Quality development in Switzerland

The federal government aims to improve the quality of healthcare in a systematic and structured way. The Federal Quality Commission (FQC) plays a key role in achieving this goal

Legal basis

On 21 June 2019, the Federal Assembly passed the amendment to the Federal Act on Health Insurance (HIA) to improve quality and cost effectiveness.
When the HIA amendment enters into force on 1 April 2021, the Federal Council will have the task, every four years, of setting out targets in terms of safeguarding and promoting quality of healthcare (quality development) (Art. 58 HIA). In this way and by reviewing target achievement, the Federal Council will take the lead in quality development.

The revised HIA contains new instruments that serve to expand on and implement the Federal Council’s targets. They are directed at actors at all levels.

  • The Federal Council acts as a strategic body. It establishes a Federal Quality Commission (FQC) (Art. 58b HIA).
  • The associations of healthcare providers and insurers conclude agreements on quality development that are applicable throughout Switzerland (quality agreements; Art. 58a HIA).
  • Healthcare providers must comply with the quality agreements (Art. 58a para. 6 HIA).
The graphic represents the interrelationships of the different organs.

Financial framework

  • The Federal Assembly will approve a multi-year credit containing a maximum amount up to which the Federal Quality Commission can grant compensation under Art. 58d HIA and financial assistance under Art. 58e HIA (Art. 58g HIA).
  • The costs of operating the Federal Quality Commission and of carrying out its tasks will be split three ways between the federal government, the cantons and insurers (Art. 58f HIA).
  • A total credit worth CHF 45.2 million was approved for the period 2021–24.

The Federal Council’s quality strategy

Where action is needed

In their 20111 country report the OECD and WHO state that more information is needed on results of treatments and morbidity in connection with healthcare provision so that political decision-makers in Switzerland can pinpoint what the major health risks are and which members of the population are most at risk. In addition, users often possess surprisingly little information on the quality of healthcare providers to be able to make good decisions.

Various international studies have shown that on average one in every ten patients admitted to hospital will suffer an adverse event. These studies only looked at cases documented in medical histories. The studies suggest that around half of these incidents are preventable. If the results of the study by the Institute of Medicine2 (IoM) are extrapolated to Switzerland, this would mean 2,000–3,000 deaths a year. No national studies have been conducted to date on adverse medical events in Switzerland.

The OECD report "System Governance Towards Improved Patient Safety" of 17 September 2020 compares different governance models for improving patient safety in the health systems of various OECD countries and the measures that can be used. The report’s main conclusions are: •

  • A system-wide approach is needed to improve patient safety
  • Leadership and culture play a key role
  • Governance is crucial to achieving safety targets  

The national report of November 2019 on enhancing the quality and safety of Swiss healthcare by Charles Vincent and Anthony Staines maps the current state of knowledge on quality and patient safety in the Swiss health system and highlights where action is needed.

Halfon, Staines and Burnand3 examined some 1,000 medical records in a Swiss hospital in 2017. They found that 12% of patients had experienced an adverse event, and just under half of these cases could have been prevented.

A measurement carried out by the expert group Swissnoso4 in 2017 showed that across 96 Swiss hospitals, 6% of patients had contracted a hospital infection.

These points and findings have been incorporated in the updated quality strategy.

1 Second OECD and WHO report on the Swiss health care system, 2011
2 Kohn/Corrigan/Donaldson, To err is human: building a safer health system, Institute of Medicine, 2000
3 Halfon/Staines/Burnand, Adverse events related to hospital care: a retrospective medical records review in a Swiss hospital, in International Journal for Quality in Health Care, 2017, 1-7
4 Point Prevalence Survey 2017 of healthcare-associated infections and antimicrobial use in Swiss acute care hospitals; Swissnoso, 2018 (www.swissnoso.ch)

Quality strategy, 4-year targets and annual targets

Through the strategy, the federal government seeks to improve the quality of healthcare by ensuring that it is delivered in an effective, safe, patient-centric, timely, efficient and coordinated manner. There should also be equal access to healthcare for all. These targets dictate how the quality indicators will be measured.

