SwissDRG tariff system

Since 1 January 2012, inpatient care provided by acute hospitals and birth centres has been paid for on the basis of diagnosis related grouping.

Amendments to the Swiss Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal) related to hospital funding that entered into force on 1 January 2009 created a legal framework for standardised payments for inpatient care provided by hospitals and birth centres on the basis of diagnosis related grouping (DRG).

Under the DRG system, each hospital case is allocated to so-called diagnosis related groups (for example appendectomies) on the basis of specific criteria, including the primary and secondary diagnoses. The flat amount paid for each DRG is calculated by multiplying a base rate by a cost weight.

The DRGs and cost weights are defined on a standardised basis across Switzerland, and together constitute the tariff structure for the funding system. Formulating the nationwide tariff structure and reviewing it on an annual basis is one of the main tasks of SwissDRG AG, an organisation run jointly by care providers, insurers and the cantons. The tariff structure has to be submitted to the Federal Council for approval.

Since 1 January 2012, acute inpatient care has been funded according to a uniform nationwide system (the SwissDRG or Swiss Diagnosis Related Groups sys-tem) of percase flat fees paid on the basis of diagnosis related grouping (DRG).

Diagnosis related groups

In a DRG (diagnosis related group) system, hospital cases (for example treatment to correct cleft lip and cleft palate) are brought together on the basis of medical and economic criteria to create groups (DRGs) that are as homogeneous as possible. Each hospital case is allotted to a specific DRG on the basis of medical (diagnosis, treatment, etc.) and other criteria (patient’s age, etc.). These DRGs are the same all over Switzerland.

Cost weight

The cost weight for a specific DRG reflects the average cost of treatment relative to the other DRGs covered by the tariff structure. Cost weights are calculated using case data from selected hospitals.

Base rate

The base rate is a type of average amount for inpatient treatments at a specific hospital. Base rates, which can vary depending on the facility.

Base rates are agreed by the tariff partners (insurers and care providers) and approved by the canton responsible. If the tariff partners are unable to agree a base rate it is set by the canton.

Other remuneration systems with service-related flat rates

Standardised tariff structures for the remuneration of inpatient services in Switzerland must also apply to the other two areas with inpatient hospital treatment: In the area of psychiatry, the TARPSY tariff structure was introduced on 1 January 2018, while in the area of rehabilitation, the ST Reha tariff structure is currently being developed by SwissDRG AG. In the future, inpatient hospital services will thus be remunerated in all three inpatient areas (acute care, rehabilitation and psychiatry) based on tariff structures that are standardised throughout Switzerland.

Additionally, the remuneration of specific services relating to the transplantation of solid organs and haematopoietic stem cells, which cannot be or have not yet been regulated through the standardised SwissDRG tariff system, is the object of two tariff agreements between the Swiss association for joint responsibilities of health insurers (SVK) and H+ The Hospitals of Switzerland (H+).

Evaluation of Health Insurance Act (HIA) revision on hospital financing

The impact of the HIA revision on hospital financing was studied as part of an evaluation. All of the reports connected with the evaluation can be found on the evaluation website.

Last modification 22.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Tariffs and Principles Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Spitalbehandlung/Tarifsystem-SwissDRG.html

Système tarifaire SwissDRG

Depuis le 1er janvier 2012, les prestations hospitalières stationnaires fournies en médecine somatique aiguë et dans les maisons de naissance sont indemnisées au moyen de forfaits liés aux prestations.

Dans le cadre de la révision de la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal) dans le domaine du financement hospitalier, entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2009, les bases légales ont été définies de manière à uniformiser au niveau national le remboursement des prestations stationnaires des hôpitaux et des maisons de naissance au moyen de forfaits liés aux prestations.

Dans ce système, chaque séjour hospitalier est attribué à un groupe de cas de traitement en fonction de différents critères tels que le diagnostic principal, les diagnostics supplémentaires et d’autres facteurs. C’est ce que l’on appelle les groupes de cas (p. ex., appendicectomies). Pour déterminer le montant remboursé (forfaits liés aux prestations) par « group de cas », il faut multiplier les « coûts relatifs » par le « prix de base ».

La définition des groupes de cas et le montant des coûts relatifs sont les mêmes dans toute la Suisse et constituent la structure tarifaire du système de rémunération. L’élaboration et le développement annuel de la structure tarifaire, uniforme dans toute la Suisse, constitue l’une des tâches principales de SwissDRG SA, une institution commune des prestataires, des assureurs et des cantons. La structure tarifaire doit être soumise au Conseil fédéral pour approbation.

En ce qui concerne le remboursement des prestations hospitalières en soins somatiques aigus, le système tarifaire SwissDRG (Swiss Diagnosis Related Groups) est applicable depuis le 1er janvier 2012 à l’échelon national. Il repose sur un système de forfaits par cas.

Groupe de cas

Dans un système DRG, les traitements sont classés par groupes de cas (p. ex., correction d’une fente labio-palatine chez les enfants en bas-âge). Ceux-ci sont formés de la manière la plus homogène possible, suivant des critères médicaux et économiques. Chaque séjour hospitalier est classé dans un groupe de cas (DRG) en fonction de critères médicaux (diagnostic, traitement, etc.) ou autre (âge du patient, etc.). Ces groupes sont identiques dans toute la Suisse.

Coûts relatifs

Les coûts relatifs (cost weight) d’un groupe de cas reflètent les coûts moyens d’un traitement par rapport aux autres groupes de cas figurant dans la structure tarifaire. Les coûts relatifs sont calculés sur la base des coûts par cas d’un échantillon d’hôpitaux.

Prix de base

Le prix de base (baserate) correspond à une sorte de valeur moyenne pour les traitements stationnaires dispensés dans un hôpital déterminé. Les prix de base peuvent varier d’un hôpital à l’autre.

Le prix de base est décidé par les partenaires tarifaires (assureurs et prestataires) et approuvé par le canton concerné. Si les partenaires tarifaires ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur un prix de base, il revient au canton de le fixer.

Autres systèmes de rémunération avec des forfaits liés aux prestations

Des structures tarifaires uniformes à l’ensemble de la Suisse seront également appliquées pour le remboursement des prestations dans les deux autres domaines hospitaliers : dans le domaine de la psychiatrie, la structure tarifaire TARPSY sera valable dès le 1er janvier 2018 ; dans le domaine de la réadaptation, SwissDRG SA élabore actuellement la structure tarifaire ST Reha. À l’avenir, les prestations dans tous les domaines hospitaliers stationnaires (soins somatiques aigus, réadaptation et psychiatrie) seront ainsi remboursées par des tarifs se fondant sur des structures tarifaires uniformes à l’ensemble de la Suisse.

Évaluation de la révision de la LAMal, financement hospitalier

Les effets de la révision de la LAMal dans le domaine du financement hospitalier ont été examinés dans le cadre d’une évaluation. L’ensemble des rapports sont disponibles sur la page internet de l’évaluation.

Dernière modification 10.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Tarifs et bases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Spitalbehandlung/Tarifsystem-SwissDRG.html