Health insurance: Risk equalization

Risk equalization evens out the financial risk between health insurance providers with different risk structures. It currently takes the following indicators into account: “age”, “sex”, “stays in hospital or nursing home during the previous year” and “cost of pharmaceuticals dispensed in the previous year”.

Compulsory health insurance is financed through uniform premiums. This means that each insured person – irrespective of their age, sex or any other indicator of their state of health – pays the same premium to the same health insurance provider in the same canton, or the same premium region, for the same insurance model. This uniform premium does not, however, correspond to the effective risk of an insured person becoming ill and incurring costs for the compulsory health insurance.

Risk equalization was introduced in order to counter the incentive for health insurers to insure only healthy persons as far as possible, i.e. to engage in risk selection. It provides financial equalization to offset the insurers' different risk structures. Insurers who insure only a small number of high risks (i.e. persons with a high risk of falling ill) pay levies into the risk equalization scheme. Insurers who insure a large number of high risks receive contributions from the risk equalization scheme.

Calculation of risk equalization

The Gemeinsame Einrichtung KVG performs the risk equalization. The risk equalization is calculated on a cantonal basis and takes the following indicators into account: “age”, “sex”, “stays in hospital or nursing home the previous year” and “cost of pharmaceuticals dispensed in the previous year”.

The insured persons are divided into risk groups for the calculation based on these indicators. The average costs are established for each risk group (group average). These are then compared with the overall average costs. For insured persons in risk groups with a group average that is below the overall average, the insurers pay a levy equivalent to the difference. For insured persons in risk groups with a group average that is higher than the overall average, the insurers receive a contribution equivalent to the difference. 

The total levies paid into the risk equalization scheme correspond to the total contributions paid out of it (zero-sum situation).

The prospective nature of the risk equalization scheme means that it effectively evens out the risks and not the cost differences.

Relief for young adults in the risk equalization scheme

On 17 March 2017, parliament amended the Swiss Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal) on the basis of two parliamentary initiatives, 10.407, “Waiver of premiums for children”, and 13.477, “KVG/LAMal. Change in premium categories for children, young people and young adults”. Up to that point young adults (aged 19 to 25) had been treated as adults for the purposes of risk equalization. Now the risk equalization scheme grants insurers relief for young adults, with their payments into the risk equalization scheme reduced by 50 per cent. This enables insurers to offer young adults lower premiums than would be possible without this relief. The relief is funded equally via an increase in the levies paid into the risk equalization scheme and a reduction in the contributions paid out of it for insureds aged 26 and over. The formula for calculating risk equalization in the ordinance governing the risk equalization scheme (VORA/OCoR) has been ad-justed accordingly.
The Federal Council passed this amendment on 11 April 2018, and thus also put the above-mentioned change in the law relating to premiums for young adults into force. The changes enter into force on 1 January 2019.  

Reduction in risk selection incentives for insurers as part of the Health2020 strategy

Reducing risk selection incentives for the insurers constitutes part of the equal opportunities field of action in the Health2020 strategy. With the further refinement of the risk equalization scheme, the incentive to engage in risk selection is to be reduced still further. In this way, competition between the insurers is to be located at the point where the legislator originally intended it to be, namely in the:       

  • quality of the insurance offerings,
  • services,
  • cost control.

Refinement of risk equalization

The FOPH has commissioned various studies over the past few years with a view to further refining the risk equalization scheme.

In its 2011 report compiled in response to Postulate 07.3769 “Inclusion of a further morbidity factor in risk equalization”, the Federal Council states that, over the medium term, the risk equalization scheme is to be refined through “pharmaceutical cost groups” (PCG). In view of the long preparatory period, a transitional solution is also proposed.

Since then, a start has been made on refining the risk equalization scheme: the “cost of pharmaceuticals dispensed in the previous year” is included in the risk equalization as an additional indicator in 2017 already. In this way, expensive insured persons who receive outpatient treatment, in particular, can be better captured and their insurers better compensated. In 2020 this indicator will be replaced by indicators based on PCG. These indicators have advantages over the transitional solution, especially from the incentive point of view. 

Last modification 04.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Premiums and Solvency Oversight Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht/risikoausgleich.html

Assurance-maladie : Compensation des risques

La compensation des risques permet un rééquilibrage financier entre les assureurs-maladie ayant des structures de risque différentes. Elle compte actuellement les indicateurs suivants: « âge », « sexe », « séjour dans un hôpital ou un EMS l’année précédente » et « coûts des médicaments au cours de l’année précédente ».

