ou au Royaume-Uni (UK) n’est pas non plus imputée sur la franchise et la quote-part en Suisse. Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter le site internet de l’organisme de liaison suisse, l’Institution commune LAMal, sous "Séjour au sein de l’UE/AELE/UK".

Soins administrés à l’étranger (dans un État hors UE/AELE/UK)

Lors d’un séjour temporaire à l’étranger (hors UE/AELE/UK ou au Royaume-Uni), les traitements effectués d’urgence (maladie ou accident ne permettant pas, pour des raisons médicales, un retour en Suisse), sont pris en charge jusqu’à concurrence du double du montant qui aurait été payé si le traitement avait eu lieu en Suisse. Cela signifie cependant que, pour un traitement stationnaire, l’assureur paiera au maximum 90 % du coût que ce séjour hospitalier aurait engendré en Suisse. Dans certains pays hors UE/AELE/UK (p. ex. USA, Canada, Japon), les traitements médicaux sont très coûteux et les prestations de l’assurance de base ne suffisent pas à couvrir ces frais.
La participation aux coûts est régie par le droit suisse. Vous trouverez plus d’informations à ce sujet sur notre page internet concernant la participation aux coûts pour assurés domiciliés en Suisse.
Les autres prestations médicales fournies à l’étranger ne sont en principe pas couvertes par l’assurance de base.

Informations complémentaires

Assurance-maladie : Participation aux coûts pour assurés domiciliés en Suisse

Les assurés sont en principe tenus de participer aux coûts des prestations dont ils bénéficient.

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant à l'étranger

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui vivent à l’étranger ont le droit de se faire soigner dans leur pays de séjour ou de domicile et en Suisse.

Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE/UK

Les personnes assurées en Suisse paient les primes UE/AELE/UK applicables à leur pays de domicile. Les assurés de condition économique modeste ont droit à une réduction des primes.

Dernière modification 05.07.2023

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/kostenbeteiligung/kostenbeteiligung-versicherte-ch.html