Care services

The health insurers pay a fixed contribution towards care services. Insured persons also have to cover a certain but limited amount. The remaining costs are covered by the cantons and/or municipalities

Care services under Health Insurance Act (KVG)

In which circumstances does compulsory health insurance contribute to the cost of care services?

Certain requirements must be met in order for compulsory health insurance to contribute to the cost of care services:

  • The care must be in accordance with Article 7 of the Health Insurance Services Ordinance (KLV);
  • The care must have been prescribed/ordered by a doctor;
  • The patient’s care needs must have been determined;
  • The care services must be delivered by approved healthcare providers.

Compulsory health insurance also covers acute and transitional care for a maximum of two weeks if it is necessary after a hospital stay and was prescribed/ordered by a doctor at the hospital (cf. Art. 25a para. 2 KVG).

Care services prescribed/ordered by a doctor, determining care needs

Care services (including acute and transitional care) are ordered or prescribed by a doctor. The doctor may deem certain care services essential (Art. 8 KLV). A nurse works together with the patient or their relatives (Art. 8a KLV) to accurately assess the patient’s needs. The needs assessment in care homes is based on an instrument which has to meet the requirements under Art. 8b KLV (KLV amendment of 2 July 2019 - category funding of care).

Who can deliver the care services?

Registered nurses, organisations for assistance and care at home and care homes can provide care services – ordered or prescribed by a doctor.
Service providers must meet certain requirements to be able to bill the services to the compulsory health insurer directly:

  • In order to be self-employed, nurses must hold a recognised qualification and have two years’ experience working with a registered nurse, at an organisation for assistance and care at home, or an approved care home (Art. 46 and 49 KVV);
  • Organisations for assistance and care at home must in particular meet cantonal requirements and have the necessary qualified staff (cf. Art. 51 KVV);
  • Care homes must be listed on a national care home register (cf. Art. 39 KVG).

Where are the care services provided?

The care services can be provided at home, in day and night care facilities or in a care home.

Which costs do insured persons have to cover themselves?

Insured persons usually have to contribute to the costs of care services. Their contribution is limited to 20% of the highest contribution of the compulsory health insurer (cf. Art. 25a para. 5 KVG). In addition to contributing to the cost of care services, patients must also pay the standard cost sharing.
Any other services associated with the need for care usually have to be covered by insured persons themselves. These include in particular:

  • Support
  • Home help services
  • Board and accommodation in a care home

Insured persons who are unable to cover these costs may in some circumstances be eligible for supplementary benefits and/or a helplessness allowance.

How are care services funded?

In accordance with Article 7 KLV, care services are funded by three parties (cf. Art. 25a para. 1 and para. 5 KVG) :

  • The compulsory health insurer pays a fixed contribution towards care services;
  • Generally, the insured person also has to contribute to the cost of care services. However, their contribution is limited to a maximum of 20% of the highest contribution of the compulsory health insurer towards care services (in addition to a contribution to the cost of care services, insured persons also have to pay the standard cost sharing);
  • The remaining costs are regulated by the cantons and are covered by the cantons and/or municipalities.

The costs of acute and transitional care are covered proportionately by the compulsory health insurance and the cantons (compulsory health insurance: up to a maximum of 45%; cantons: minimum 55%; cf. Art. 7b KLV).

The costs of care provided at home and care provided in a care home are reimbursed differently, in other words the type and level of contributions vary:

Funding of care services provided at home

The compulsory health insurance pays the following contributions to care services (cf. Art. 7a KLV):
a. For assessment, advice and coordination: CHF 76.90 per hour;
b. For treatment: CHF 63 per hour;
c. For basic care: CHF 52.60 per hour.

Insured persons have to contribute up to a maximum of CHF 15.35 per day to the costs of care. The majority of cantons stipulate a lower personal contribution to the cost of care at home. Patients must contribute to the cost of care services in addition to the standard cost sharing.
If the costs of care are not fully covered by the contribution from the compulsory health insurance and the contribution from the insured person, the remaining costs are covered by the cantons and/or municipalities.  

