Hospital treatment

People with health insurance basically have a free choice of hospital for inpatient hospital treatment. The cantons and health insurers cover the costs of hospital treatment. Insureds have to pay a share of the costs of hospital treatment themselves.

The following information also applies analogously to birth centres.

What hospital can I go to for treatment?

Choice of hospitals 

The cantons are obliged to do hospital planning to cover their residents' inpatient treatment requirements. On the basis of this planning, the cantons draw up lists of hospitals necessary to assure the scheduled provision of treatment. A canton's list of hospitals can contain hospitals both in the canton itself and in other cantons.

Insureds have a free choice of the following hospitals:

  • Hospitals on the list of the canton in which the insured person lives (listed hospital in canton of residence)
  • Hospitals on the list of another canton (listed hospital in another canton)
  • Hospitals that are not on any cantonal list but have a contract for the reimbursement of mandatory basic health insurance benefits (contractual hospital).

Information on individual hospitals

The FOPH provides information on Swiss hospitals (primarily key figures and quality indicators) to help patients choose their hospital.

What will I pay for hospital treatment?

Cost share paid by the insured person

People with health insurance must pay a share of the costs of the care and services they receive. In the case of inpatient hospital treatment, this cost share comprises the insured person's chosen deductible, the general copayment, and a contribution for each day they are in hospital. The insured person will be billed the corresponding cost share by their health insurer.

The insured's health insurer and canton of residence each pay a fixed percentage of the costs of inpatient hospital treatment (including hospital accommodation and nursing care). The canton of residence pays a minimum of 55 per cent, and the health insurer a maximum of 45 per cent. The hospital usually issues two bills for the inpatient treatment provided: one to the canton (for at least 55 per cent of the total amount), and one to the health insurer (for up to 45 per cent of the total). The insured person receives a copy of the bill sent to and paid by the health insurer (under the so-called third-party payer or tiers payant system).

Additional costs paid by the insured person

Depending on the treatment and chosen hospital, insureds may have to pay additional costs themselves or have them paid by their supplementary insurance.

No additional costs are paid in the following cases:

  • The insured has treatment in an appropriate hospital on the list of their canton of residence.
  • The insured has treatment at a hospital that is not on their home canton's list on medical grounds because there are no hospitals on their home canton's list able to provide the required care. However, in such cases a commitment to provide cover must be sought in advance.
  • The insured has treatment in an emergency at a hospital not on their home canton's list.

Additional costs are most likely to be incurred if the insured chooses a listed hospital that is not on their home canton's list or a contractual hospital, and if neither of the medical grounds described applies (i.e. it is not an emergency or a situation where the treatment cannot be provided by any listed hospital in the home canton).

If the insured chooses a listed hospital in another canton, the rule is that their health insurer and canton of residence share the costs of inpatient treatment up to an amount not exceeding the tariff applicable to a listed hospital in the home canton. If the tariff of the chosen listed hospital in another canton is higher than the tariff for a listed hospital in the canton of residence (c.f. the reference tariffs for hospitalisation outside the canton of residence), the insured must pay the difference themselves or have it paid by their supplementary insurance.

The canton does not pay a share of the costs if the insured chooses a contractual hospital. In this case the health insurer covers up to 45 per cent of the costs of hospital treatment. The remainder must be covered by the insured person or their supplementary insurance.

Last modification 11.03.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Tariffs and Principles Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Spitalbehandlung.html

Traitements hospitaliers

En cas de traitement hospitalier stationnaire, l’assuré a en principe le libre choix de l’hôpital. Le canton et l’assureur-maladie prennent en charge la rémunération du traitement hospitalier. L’assuré participe aux frais du traitement.

Les indications suivantes s’appliquent par analogie aux maisons de naissance.

Dans quel hôpital puis-je être traité ?

Choix de l’hôpital

Pour couvrir les besoins en traitements hospitaliers stationnaires de leur population résidante, les cantons ont l’obligation de procéder à une planification hospitalière. Sur cette base, ils établissent une liste d’hôpitaux qui contient les institutions nécessaires (hôpitaux répertoriés) pour assurer l’offre planifiée. Un canton peut faire figurer sur sa liste à la fois des hôpitaux situés sur son territoire et des hôpitaux d’autres cantons.

