Health technology assessment (HTA)

Health technology assessment (HTA) involves the systematic evaluation of medical procedures and technologies. HTA is widely regarded as an important tool for evidence-based policy advice and policymaking.

Among the health policy priorities defined in the Federal Council’s Health2030 strategy are the strengthening of medical services and the exertion of influence on cost development. HTA provides a transparent analysis of the efficacy, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness of a medical service. The results can help to ensure that mandatory reimbursement is limited or terminated for services which are not effective or cost-effective. Restricting such services improves the quality and reduces the costs of healthcare.

In 2015, the federal authorities launched an HTA programme to evaluate services currently reimbursed under compulsory health insurance.

The legal basis of this programme is Article 32 of the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG; SR 832.10), which specifies that medical services covered by compulsory health insurance must meet the criteria of efficacy, appropriateness and cost-effectiveness. Compliance with these criteria is to be periodically reviewed.

The HTA programme focuses in particular on the re evaluation of services which may not meet the relevant criteria. The aim is to eliminate such services from the List of Reimbursable Items or to restrict mandatory reimbursement (disinvestment). In addition, the HTA programme evaluates services which are not currently reimbursable.

Each year, under the HTA programme, we select topics for which, through a systematic process, HTA reports are produced by external contractors. Engagement with national and international HTA networks ensures that the methods employed are continuously adapted to the latest standards. The HTA reports, which support evidence-based policymaking, are published on the HTA projects page.

Last modification 29.03.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health insurance benefits Division
Health Technology Assessment Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 469 17 33
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-bezeichnung-der-leistungen/re-evaluation-hta.html

Évaluation des technologies de la santé (ETS)

Dans le monde entier, la notion d’ETS désigne l’évaluation systématique des technologies et des procédures médicales. Il s’agit d’un instrument essentiel pour rassembler des données probantes pour la prise de décision et le conseil stratégique.

La stratégie Santé2030, qui expose les priorités politiques du Conseil fédéral en matière de santé, prévoit une amélioration des traitements médicaux et un aiguillage de l’évolution des coûts. Cette évaluation permet d’exposer en toute transparence l’efficacité, l’adéquation et le caractère économique d’une prestation médicale. Les résultats peuvent être utilisés en vue de limiter ou de supprimer l’obligation de rembourser les prestations qui ne sont pas efficaces ou économiques. Réduire la fourniture de telles prestations accroît la qualité du système de santé tout en abaissant les coûts.

Dans ce contexte, la Confédération a lancé, en 2015, un programme d’’évaluation des technologies de la santé (ETS ; en anglais Health Techology Assessement, HTA) consistant à réévaluer les prestations déjà remboursées par l’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS).

Ce programme se fonde sur l’art. 32 de la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal), qui dispose que les prestations médicales prises en charge par l’AOS doivent remplir des critères d’efficacité, d’adéquation et d’économicité (critères EAE). Elles doivent en outre faire l’objet d’un réexamen périodique selon ces mêmes critères.

Le programme se concentre principalement sur la réévaluation de prestations qui pourraient ne plus remplir les critères EAE. L’objectif est de les effacer du catalogue des prestations ou de restreindre leur remboursement obligatoire (désinvestissement). Le programme d’ETS évalue également des prestations qui ne sont pas encore prises en charge par l’AOS.

Dans le cadre du programme, nous sélectionnons chaque année plusieurs thèmes, sur lesquels nous commandons des rapports d’ETS à des mandataires externes, selon un processus systématique. Grâce à des échanges avec des réseaux d’ETS nationaux et internationaux, nous ajustons constamment notre méthodologie en fonction des standards actuels. Les rapports permettent de prendre des décisions fondées sur des données probantes. Nous les publions sur la page « Projets d’ETS ».

Dernière modification 29.03.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Prestations de l'assurance maladie
Section Health Technology Assessment
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 469 17 33
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-bezeichnung-der-leistungen/re-evaluation-hta.html