Health insurance

Thanks to compulsory health insurance, anyone living in Switzerland has access to good medical care. We are responsible for ensuring the ongoing development of this important social accomplishment. Find out here about the mandatory insurance requirement, health insurance oversight, benefits and tariffs, premiums and premium comparisons, quality assurance and amendments to the law.

Definitions

In this section you’ll find information on compulsory health insurance, also known as mandatory or basic health insurance. Insurers that provide compulsory insurance (called “Krankenkassen”, “caisses maladie” or “casse malati”) are not profit-oriented and must be recognised by the Swiss Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA). Insurance companies can also offer supplementary insurance (top-up insurance).

Premiums for compulsory (basic) health insurance compared

The site www.priminfo.ch is a neutral premium calculator provided by the FOPH (in German, French and Italian). You can use it to work out your premium for compulsory health insurance for the next year.

The Essentials in Brief

Health insurance is compulsory in Switzerland. What does it cover? How is it funded? How are benefits paid? This section and our brochure give you an overview.

Insured persons resident in Switzerland

If you live in Switzerland, find out here about everything you need to know: the mandatory insurance requirement, premium comparisons, premium reductions, your contribution to costs, special forms of insurance, voluntary daily benefits insurance and your insurance card.

Persons domiciled abroad

Are you moving abroad? Do you commute to work in Switzerland, or are you planning holidays in this country? What do you need to know about Swiss health insurance? You’ll find answers to these questions here.

Insurers and supervision

We at the FOPH are responsible for overseeing insurers that offer compulsory (basic) health insurance. Supplementary insurance plans fall under private insurance law and are overseen by FINMA, the financial market supervisory authority.

Benefits and tariffs

What medical care does compulsory (basic) insurance pay for? What hospital can you go to for treatment? What about maternity benefits? Which tariffs and prices are set by the authorities?

Description of services

Who decides what benefits compulsory (basic) health insurance pays? In this section you can find out who is responsible and the procedures for applying for coverage of new benefits.

Quality and patient safety

Swiss healthcare is of a high quality. But there’s still room for improvement. What is the Federal Council’s strategy? Who is responsible for quality? What information is available on healthcare quality?

Current Revision Projects

Various revisions are under way in the field of health insurance. They affect legislation including the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG/LAMal), the Health Insurance Ordinance (KVV/OAMal) and the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV/OPAS).

Revision projects adopted

Revisions and amendments have been completed related to medicinal products, oversight, curbing costs, funding nursing care, premiums, the risk equalisation scheme, contributions to the costs of hospital stays, hospital funding, insurance cards, registration and approval. We are expanding the compilation on an ongoing basis.

Assurance-maladie

L’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS) permet à tout individu vivant en Suisse de bénéficier de soins de qualité. Nous veillons au développement de cet acquis primordial. Informez-vous ici de votre obligation de vous assurer, de la surveillance, des prestations et des tarifs, des primes et de la comparaison des primes ainsi que de l’assurance qualité et des révisions de lois. 

Termes

Sous cette rubrique, vous trouverez des informations sur l’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS), aussi appelée assurance-maladie ou assurance de base. Les « caisses-maladie » sont des assureurs qui proposent l’AOS. Elles sont à but non lucratif et doivent être reconnues par le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI). Les assureurs peuvent aussi proposer des assurances complémentaires.

Comparer les primes de l’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS) (assurance-maladie ou assurance de base)

Le site www.priminfo.ch est un calculateur neutre de l’OFSP. Vous pouvez y calculer votre prime pour l’AOS de l’année suivante.

L’essentiel en bref

L’assurance-maladie est obligatoire en Suisse. Que propose-t-elle ? Comment est-elle financée ? Comment les prestations sont-elles fournies ? La présente rubrique et cette brochure vous en donnent un aperçu.

Assurés domiciliés en Suisse

Comparaison des primes, réduction des primes, participation aux coûts, formes d’assurance particulières, assurance facultative d’indemnités journalières ou carte d’assuré : si vous habitez en Suisse, informez-vous.

Assurés domiciliés à l'étranger

Allez-vous déménager à l’étranger ? Faites-vous la navette pour travailler en Suisse ou prévoyez-vous d’y passer des vacances ? Que devez-vous savoir sur l’assurance-maladie en Suisse ? Vous trouverez les réponses à ces questions ici.

Assureurs et surveillance

Nous exerçons la surveillance sur les assureurs qui proposent l’AOS (assurance-maladie, assurance de base). Les assurances complémentaires sont soumises au droit des assurances privées. L’autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) est chargée de leur surveillance.

Prestations et tarifs

Quelles sont les prestations médicales remboursées par l’AOS (assurance-maladie, assurance de base) ? Dans quel hôpital pouvez-vous être soigné ? Quelles règlent s’appliquent en cas de maternité ? Quels tarifs et prix les autorités fixent-elles ?

Désignation des prestations

Qui définit le remboursement de l’AOS (assurance-maladie, assurance de base) rembourse ? Vous trouverez dans la présente rubrique les compétences et les processus de demande concernant la prise en charge des coûts de nouvelles prestations.

Qualité des soins et sécurité des patients

Le niveau des soins dispensés en Suisse est élevé. Toutefois, un potentiel d’amélioration existe. Quelle stratégie le Conseil fédéral poursuit-il ? Qui est compétent en matière de qualité ? Quelles informations sont disponibles sur la qualité ?

Projets de révision en cours

Différentes révisions sont en cours dans l’assurance-maladie. Elles concernent, par exemple, la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal), l’ordonnance sur l’assurance-maladie (OAMal) et l’ordonnance sur les prestations de l’assurance des soins (OPAS).

Projets adoptés

Les révisions et les modifications récentes concernent : les médicaments, la surveillance, la maîtrise des coûts, le financement des soins, les primes, la compensation des risques, le séjour et le financement hospitalier, la carte d’assuré, les autorisations. D’autres textes sont constamment révisés.

Maîtrise des coûts

Le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) entend décharger les payeurs de primes et les contribuables. À cet effet, il a prévu un programme visant à contenir les coûts.