Health insurance: Supervision of insurers

Insurers offering compulsory health insurance are supervised by the Federal Office of Public Health, while responsibility for the supervision of supplementary insurance (covered by private insurance law) rests with the Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA). 

The practice of social health insurance is subject to authorisation by the FOPH. To obtain this authorisation, insurers must have drawn up a business plan. Social health insurance is offered by numerous insurers that satisfy the legal requirements, including in particular the ability to meet their financial obligations at all times. As part of their activities, insurers process policyholders’ health data, and they must be able to ensure the protection of this sensitive data.

Supervision is designed to protect the interests of policyholders by ensuring, in particular, the transparency of social health insurance and the solvency of insurers. The FOPH ensures that the Federal Act on Health Insurance (KVG) is consistently applied by insurers. It also supervises insurers’ financial situation; for this purpose, insurers are required to submit their annual reports, budgets and financial statements to the FOPH, as well as the premiums for the following year, which are subject to approval by the FOPH.

The FOPH can take protective measures if the solvency of an insurer is compromised and policyholders’ interests are thus at risk. If an insurer becomes insolvent, the costs of statutory benefits are assumed by an insolvency fund managed by the Common Institution under the KVG. For this purpose, contributions are levied by insurers on social health insurance premiums.

The role of insurers is not restricted to reimbursing the costs of services provided to policyholders. They also, together with the cantons, support health promotion. The insurers and cantons jointly operate Health Promotion Switzerland, a foundation whose aim is to encourage, coordinate and evaluate the effects of health promotion and disease prevention measures.

Documents


The documents are not available in English.

Press releases

Java script is required to display press releases. If you are unable or unwilling to activate Java script you may use the link below to access the Federal Administration News Portal, where you can read the announcements.

To the Federal Administration News Portal

Legislation

The documents are not available in English.

Further information

Activity reports on supervision of the social health and accident insurance systems

Activity reports on supervision of the social health and accident insurance systems from 2016.

Last modification 23.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht.html

Assurance-maladie : Assureurs et surveillance

La surveillance des assureurs (assurance sociale) est exercée par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) et la surveillance des assurances complémentaires (secteur privé) par l'Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA). 

La pratique de l'assurance-maladie sociale est subordonnée à l'autorisation de l'OFSP. Pour obtenir cette autorisation, les assureurs doivent disposer d'un plan d'exploitation. L'assurance-maladie sociale est proposée par une pluralité de caisses-maladie qui remplissent les conditions légales, notamment celle d'être en mesure de remplir leurs obligations financières en tout temps. Dans le cadre de leur activité, les assureurs traitent les données de santé des assurés, qui sont des données sensibles dont ils doivent garantir la protection.

La surveillance a pour but la protection des intérêts des assurés, en particulier par la garantie de la transparence de l'assurance-maladie sociale et de la solvabilité des assureurs. L'OFSP veille à l'application uniforme de la loi fédérale sur l'assurance-maladie (LAMal) et il surveille la situation financière des assureurs. Ceux-ci doivent donc lui soumettre leur rapport annuel, leur budget et leurs comptes annuels, ainsi que les primes de l'année suivante, que l'OFSP approuve.

L'OFSP peut prendre des mesures conservatoires lorsque la solvabilité d'un assureur est compromise et que les intérêts des assurés sont ainsi menacés. Si un assureur devient insolvable, les coûts des prestations légales sont pris en charge par un fonds d'insolvabilité géré par l’institution commune ; un montant est prélevé à cet effet sur les primes de l'assurance-maladie sociale.

Le rôle des assureurs ne se limite pas à rembourser les prestations fournies aux assurés ; il consiste aussi à soutenir, en collaboration avec les cantons, la promotion de la santé. Les assureurs et les cantons gèrent ensemble la fondation Promotion Santé Suisse, dont le but est de promouvoir et de coordonner des activités destinées à la prévention et à la promotion de la santé, et d'en évaluer les résultats.

Communiqués

Javascript est requis pour afficher les communiqués de presse. Si vous ne pouvez ou ne souhaitez pas activer Javascript, veuillez utiliser le lien ci-dessous pour accéder au portail d’information de l’administration fédérale.

Vers le portail d’information de l’administration fédérale

Informations complémentaires

Rapports d’activité sur la surveillance de l'assurance maladie sociale et de l'assurance-accidents

Rapports d’activité sur la surveillance de l'assurance maladie sociale et de l'assurance-accidents à partir de 2016.

Dernière modification 27.08.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht.html