Minimum requirements for hospitals

Hospitals need to meet certain requirements in order to prevent and control healthcare-associated infections (HAI) effectively. Uniform national minimum requirements for acute-care hospitals were published in January 2021.

Science-based and widely supported

The minimum requirements were developed by a working group led by Swissnoso with the involvement of the relevant professional societies (Swiss Society for Hospital Hygiene SSHH, Swiss Society for Infectious Diseases SSI, the infection-prevention nurses’ group SIPI in the French-speaking part of Switzerland and its German-speaking counterpart fibs ). The catalogue is based on scientific evidence and recommendations from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) and the World Health Organisation (WHO).

The FOPH, the GDK and H+ acknowledge the significance of these national minimum requirements and recommend their implementation by the cantons and hospitals.

Requirements in a number of areas

The catalogue defines 7 key components:

  • Guidelines and instructions
  • Material and equipment
  • Organisation of hospital hygiene and staffing
  • Task-oriented training
  • Audits and monitoring
  • Infection monitoring and data evaluation
  • Interventions
Although such measures are already in force in many hospitals, their implementation is very inconsistent – partly because the same conditions do not exist in small hospitals as in large ones. The requirements catalogue developed by Swissnoso takes these differences into account.

Official start of implementing minimum requirements

The first National Symposium on 27 August 2021, organised by Swissnoso, marked the launch of the wide-scale introduction of structural minimum requirements. More than 180 people from cantonal authorities, hospital management staff and hospital hygiene teams took part in the event.

Participants welcomed the opportunity to exchange ideas across professions and disciplines. The discussions highlighted not only the unanimous support for introducing minimim requirements, but also that most hospitals had already implemented many measures.

The mutual exchange of experience will continue within the professional groups, and also between the FOPH, the cantonal authorities and hospital management staff. Swissnoso will analyse the need for support and develop tools in order to facilitate implementing the minimum structural requirements in hospital practice.  

Last modification 02.12.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programme Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/standards-und-richtlinien/mindesanforderungen-fuer-spitaeler.html

Exigences minimales pour les hôpitaux

Les hôpitaux devraient remplir certaines conditions afin de prévenir et combattre efficacement les infections associées aux soins (IAS). Des exigences minimales uniformes à l’échelle nationale sont disponibles depuis janvier 2021 pour les hôpitaux de soins aigus.  

Bases scientifiques et large soutien

Les exigences minimales ont été élaborées par un groupe de travail placé sous la direction de Swissnoso, avec la participation des sociétés de discipline médicale concernées (SSHH, SSI, SIPI et fibs). Elles reposent sur des preuves scientifiques et des recommandations du Centre européen de prévention et de contrôle des maladies (ECDC) et de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS).

L’OFSP, la CDS et H+ reconnaissent l’importance de ces exigences minimales nationales et recommandent aux cantons et aux hôpitaux de les mettre en œuvre.

Exigences pour une série de domaines

Le catalogue définit sept éléments clés :

  • Directives et instructions
  • Matériel et équipement
  • Organisation de l’hygiène hospitalière et des effectifs
  • Formation orientée vers les tâches
  • Audits et monitorage
  • Surveillance des infections et évaluation des données
  • Interventions
Même si de telles mesures sont déjà en vigueur dans de nombreux hôpitaux, leur mise en œuvre est très inégale, notamment car les grands et les petits hôpitaux ne connaissent pas les mêmes conditions. Le catalogue des exigences de Swissnoso prend en compte ces différences.

Lancement officiel de la mise en œuvre

Le 1er symposium national sur les exigences structurelles minimales organisé par Swissnoso le 27 août 2021 a lancé leur introduction et leur mise en œuvre à grande échelle. Plus de 180 personnes issues des autorités cantonales, des directions d’hôpitaux et des équipes d’hygiène hospitalière y ont participé.

Les participants ont salué la possibilité de pouvoir échanger leurs points de vue dans une approche interprofessionnelle. Lors des discussions, l’introduction de ces exigences minimales a reçu un soutien unanime. Il est également apparu clairement que de nombreuses mesures étaient déjà mises en œuvre par la plupart des hôpitaux.

L’échange d’expériences va se poursuivre au sein des groupes professionnels, de même qu’entre l’OFSP, les autorités cantonales et les directions des hôpitaux. De plus, afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre des exigences structurelles minimales dans la pratique hospitalière, Swissnoso analysera les besoins en termes de soutien et élaborera des outils.

Dernière modification 16.12.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Contrôle de l'infection et programme de vaccination
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/standards-und-richtlinien/mindesanforderungen-fuer-spitaeler.html