Treatment abroad for policyholders resident in Switzerland

In certain cases, persons resident and insured in Switzerland can be treated abroad. The conditions for reimbursement of the costs vary, depending on the type of service and the country in which it is provided.

Temporary stay in an EU/EFTA country

During a temporary stay in an EU/EFTA country, policyholders can be treated if they present their European Health Insurance Card (EHIC), which is to be found on the back of the Swiss health insurance card. In the event of illness, accident or maternity, policyholders are then entitled to receive all benefits in kind considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay. The list of reimbursable items is subject to the law of the country in which the treatment is carried out. Co-payment is subject to the regulations of the country concerned and is generally payable directly. Co-payment in Switzerland is then not applicable. Nor is co-payment in an EU/EFTA country taken into account for the Swiss deductible or retention fee.
If policyholders do not have their EHIC with them, their health insurer may issue a temporary certificate.
For more information, see “Temporary stay in an EU/EFTA country” (available in French/German/Italian) on the website of the Common Institution under the KVG (Swiss liaison body).

Temporary stay in a non-EU/EFTA country

During a temporary stay in a country outside the EU/EFTA, the costs of emergency treatment for illness or accident (in cases where a return to Switzerland is not possible for medical reasons) will be reimbursed up to a maximum of twice the amount that would be paid if the treatment were provided in Switzerland. In the case of inpatient treatment, this means that the insurer will reimburse no more than 90% of the costs that would have arisen for hospitalisation in Switzerland. This is because, in the case of hospital treatment in Switzerland, at least 55% of the costs are borne by the cantons, which is not the case for hospital stays abroad.
Other medical treatments abroad are not generally covered by compulsory health insurance.

Planned treatment abroad

In certain cases where a treatment is not available in Switzerland or waiting periods are too long, the costs may be reimbursed for these particular treatments abroad. In such cases, the policyholder’s attending physician must submit an application (explaining the reasons) to the health insurer’s independent medical adviser. In consultation with the latter, the insurer will decide whether the costs of the treatment abroad can be reimbursed (see the conditions specified in the information letter dated 8 April 2008 on medical treatment abroad; available in French/German).

Medicines purchased abroad

The costs of medicines purchased abroad will only be reimbursed if they are required by the policyholder because of illness during a temporary stay abroad.

Further information

Health insurance: Tourists abroad and globetrotters

Persons travelling abroad remain subject to insurance obligations in Switzerland.

Last modification 26.05.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Insurance Supervision Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Leistungen-im-Ausland/Behandlungen-im-Ausland-fuer-Versicherte-mit-Wohnsitz-in-der-Schweiz.html

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant en Suisse

Les personnes domiciliées et assurées en Suisse peuvent, dans certains cas, se faire soigner à l'étranger. Les conditions de prise en charge des coûts diffèrent en fonction du pays dans lequel le traitement est administré et du genre de traitement.

Séjour temporaire dans un Etat de l’UE/AELE

Lors d'un séjour temporaire dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE, l'assuré peut se faire soigner sur présentation de sa carte européenne d’assurance-maladie, qui se trouve au verso de sa carte d'assuré suisse. Il a ainsi le droit de bénéficier des prestations en nature en cas de maladie, d’accident ou de maternité qui s'avèrent médicalement nécessaires, compte tenu de la nature des soins et de la durée prévue du séjour. Le catalogue des prestations est régi par le droit du pays dans lequel le traitement est effectué. La participation aux coûts s’aligne sur les directives de ce pays et doit généralement être payée sur place. La participation aux coûts en Suisse n'est alors plus applicable. La participation payée à l’étranger n’est pas non plus imputée sur la franchise et la quote-part en Suisse.

Si l'assuré n'a pas emporté sa CEAM, il peut demander à sa caisse-maladie de lui fournir un certificat provisoire de remplacement de durée limitée.

Pour plus d’informations, voir le site de l’Institution commune LAMal «Séjour au sein de l'UE/AELE».

Séjour temporaire à l'étranger (dans un Etat hors UE/AELE)

Lors d'un séjour temporaire à l'étranger (hors UE/AELE), les traitements effectués d'urgence (maladie ou accident ne permettant pas, pour des raisons médicales, un retour en Suisse), sont pris en charge jusqu'à concurrence du double du montant qui aurait été payé si le traitement avait eu lieu en Suisse. En cas d’hospitalisation, cela signifie toutefois que l’assureur doit prendre en charge au maximum 90% de ce qu’aurait coûté cette hospitalisation si elle avait eu lieu en Suisse (car en cas d'hospitalisation en Suisse, les cantons prennent à leur charge au minimum 55% des coûts, ce qui n’est pas le cas lors d’une hospitalisation à l’étranger).
Les autres prestations médicales fournies à l'étranger ne sont en principe pas couvertes par l'assurance de base.

Soins planifiés à l'étranger

Dans certains cas particuliers, lorsqu'un traitement n'est pas disponible en Suisse ou que les délais d'attente sont trop longs, les coûts de ces traitements spéciaux à l’étranger peuvent être remboursés. Dans ces cas, le médecin traitant de l'assuré doit adresser au médecin-conseil de l'assureur-maladie concerné une demande motivée. L’assureur décidera, après avoir consulté son service de médecins-conseils, si les coûts de ce traitement à l'étranger peuvent être pris en charge (voir les conditions dans la lettre d'information du 8 avril 2008 concernant les traitements médicaux à l'étranger).  

Médicaments achetés à l’étranger

Les coûts sont remboursés uniquement si ces médicaments étaient nécessaires pour traiter une maladie durant un séjour temporaire à l’étranger.

Informations complémentaires

Touristes à l’étranger et globe-trotters

Les personnes qui voyagent à l’étranger restent soumises à l’obligation de s’assurer en Suisse.

Dernière modification 10.05.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Leistungen-im-Ausland/Behandlungen-im-Ausland-fuer-Versicherte-mit-Wohnsitz-in-der-Schweiz.html