The federal government aims to improve the quality of healthcare, including patient safety, in a systematic and structured way. This also includes preventing adverse events. The goal is to foster a safety culture where mistakes are openly addressed. Only when mistakes are no longer taboo can lessons be learned from them, as is the case in other sectors such as aviation. In an organisation with an established safety culture, mistakes and incidents always lead to an improvement of the system. This requires mistakes to be reported in a transparent manner and systematically recorded.
To achieve these goals, a quality strategy has been drawn up. The four-year targets and FQC annual targets are derived from this.

  • Quality strategy
    A new strategy, which will underpin the Federal Council’s four-year targets and the FQC’s annual targets, is currently in the pipeline. It expands on and updates the quality strategy approved by the Federal Council in 2009 and the implementation of that strategy5 in the report of 25 May 20116.
  • Four-year targets
    Every four years, the Federal Council sets out targets with regard to quality development within the scope of compulsory health insurance (Art. 58 HIA).
  • FQC annual targets
    Every year, at the request of the FQC, the Federal Council sets out targets and reviews achievement of these targets (Art. 58c HIA).

The quality strategy of the Confederation in the Swiss health care system is available at: www.bag.admin.ch > Insurances> Health insurance> Quality development.
6 The report on the concretization of the quality strategy of the federal government is available at: www.bag.admin.ch > Insurances> Health insurance> Quality development.

Federal Quality Commission (FQC)

The FQC is an extra-parliamentary expert commission that supports the Federal Council in promoting quality in healthcare within the framework of the HIA. The FQC comprises representatives of healthcare providers, the cantons, insurers, insured persons, patient organisations and members of the science community.

Its tasks include advising stakeholders on coordination, including targeted recommendations on quality development. To achieve the Federal Council’s targets, the FQC commissions third parties to run national quality development programmes. It can also support national or regional quality development projects.
You’ll find information on the FQC members and details of its remit here.

Quality agreements

The purpose of the quality agreements is to set out consistent and contractually-binding quality improvement measures. The quality agreements are agreements under public law.

The quality agreements regulate at least the following:

  • Quality measurement and quality development measures
  • Cooperation between contracting parties in defining improvement measures
  • Checking compliance with improvement measures
  • Publication of quality measurements and improvement measures
  • Sanctions in the event of violations of the agreement
  • Compilation of an annual report on the status of quality development for the attention of the Federal Quality Commission and the Federal Council

The Federal Council will approve the quality agreements. If the associations of healthcare providers and insurers cannot settle on a quality agreement, the Federal Council will set out the rules.

Qualiy indicators

The quality indicators for Swiss acute care hospitals published by the FOPH (CH-IQI) comprise case numbers (e.g. number of heart bypass operations or number of treated heart attacks) and mortality rates (e.g. how many deaths occur in patients undergoing a heart bypass operation). They are published annually for individual hospitals. You can compare the results for up to five diagnoses/interventions at up to five hospitals on the FOPH website . Comparison of case numbers for a specific intervention or disease shows which hospital has the most experience.

The ANQ (Swiss National Association for Quality Development in Swiss Hospitals) also compiles quality indicators for acute care hospitals, and psychiatric and rehabilitation clinics. These are available on the ANQ website.

Quality indicators are currently being developed in collaboration with the competent associations for Assistance and Care at Home (SPITEX) and care homes. The plan is for the Federal Statistical Office to routinely collect these data once the pilot phase is complete and for the FOPH to publish them.

One of the FOPH’s priorities is the compilation and publication of quality indicators for medical practices (outpatient medical settings). The EQUAM Foundation has developed a set of medical quality indicators for medical practices, but they are currently only used by a very small number of practices.

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) publishes a report every two years on healthcare quality indicators, in which Switzerland is also represented.

The task of developing quality indicators is now part of the FQC’s remit. They will continue to be published via the FOPH.

7 Health-at-a-Glance 2017: OECD Indicators; OECD 2017

Healthcare providers

Healthcare providers must comply with the quality agreements. Compliance with the rules on quality development will also be a condition attached to coverage of the care they provide under compulsory health insurance.