Funding of care services provided in care homes

If a care home resident needs care for up to 20 minutes a day, the compulsory health insurance pays CHF 9.60 per day towards care services. The contributions increase proportionally to CHF 19.20 per day if the patient needs between 21 and 40 minutes of care, to CHF 28.80 per day if the patient needs 41 to 60 minutes of care, and so on up to a contribution of CHF 115.20 per day if the care home resident requires more than 220 minutes of care per day (cf. Art. 7a KLV).
The insured person must contribute up to CHF 23 per day to the costs of care. Some cantons stipulate a lower personal contribution towards the cost of care provided in care homes. Patients must contribute to the cost of care services in addition to the standard cost sharing.
If the costs of the care services are not fully covered by the contribution from the compulsory health insurance and the contribution from the insured person, the remaining costs are covered by the cantons and/or municipalities.

Further information

Revision projects adopted

Revisions and amendments have been completed related to medicinal products, oversight, curbing costs, funding nursing care, premiums, the risk equalisation scheme, contributions to the costs of hospital stays, hospital funding, insurance cards, registration and approval. We are expanding the compilation on an ongoing basis.

Last modification 08.01.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Tariffs and Principles Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/pflegeleistungen.html

Prestations de soins

Les assureurs-maladie fournissent une contribution fixe aux prestations de soins fournies à la maison ou dans un EMS. Les assurés doivent également participer dans une mesure limitée. Le financement résiduel est la tâche des cantons et/ou des communes. 

Prestations de soins LAMal

Sous quelles conditions l’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS) participe-t-elle aux prestations de soins ?

Afin que l’AOS apporte une contribution aux prestations de soins, certaines conditions doivent être remplies :

  • il s’agit de prestations de soins en vertu de l’art. 7 de l’ordonnance sur les prestations de l’assurance des soins (OPAS) ;
  • un médecin a attesté que le patient a un besoin en prestations de soins ;
  • le besoin en soins a été établi par une infirmière ou un infirmier ;
  • les prestations de soins sont fournies par des fournisseurs de soins autorisés.

L'AOS rémunère en outre, durant deux semaines au plus, les soins aigus et de transition qui se révèlent nécessaires à la suite d’un séjour hospitalier et sont prescrits par un médecin de l’hôpital (cf. art. 25a, al. 2, LAMal).

Mandat médical, prescription médicale, évaluation des soins requis

Si un patient a besoin de prestations de soins (y c. les soins aigus et de transition), ce besoin doit être prescrit par un médecin. Le médecin peut déclarer certaines prestations de soins comme nécessaires (art. 8 OPAS). ).Le besoin exact en prestations de soins est évalué par une infirmière ou un infirmier, en collaboration avec le patient ou ses proches (art. 8a OPAS).L’évaluation des soins requis dans les établissements médicaux-sociaux se fonde sur un instrument de saisie des besoins en soins conforme aux exigences de l’art. 8b OPAS (modification de l’OPAS du 2 juillet 2019 - rubrique prestations de soins).

Qui peut fournir des prestations de soins ?

Des infirmiers autorisés, des organisations de soins et d’aide à domicile ainsi que des établissements médico-sociaux peuvent fournir des prestations de soins, sur prescription médicale ou sur mandat médical.
Les fournisseurs de prestations doivent remplir certaines conditions afin de pouvoir les facturer à la charge de l’AOS :

  • afin d’exercer en indépendant, les infirmiers doivent disposer d’un diplôme reconnu et avoir exercé deux ans auprès d’un infirmier admis en vertu de l’OAMal, dans une organisation de soins et d’aide à domicile ou dans un établissement médico-social admis (art. 46 et 49 OAMal) ;
  • les organisations de soins et d’aide à domicile doivent notamment remplir les prescriptions cantonales et disposer du personnel spécialisé nécessaire (cf. art. 51 OAMal) ;
  • les établissements médico-sociaux doivent être mentionnés sur une liste cantonale des établissements médico-sociaux (cf. art. 39 LAMal).

Où les prestations de soins sont-elles fournies ?

Les prestations de soins peuvent être fournies à la maison, dans des structures de jour ou de nuit ou dans des établissements médico-sociaux.

Quels coûts les assurés doivent-ils assumer eux-mêmes ?

