Nanotechnology

InfoNano is the Swiss federal authorities central information hub for nanotechnology. It provides information on the opportunities and risks associated with nanomaterials, illustrates where nanomaterials are used and describes the goals and milestones of the Action plan for synthetic nanomaterials. Key topics include guidelines on safe use, promotion of public dialogue, key research and regulatory updates.

Carbon Nano Tubes Bundles

Nanomaterials are important building blocks of nanotechnology. They have potential for a variety of application areas in everyday life. Since the composition, size, shape and surface of these building blocks can be designed with virtually no limitation, they open an area of innovation in medicine, engineering and other high tech industrial branches. Incorporating nanomaterials into plastics can reduce both material and energy consumption of the respective applications. In medicine, nanoscale materials help to convey medicines to their site of action with greater accuracy. Consequently, the amount of active ingredient for the same efficacy becomes smaller which in turn may reduce side effects. The other side of the coin are the nano-specific risks of the materials that do not exist with conventional materials. The nanoscale properties of nanomaterials do not only raise new toxicological questions, but also require that existing legal provisions are challenged for their appropriateness for nanomaterials.

Everyday nano

Nanomaterials, nano-coatings and nanostructures allow the development of novel products. Dedicated databases provide an overview of the market for applications of nanomaterials and nanoproducts.

Dialogue-based events

Dialogue is a key element in developing new technologies. Opportunities and risks have to be discussed and ways have to be found to safely and sensibly handle new technologies.

Safe handling

Scientific and methodical foundations are required to protect the environment and human health against potential nanotechnology-associated risks. Their development and implementation into binding regulations is time consuming.

Knowledge

Nanomaterials are minute particles and surfaces that are used for a wide range of products and technologies. Not all their physical and biological effects are known as yet, but new findings are being made all the time.

Research

Developing innovative products and protecting the environment and people's health against the possible hazards of nanotechnology must follow for scientific principles.

Legislation and enforcement

Current legislation for chemicals, foodstuffs, the environment, and medicines also applies to nanomaterials. Work is underway to determine any legal changes that are needed to take account of nanomaterials.


Publishers
Federal Office of Public Health, Federal Offices for the Environment and Agriculture, Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, Commission for Technology and Innovation, Swissmedic and the State Secretariats for Economic Affairs and for Education, Research and Innovation.

Last modification 06.04.2017

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Chemical Products
CH - 3003 Berne

Tel.
+41 58 462 96 40

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/themen/mensch-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie.html

Nanotechnologies

InfoNano est la plateforme centrale d’information sur les nanotechnologies de la Confédération. Elle fournit des renseignements sur les opportunités et les risques associés aux nanomatériaux, décrit les diverses applications ainsi que de l’avancement du plan d’action « Nanomatériaux synthétiques » et ses objectifs. L’utilisation sûre des nanomatériaux, la promotion du dialogue, la recherche et l’adaptation de la législation font également partie des thèmes importants abordés sur la plateforme. 

Carbon Nano Tubes Bundles

Les nanomatériaux comptent parmi les principaux produits des nanotechnologies ; ils ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives dans tous les secteurs de la vie quotidienne. Ces produits, aux compositions, tailles, formes et surfaces les plus diverses, sont à l’origine de nouvelles applications médicales et technologiques. Leur utilisation dans les matières plastiques permet, par exemple, de réduire la quantité de matière utilisée tout en diminuant la consommation d’énergie. En médecine, les nanoparticules peuvent être utilisées pour transporter les principes actifs des médicaments de façon ciblée. Cela permet de réduire la quantité de substance active nécessaire et de limiter les effets secondaires. En raison de leurs propriétés spécifiques, les nanomatériaux peuvent cependant entraîner certains risques que ne présentent pas les matériaux classiques. Ainsi, au-delà des interrogations d’ordre toxicologique, il s’agit également de clarifier si d’éventuelles adaptations légales sont nécessaires.

Les nanomatériaux au quotidien

Les nanomatériaux, les revêtements nanoscopiques et les nanostructures confèrent aux produits des propriétés particulières. Aujourd’hui, nombre de ces «nanoproduits» se trouvent sur le marché.

Espaces de dialogue

Le dialogue est un élément essentiel pour l’évolution des nouvelles technologies. Il convient de débattre des opportunités et des risques, et de trouver des solutions pour une utilisation sûre et rationnelle des nanomatériaux.

Utilisation sûre

La protection de l’environnement et de la santé contre les dangers possibles associés à la nanotechnologie a besoin des méthodologiques scientifiques. Il faut du temps pour les développer et les transposer en des réglementations.

Les connaissances

Les nanomatériaux sont de minuscules particules et surfaces utilisées dans nombre de produits et technologies. On n’en connaît pas tous les effets physiques et biologiques, mais on développe sans cesse de nouvelles connaissances.

Recherche

Le développement de produits innovants ainsi que la protection de la santé et de l’environnement contre les éventuels dangers des nanotechnologies nécessitent des connaissances scientifiques.

Législation et mise en œuvre

Das heutige Recht im Chemikalien-, Lebensmittel-, Umwelt- und Heilmittelbereich gilt auch für Nanomaterialien. Zurzeit wird geklärt, welche rechtlichen Anpassungen für den Umgang mit Nanomaterialien nötig sind.  


Editeurs
L’Office fédéral de la santé publique, l’Office fédéral de l’environnement, l’Office fédéral de l’agriculture, l’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires, la Commission pour la technologie et l’innovation, Swissmedic, le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie ainsi que le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation.

Dernière modification 14.12.2016

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
CH - 3003 Berne

Tel.
+41 58 462 96 40

e-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/themen/mensch-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie.html