Learning and reporting systems in hospitals

In his answer of 26 May 2019 to the motion 18.4210 Humbel «Protecting learning systems in hospitals in order to avoid errors» the Federal Council referred to a legal opinion. The legal opinion «Berichtsysteme in Spitälern – Rechtsfragen rund um den Schutz von Berichts- und Lernsystemen in Spitälern vor gerichtlichem Zugriff» written by Prof. Th. Gächter and Prof. K. N. Vokinger from the University of Zurich is now available. The FOPH will further examine the matter based on the conclusions drawn in this legal opinion. The legal opinion is only available in German.

Further information

Eidgenössische Qualitätskommission (EQK)

Die EQK ist eine unabhängige ausserparlamentarische Expertenkommission. Sie unterstützt den Bundesrat bei der Qualitätsentwicklung in der medizinischen Leistungserbringung im Rahmen des Bundesgesetzes über die Krankenversicherung.

Last modification 12.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Tariffs and Principles Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 37 23
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-qualitaetssicherung.html

Développement de la qualité en Suisse

L’objectif de la Confédération est d’améliorer la qualité des prestations de manière systématique et structurée. La Commission fédérale pour la qualité (CFQ) contribue dans une large mesure à la réalisation de cet objectif.

Bases légales

Le 21 juin 2019, les Chambres fédérales ont adopté la modification de la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal) afin de renforcer la qualité et l’économicité.

Avec l’entrée en vigueur au 1er avril 2021 de la modification de la LAMal, le Conseil fédéral est chargé de fixer tous les quatre ans les objectifs en matière de garantie et d’encouragement de la qualité des prestations (développement de la qualité) (art. 58 LAMal). De ce fait et parce qu’il est également chargé du contrôle de la réalisation des objectifs, le Conseil fédéral assure la conduite du développement de la qualité.

La LAMal révisée prévoit de nouveaux instruments servant à déterminer et à mettre en œuvre les objectifs du Conseil fédéral. Tous les niveaux de cette mise en œuvre sont concernés :

  • Le Conseil fédéral agit en qualité d’organe stratégique. Il institue la Commission fédérale pour la qualité (art. 58b LAMal).
  • Les fédérations des fournisseurs de prestations et des assureurs concluent des conventions relatives au développement de la qualité qui seront valables pour l’ensemble du territoire suisse (conventions de qualité ; art. 58a LAMal).
  • Les fournisseurs de prestations sont tenus de respecter les conventions de qualité (art. 58a LAMal).
Le diagramme montre les relations entre les différents organes.

Cadre financier

  • L’Assemblée fédérale décide, sous la forme d’un crédit global pluriannuel, du montant maximal que la Commission fédérale pour la qualité peut octroyer sous forme d’indemnités au sens de l’art. 58d LAMal et d’aides financières au sens de l’art. 58e LAMal (art. 58g LAMal).
  • Le financement du fonctionnement et de l’accomplissement des tâches confiées à la Commission fédérale pour la qualité est assuré à raison d’un tiers par la Confédération, les cantons et les assureurs (art. 58f LAMal).
  • Une enveloppe globale de 45,2 millions de francs a été accordée pour la période 2021-2024.

Stratégie en matière de qualité du Conseil fédéral

Mesures à prendre

L’OCDE et l’OMS soulignent, dans leur rapport de 20111 , que les indications sur les résultats des traitements et sur la morbidité en relation avec les soins de santé devraient être plus nombreuses pour permettre aux décideurs politiques de Suisse d’identifier avec précision les plus grands risques en matière de santé et les groupes de population les plus exposés à ces risques. En outre, les consommateurs disposent souvent d’étonnamment peu d’informations sur la qualité des fournisseurs de prestations pour les aider à faire le bon choix.

Plusieurs études internationales montrent qu’en moyenne, une personne sur dix est victime d’un événement indésirable (adverse event) durant son séjour à l’hôpital, un chiffre qui inclut uniquement les incidents documentés dans les dossiers des patients. D’après ces études, près de la moitié de ces événements pourraient être évités. En extrapolant à la Suisse les résultats publiés par l’Institute of Medicine2 , on estime qu’entre 2000 et 3000 personnes décèdent chaque année en raison de ce type d’incident. Cependant, la Suisse n’a pas encore réalisé d’étude nationale sur ces événements indésirables.