L’assuré peut choisir librement parmi les hôpitaux suivants :

  • Hôpitaux figurant sur la liste des hôpitaux de son canton de résidence (hôpitaux répertoriés du canton de résidence) ;
  • Hôpitaux figurant sur la liste des hôpitaux d’un autre canton (hôpitaux répertoriés d’un autre canton) ;
  • Hôpitaux non répertoriés dans la liste des hôpitaux d’un canton, mais qui ont conclu avec l'assureur-maladie une convention sur la rémunération des prestations fournies au titre de l’assurance obligatoire des soins (hôpitaux conventionnés).

Informations relatives aux hôpitaux

L’OFSP publie des informations sur les hôpitaux afin d’aider les patients à choisir leur hôpital. Ces informations se présentent surtout sous la forme d’indicateurs de qualité et de chiffres-clés.

Combien me coûte mon traitement hospitalier ?

Participation aux coûts

L’assuré participe aux coûts des prestations dont il bénéficie. En cas de traitement hospitalier stationnaire, la participation aux coûts comprend la franchise choisie par l’assuré, la quote-part et une contribution par jour aux frais de séjour hospitalier. L’assuré reçoit le décompte corres-pondant de la part de l’assureur-maladie.

La rémunération d’un traitement hospitalier stationnaire (séjour et soins compris) est prise en charge par l’assureur-maladie et le canton de résidence de l’assuré selon une clé de financement fixe. La part du canton de résidence à la rémunération s’élève à 55 % au moins ; la part de l’assureur-maladie se monte à 45 % au maximum. L’hôpital établit en règle générale deux factures pour les prestations stationnaires fournies : une facture adressée au canton (au moins 55 % du montant total) et une facture adressée à l’assureur-maladie (au maximum 45 % du montant total). L’assuré reçoit une copie de la facture adressée à l’assureur-maladie et payée par ce dernier (système du tiers payant).

Frais supplémentaires à la charge de l’assuré

En fonction de la situation (choix de l’hôpital et traitement suivi), l’assuré ou son assurance complémentaire peuvent être amenés à prendre en charge des frais supplémentaires.

Les situations suivantes n’engendrent aucun frais supplémentaire :

  • L’assuré est traité dans un hôpital répertorié de son canton de résidence apte à traiter sa maladie ;
  • Pour des raisons médicales, l’assuré est traité dans un hôpital qui ne figure pas sur la liste de son canton de résidence car aucun hôpital répertorié de son canton de résidence ne peut fournir les prestations nécessaires. Le canton de résidence doit néanmoins fournir au préalable une garantie de prise en charge des coûts ;
  • En raison d’une urgence, l’assuré est traité dans un hôpital qui ne figure pas sur la liste de son canton de résidence.

L’assuré doit s’attendre à des frais supplémentaires s’il choisit un hôpital répertorié ou un hôpital conventionné qui ne figure pas sur la liste des hôpitaux de son canton de résidence alors qu’aucune des raisons médicales mentionnées ci-dessus ne le justifie (cas d’urgence et cas où aucun hôpital répertorié du canton de résidence ne peut fournir les prestations nécessaires).

En cas de traitement stationnaire dans un hôpital répertorié ne figurant pas sur la liste du canton de résidence, l’assureur-maladie et le canton de résidence prennent en charge leur part respective de rémunération jusqu’à concurrence du tarif applicable pour ce traitement dans un hôpital répertorié du canton de résidence. Si le tarif appliqué par l’hôpital répertorié ne figurant pas sur la liste du canton de résidence est plus élevé que le tarif d’un hôpital répertorié du canton de résidence (se référer aux tarifs de référence pour les hospitalisations hors canton), la différence est à la charge de l’assuré ou de son assurance complémentaire.

Dans le cas des hôpitaux conventionnés, la part du canton tombe, et l’assureur-maladie rémunère au maximum 45 % du traitement hospitalier. Le reste de la rémunération est à la charge de l’assuré ou de son assurance-complémentaire.

Dernière modification 11.03.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Tarifs et bases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Spitalbehandlung.html