Treatment abroad for policyholders resident abroad

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad are entitled to be treated in their country of residence. The conditions for reimbursement of the costs vary, depending on the country (EU/EFTA or elsewhere) and the persons’ status (stay/residence).

Residence (stay) in an EU/EFTA country

Persons who are insured in Switzerland and resident in an EU/EFTA country will receive an S1 certificate (previously forms E106, E109, E121) from their health insurer. This must be submitted to the health insurance organisation of the country of residence. They will then be registered as eligible for treatment and will subsequently be treated as if they were insured in their country of residence.

Policyholders who maintain their legal residence in Switzerland (e.g. workers posted to an EU/EFTA country) can be treated in the country where they are staying if they present their European Health Insurance Card (EHIC). They are then entitled to receive treatment considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay.

Temporary stay in another EU/EFTA country

A European Health Insurance Card is also issued by Swiss health insurers to policyholders who are resident in an EU/EFTA country. This enables them to receive treatment during a temporary stay in another EU/EFTA country. In the event of illness, accident or maternity, they are entitled to receive all benefits in kind considered medically necessary given the type of treatment and expected length of their stay.
For more information, see “Temporary stay in an EU/EFTA country” (available in French/German/Italian) on the website of the Common Institution under the KVG (Swiss liaison body).

Temporary stay in a non-EU/EFTA country

During a temporary stay in a country outside the EU/EFTA, the costs of emergency treatment for illness or accident (in cases where a return to Switzerland is not possible for medical reasons) will be reimbursed by the health insurer up to a maximum of twice the amount that it would pay if the treatment were provided in Switzerland. In the case of inpatient treatment, this means that the insurer will reimburse no more than 90% of the costs that would have arisen for hospitalisation in Switzerland. This is because, in the case of hospital treatment in Switzerland, at least 55% of the costs are borne by the cantons, which is not the case for hospital stays abroad.

Other medical treatments abroad are not generally covered by compulsory health insurance.

In the case of posted workers and Swiss public servants, the reimbursement of costs for medically necessary treatments is based on the tariffs and prices applicable at their last place of residence in Switzerland.

Further information

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Health insurance: Co-payment for persons insured in Switzerland

For persons insured in Switzerland, the co-payment for treatment abroad varies, depending on the country where treatment is received.

Last modification 26.05.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Insurance Supervision Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Leistungen-im-Ausland/Behandlungen-im-Ausland-fuer-Versicherte-mit-Wohnsitz-im-Ausland.html

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant à l'étranger

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui vivent à l'étranger ont aussi le droit de se faire soigner dans leur pays de résidence. Les conditions de prise en charge des coûts diffèrent en fonction du pays (UE/AELE ou autre pays) et du type de résidence (séjour / domicile).

Domicile (séjour) dans un Etat de l’UE/AELE

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui sont domiciliées dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE reçoivent une attestation S1 (ancien formulaire E106 / E109 / E121) de leur caisse-maladie et la remettent à l’assurance-maladie du pays de résidence. Elles seront alors enregistrées comme ayant droit aux prestations et seront ainsi traitées comme si elles étaient assurées dans leur pays de domicile.

Les assurés qui conservent leur domicile en Suisse (p.ex. travailleurs détachés dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE) peuvent se faire soigner dans l'Etat où ils séjournent sur présentation de la carte européenne d'assurance-maladie. Ils ont alors droit aux soins médicalement nécessaires compte tenu de leur nature et de la durée prévue de leur séjour.

Séjour dans un autre Etat de l'UE/AELE

La carte européenne d’assurance-maladie (CEAM) est également délivrée par la caisse-maladie suisse aux assurés domiciliés dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE. Elle permet à l’assuré de se faire soigner lors d'un séjour temporaire dans un autre Etat de l'UE/AELE. Elle lui confère le droit de bénéficier des prestations en nature en cas de maladie, d’accident ou de maternité qui s'avèrent médicalement nécessaires, compte tenu de la nature des soins et de la durée prévue du séjour.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter le site internet de l’organisme de liaison suisse, l’Institution commune LAMal, à Soleure «Séjour au sein de l'UE/AELE».

Séjour à l'étranger (dans un Etat hors UE/AELE)

Lors d'un séjour temporaire à l'étranger (hors UE/AELE), les traitements effectués d'urgence (maladie ou accident ne permettant pas, pour des raisons médicales, un retour dans l'Etat de résidence), sont pris en charge jusqu'à concurrence du double du montant qui aurait été payé si le traitement avait eu lieu en Suisse. En cas d’hospitalisation, cela signifie toutefois que l’assureur doit prendre en charge au maximum 90% de ce qu’aurait coûté cette hospitalisation si elle avait eu lieu en Suisse (car en cas d'hospitalisation en Suisse, les cantons prennent à leur charge au minimum 55% des coûts, ce qui n’est pas le cas lors d’une hospitalisation à l’étranger).

Les autres prestations médicales fournies à l'étranger ne sont en principe pas couvertes par l'assurance de base.

Pour les travailleurs détachés et les personnes relevant d'un service public suisse, la prise en charge des coûts des traitements médicalement nécessaires s'effectue sur la base des tarifs et prix applicables à leur dernier lieu de résidence en Suisse.

Informations complémentaires

Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE

Les personnes assurées en Suisse paient les primes UE/AELE applicables à leur pays de domicile. Les assurés de condition économique modeste ont droit à une réduction des primes.

Participation aux coûts des personnes assurées en Suisse

Pour les personnes assurées en Suisse, la participation aux coûts pour les soins à l'étranger diffère en fonction du pays dans lequel le traitement est administré.

Dernière modification 27.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Surveillance de l’assurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-leistungen-tarife/Leistungen-im-Ausland/Behandlungen-im-Ausland-fuer-Versicherte-mit-Wohnsitz-im-Ausland.html