Le rapport de l’OCDE « System governance towards improved patient safety » du 17 septembre 2020 présente une étude comparative de la gouvernance pour améliorer la sécurité des patients dans les systèmes de santé des pays de l’OCDE et des moyens mis en œuvre. Les conclusions principales sont les suivantes :

  • Améliorer la sécurité des patients impose une approche systémique.
  • Le leadership et la culture ne peuvent être surévalués.
  • La gouvernance est déterminante dans la réalisation des objectifs de sécurité.

Le rapport national sur la qualité et la sécurité des patients, publié en 2019 par Charles Vincent et Anthony Staines, représente la situation actuelle de ces deux volets dans le système sanitaire suisse tout en recensant les mesures nécessaires.

Selon une étude de Halfon, Staines et Burnand3 fondée sur l’analyse d’un millier de dossiers médicaux dans un hôpital suisse, 12 % des patients ont connu un ou plusieurs événements indésirables, dont environ la moitié aurait été évitable.

Une mesure effectuée dans 96 hôpitaux de Suisse par le groupe d’experts Swissnoso4 montre que 6 % des patients ont contracté une infection à l’hôpital.
Ces questions et ces résultats sont pris en compte dans la version actualisée de la stratégie en matière de qualité.

1 Deuxième rapport de l’OCDE et de l’OMS sur le système de santé suisse, 2011.
2 Kohn/Corrigan/Donaldson, To err is human: building a safer health system, Institute of Medicine, 2000
Halfon/Staines/Burnand, Adverse events related to hospital care: a retrospective medical records review in a Swiss hospital, in International Journal for Quality in Health Care, 2017, 1-7
Point Prevalence Survey 2017 of healthcare-associated infections and antimicrobial use in Swiss acute care hospitals; Swissnoso, 2018 (www.swissnoso.ch)

Stratégie en matière de qualité : des objectifs annuels et quadriennaux

Avec cette stratégie, les objectifs de la Confédération seront les suivants : les prestations médicales doivent être sûres, efficaces et centrées sur le patient ; elles doivent intervenir à temps et être efficientes ; enfin, tous les patients doivent avoir les mêmes chances d’accéder aux soins. Ces objectifs servent de référence pour mesurer les indicateurs de qualité. La Confédération vise une amélioration systématique et structurée de la qualité des prestations et de la sécurité des patients. C’est en effet ce qui permet d’éviter les événements indésirables (adverse events). Il s’agit d’adopter une culture permettant de parler ouvertement des erreurs (culture de la sécurité). Il ne sera possible de tirer des enseignements de celles-ci, comme c’est déjà le cas dans d’autres branches à hauts risques (p. ex., l’aviation), que lorsqu’elles ne seront plus un sujet tabou. Dans une organisation où règne une culture de la sécurité, chaque incident permet d’améliorer le système ; c’est pourquoi les erreurs doivent être communiquées de façon transparente et systématiquement enregistrées.
Pour y parvenir, une stratégie en matière de qualité est en cours d’élaboration. Les objectifs quadriennaux et les objectifs annuels de la CFQ en découlent.

  • Stratégie en matière de qualité
    Une nouvelle stratégie en matière de qualité est en préparation. C’est sur cette base que seront ensuite définis les objectifs quadriennaux du Conseil fédéral et les objectifs annuels de la CFQ. Cette nouvelle stratégie développe et actualise la Stratégie en matière de qualité5 , adoptée en 2009 par le Conseil fédéral, ainsi que sa mise en œuvre dans le rapport du 25 mai 20116.
  • Objectifs quadriennaux
    Tous les quatre ans, le Conseil fédéral fixe les objectifs en matière d’encouragement de la qualité dans le cadre de l’assurance obligatoire des soins (art. 58 LAMal).
  • Objectifs annuels de la CFQ
    Chaque année, le Conseil fédéral statue sur les objectifs que la Commission fédérale pour la qualité lui soumet et sur la manière de contrôler leur réalisation (art. 58c LAMal).

5 La stratégie en matière de qualité de la Confédération peut être consultée ici : www.bag.admin.ch > Assurances > Assurance-maladie > Développement de la qualité.
6 Le rapport sur la concrétisation de la stratégie qualité de la Confédération peut être consulté ici : www.bag.admin.ch > Assurances > Assurance-maladie > Développement de la qualité.