En règle générale, les assurés doivent participer aux coûts des prestations de soins. Leur participation est limitée à hauteur de 20 % au plus de la contribution maximale de l’AOS(cf. art. 25a, al. 5, LAMal). La participation aux prestations de soins doit être fournie en plus de la participation aux coûts ordinaire.
Les assurés doivent en principe assumer eux-mêmes les autres prestations qui peuvent être associées aux besoins en soins, notamment :

  • les prestations d’assistance
  • les prestations d’aide au ménage
  • les frais de pension en EMS

Les assurés ont droit, dans certaines circonstances, aux prestations complémentaires et/ou à une allocation pour impotent.

Comment les prestations de soins sont-elles financées ?

Trois parties financent les prestations de soins en vertu de l’art. 7 OPAS (cf. art. 25a, al. 1 et al. 5 LAMal) :

  • l’AOS apporte une contribution fixe aux prestations de soins ;
  • en règle générale, les assurés doivent également participer aux coûts des prestations de soins. Leur participation est toutefois limitée à hauteur de 20 % au plus de la contribution maximale de l’AOS aux prestations de soins (la participation aux prestations de soins doit être fournie en plus de la participation aux coûts ordinaire) ;
  • le financement résiduel est réglementé par les cantons et incombe aux cantons et/ou aux communes.

Les coûts des prestations de soins aigus et de transition sont pris en charge par l’AOS et les cantons, selon leur part respective (AOS : maximum 45 % ; cantons : au moins 55 % ; cf. art. 7b OPAS).

Les prestations de soins à domicile et dans un EMS sont remboursées différemment, c’est-à-dire que le type et le montant des contributions diffèrent :

Financement des prestations de soins à domicile

L’AOS fournit les contributions suivantes aux prestations de soins (cf. art. 7a OPAS) :
a. pour l’évaluation, les conseils et la coordination : 76,90 francs par heure ;
b. pour les examens et les traitements : 63 francs par heure ;
c. pour les soins de base : 52,60 francs par heure.

Les assurés doivent participer aux frais des prestations de soins à hauteur de maximum 15,35 francs par jour. Une majorité des cantons prévoit une participation inférieure pour les soins à domicile. La participation aux prestations de soins doit être fournie en plus de la participation aux coûts ordinaire.
Si les coûts des prestations de soins ne sont pas intégralement couverts par la contribution de l’AOS et la participation des assurés, le financement résiduel incombe alors aux cantons et/ou aux communes.

Financement des prestations de soins dans un EMS

Si un résident en EMS a besoin de soins d’une durée allant jusqu’à 20 minutes par jour, l’assurance obligatoire des soins rembourse alors 9,60 francs. Les contributions augmentent de manière linéaire à 19,20 francs par jour pour un besoin en soins de 21 à 40 minutes, à 28,80 francs pour un besoin en soins de 41 à 60 minutes, etc. jusqu’à une contribution de 115,20 francs pour un besoin en soins de plus de 220 minutes (cf. art. 7a OPAS).
Les assurés doivent participer aux frais des prestations de soins à hauteur de maximum 23 francs par jour. Certains cantons prévoient une participation inférieure pour les soins en EMS. La participation aux prestations de soins doit être fournie en plus de la participation aux coûts ordinaire.
Si les coûts des prestations de soins ne sont pas intégralement couverts par la contribution de l’AOS et la participation des assurés, le financement résiduel incombe alors aux cantons et/ou aux communes.

Faits & chiffres des établissements médicaux-sociaux (EMS)

Faits & chiffres des établissements médicaux-sociaux (EMS)

Recherchez les chiffres-clés relatifs aux EMS en Suisse par district ou par nom en consultant les pages sous cette rubrique.

Informations complémentaires

Assurance maladie et accidents

Vous trouvez ici les rapports d’évaluations sur le thème de l'assurance maladie et accidents.

Prestations non médicales

Quelles prestations non médicales l’assurance obligatoire des soins prend-elle en charge ?

Assurance-maladie : Projets adoptés

Les révisions et les modifications récentes concernent : les médicaments, la surveillance, la maîtrise des coûts, le financement des soins, les primes, la compensation des risques, le séjour et le financement hospitalier, la carte d’assuré, les autorisations. D’autres textes sont constamment révisés.

Dernière modification 24.06.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Tarifs et bases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 37 23
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/pflegeleistungen.html