L'assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS) est financée par des primes uniques : chaque assuré paie, indépendamment de son âge, de son sexe ou de tout autre indicateur de son état de santé, la même prime que les personnes affiliées à la même caisse-maladie habitant dans le même canton (ou région de primes) et ayant choisi le même modèle d’assurance que lui. La prime unique ne correspond donc pas au risque de maladie effectif de l'assuré ni aux coûts qu'il générera à la charge de l'AOS.

La compensation des risques a été créée pour que les assureurs ne soient pas tentés de pratiquer la « sélection des risques », c'est-à-dire d'assurer si possible des personnes en bonne santé. Elle permet un rééquilibrage financier entre les assureurs-maladie ayant des structures de risque différentes : les assureurs devant faire face à de faibles risques (leur effectif étant constitué de personnes en bonne santé) paient des redevances servant à compenser les assureurs confrontés à des risques élevés.

Calcul de la compensation des risques

La compensation des risques est gérée par l'Institution commune LAMal. Calculée au niveau cantonal, elle comprend les indicateurs suivants: l' « âge », le « sexe », le « séjour dans un hôpital ou un établissement médico-social au cours de l’année précédente » et les « coûts des médicaments au cours de l’année précédente ».

Les assurés sont répartis dans différents groupes de risques sur la base de ces indicateurs. La moyenne des coûts est alors calculée pour chaque groupe (moyenne de groupe). Elle est ensuite comparée à la moyenne générale. Pour les assurés dont la moyenne de groupe se situe au-dessous de la moyenne générale, les assureurs paient une redevance de risque qui correspond à la différence entre les deux moyennes. Pour les assurés dont la moyenne de groupe excède la moyenne générale, les assureurs reçoivent une contribution de compensation qui correspond à la différence entre les deux moyennes.

La somme des redevances correspond à celle des contributions (jeu à somme nulle).

Aménagée sur un mode prospectif, la compensation des risques tient compte des risques effectifs et non des différences de coûts.

Allègement de la compensation des risques pour les jeunes adultes  

En réponse aux initiatives parlementaires 10.407 «Exonérer les enfants du paiement des primes d’assurance-maladie» et 13.477 «LAMal. Révision des catégories de primes enfants, jeunes et jeunes adultes», le Parlement a modifié la loi sur l'assurance-maladie (LAMal) le 17 mars 2017. Jusqu’alors, les jeunes adultes (19 à 25 ans) bénéficiaient du même statut que les adultes dans la compensation des risques. Désormais, les assureurs verseront une redevance de risque moins élevée pour les assurés de cette catégorie d’âge. Leurs versements au titre de la compensation des risques diminueront de 50 %. Cela permet aux assureurs de proposer des primes plus avantageuses aux jeunes adultes. Cet allégement est financé par l’augmentation des redevances de risque et par la diminution des contributions de compensation pour les assurés âgés de 26 ans et plus. La formule de calcul est adaptée en conséquence dans l’ordonnance sur la compensation des risques (OCoR).
Le Conseil fédéral a adopté cette modification, et par là même l’adaptation portant sur les primes des jeunes adultes, le 11 avril 2018. Les nouvelles dispositions entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.  

Réduire l'incitation à la sélection des risques chez les assureurs : l'un des objectifs de la stratégie Santé2020.

Réduire l'incitation à la sélection des risques chez les assureurs fait partie des objectifs figurant dans le domaine d'action Egalité des chances de Santé2020. Pour ce faire, il faut affiner davantage la compensation des risques. La concurrence pourra alors s’exercer davantage là où le législateur le voulait à l’origine, c’est-à-dire au niveau :

  • de la qualité des offres d’assurance ;
  • des services ;
  • du contrôle des coûts.

Affinement de la compensation des risques

Ces dernières années, l'OFSP a fait effectuer différentes études sur la compensation des risques.

Dans le rapport qu'il a élaboré en 2011, en réponse au postulat 07.3769 Introduction d'un facteur de morbidité, le Conseil fédéral indique qu'il faut, à moyen terme, affiner la compensation des risques avec les groupes de coûts pharmaceutiques (PCG). Vu le temps que prendra la mise en place des PCG, il a proposé une solution transitoire.

Le processus d'affinement est en cours. Dès 2017, les « coûts des médicaments » serviront, à titre transitoire, de 4e indicateur. Ainsi, les assureurs seront mieux dédommagés pour les assurés traités en ambulatoire et générant des coûts élevés. À partir de 2020, cet indicateur sera remplacé par d’autres indicateurs basés sur les  PCG  et qui présentent des avantages par rapport à la solution transitoire, notamment du point de vue des incitations.

Dernière modification 04.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Primes et surveillance de la solvabilité
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht/risikoausgleich.html