Commission fédérale pour la qualité (CFQ)

La CFQ est une commission d’experts extraparlementaire. Elle apporte son concours au Conseil fédéral pour promouvoir la qualité des prestations médicales dans le cadre de la LAMal. Les fournisseurs de prestations, les cantons, les assureurs, les assurés, les organisations de patients et les milieux scientifiques y sont représentés.

Elle a notamment pour tâches de conseiller les acteurs du système sur la coordination et des recommandations visant à développer la qualité. Aux fins de la réalisation des objectifs du Conseil fédéral, la CFQ charge des tiers de réaliser des programmes nationaux de développement de la qualité. Elle peut également soutenir des projets nationaux ou régionaux de développement de la qualité.
Des indications détaillées concernant sa composition et ses tâches figurent ici.

Conventions de qualité

Les conventions de qualités sont des contrats de droit public ayant pour objet et pour finalité la définition de mesures uniformes et contraignantes pour améliorer la qualité

Elles règlent les points suivants :

  • la mesure de la qualité et les mesures à prendre pour développer la qualité
  • la collaboration entre les partenaires conventionnels pour la définition de mesures d’amélioration
  • le contrôle du respect des mesures d’amélioration
  • la publication de la mesure de la qualité et des mesures d’amélioration
  • les sanctions en cas de violation de la convention
  • l’élaboration d’un rapport annuel à l’intention de la Commission fédérale pour la qualité et du Conseil fédéral faisant état du développement de la qualité

Le Conseil fédéral approuve les conventions de qualité. Si les fédérations des fournisseurs de prestations et des assureurs ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur une convention de qualité, le Conseil fédéral fixe les règles.

Indicateurs de qualité

Les indicateurs de qualité publiés par l’OFSP pour les hôpitaux de soins aigus (CH-IQI) comprennent le nombre de cas (p. ex., nombre de pontages coronariens réalisés ou d’infarctus du myocarde traités) et la mortalité (p. ex., nombre de décès suite à un pontage coronarien). Ils sont présentés tous les ans pour chaque établissement. Sur le site de l’OFSP, il est possible de comparer les résultats pour plusieurs diagnostics/interventions et hôpitaux (jusqu’à cinq). La comparaison du nombre de cas pour une intervention ou une pathologie spécifique permet de voir quel hôpital possède le plus d’expérience dans ce domaine.

L’Association nationale pour le développement de la qualité dans les hôpitaux et les cliniques (ANQ) recense elle aussi des indicateurs de qualité concernant les hôpitaux de soins somatiques aigus ainsi que les cliniques de psychiatrie et de réadaptation. Ceux-ci figurent sur son site (page d’accueil).

Des indicateurs de qualité sont en cours d’élaboration avec les associations représentant les organisations d’aide et de soins à domicile et les établissements médico-sociaux. Il est prévu que, une fois la phase pilote terminée, ces données soient régulièrement recueillies par l’Office fédéral de la statistique et publiées par l’OFSP.

L’une des priorités de ce dernier est de collecter et de publier des indicateurs de qualité pour les cabinets médicaux (médecine ambulatoire). La fondation EQUAM a mis au point de tels indicateurs, mais ils sont encore très peu utilisés.

L’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) publie tous les deux ans un rapport présentant des indicateurs sur la sécurité des patients et la qualité, qui fait également état de la situation en Suisse7 .

Le développement d’indicateurs de qualité incombe désormais à la CFQ, mais l’OFSP continue de les publier.

7

Rôle des fournisseurs de prestations

Les fournisseurs de prestations doivent respecter les règles fixées dans les conventions de qualité pour pouvoir pratiquer à la charge de l’assurance obligatoire des soins.

Communiqués

Javascript est requis pour afficher les communiqués de presse. Si vous ne pouvez ou ne souhaitez pas activer Javascript, veuillez utiliser le lien ci-dessous pour accéder au portail d’information de l’administration fédérale.

Vers le portail d’information de l’administration fédérale

Informations complémentaires

Commission fédérale pour la qualité (CFQ)

La CFQ est une commission d'experts extra-parlementaire indépendante. Elle soutient le Conseil fédéral dans le développement de la qualité des prestations médicales dans le cadre de la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie.

Dernière modification 24.02.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Tarifs et bases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-qualitaetssicherung.html