Health professions

The Swiss healthcare system needs a sufficient supply of qualified professionals. The FOPH regulates the health professions and assures high standards of quality in training and practice. Find out here about the medical and psychology professions and healthcare professions requiring qualifications offered by universities of applied sciences. You’ll also find information on the recognition of qualifications obtained abroad and the accreditation of basic and advanced training programmes. 

Logo Health 2020

Increasing the number of well-qualified health professionals is a key element in the Federal Council’s Health2020 strategy. Over 90 sub-projects are being run to achieve this aim, and these are described in a series of individual factsheets. Our page "Alle Aktivitäten Gesundheit2020" provides information on each sub-project – background, objectives, implementation status and further steps. Documents are available in German and French. These sub-projects relate to the promotion of qualified health professionals: 

Medical professions

The FOPH is responsible for medical professions requiring university-level study, and runs the register of medical professionals. We work closely with the universities, professional organisations and cantonal authorities. Find out more here.

Psychology professions

The FOPH is responsible for regulating the psychology professions and runs the register of psychology professionals. We work closely with the universities, professional organisations and cantonal authorities. Find out more here.

Foreign diplomas of health professions

The FOPH is responsible for the recognition of foreign university degrees and advanced training qualifications for university-level medical professions and the psychology professions. Find out more here.

Accreditation of health professions

Accreditation is the means by which the FOPH assures a high quality of basic and advanced healthcare training producing well qualified, expert professionals. Find out more here.

Foreign diplomas of health professions

The FOPH is responsible for the recognition of foreign university degrees and advanced training qualifications for university-level medical professions and the psychology professions. Find out more here.

Professions de la santé


Le système de santé suisse a besoin de professionnels qualifiés en nombre suffisant. Compétent pour les professions de la santé, l'OFSP veille à la qualité, tant au niveau de la formation que de l’exercice de la profession. Voici des informations sur les professions médicales, de la psychologie et de la santé de niveau tertiaire, la reconnaissance des diplômes et des titres étrangers et l’accréditation des formations de base et continues.

Logo Santé 2020

Suivant un des axes principaux de la stratégie « Santé2020 », le Conseil fédéral s’engage à former davantage de personnel qualifié dans le domaine de la santé. Plus de 90 projets, chacun faisant l’objet d’une fiche d’information, sont actuellement réalisés pour déployer les mesures fixées dans le cadre de la stratégie Santé2020. Notre page « Activités Santé2020 » fournit des informations sur le contexte, l’objectif, la situation actuelle et les prochaines étapes de chaque projet. Les projets suivants mettent l’accent sur la formation de professionnels de la santé qualifiés :

Professions médicales

L’OFSP est compétent pour les professions médicales universitaires, dont il tient le registre. Il coopère, à cet égard, avec les universités, les organisations professionnelles et les autorités cantonales. En savoir plus…

Professions de la psychologie

L’OFSP est compétent pour les professions de la psychologie, dont il tient le registre. Il coopère, à cet égard, avec les universités, les organisations professionnelles et les autorités cantonales. En savoir plus…

Professions de la santé de niveau tertiaire

Les professions de la santé de niveau tertiaire constituent un apport fondamental dans le système de santé. A l’avenir, le recours à ces professions va augmenter du fait de l’évolution des besoins de santé.

Accréditation des professions de la santé

À travers l’accréditation des professions de la santé, l’OFSP entend garantir la qualité de l’offre de formation de base et continue et partant, les compétences des professionnels dans ce domaine. En savoir plus…

Diplômes étrangers des professions de la santé

L’OFSP s’occupe de la reconnaissance des diplômes d’études supérieures et des titres postgrades étrangers dans les professions médicales universitaires et les professions de la psychologie.