Point prevalence survey in hospitals

The initial findings of the point prevalence survey conducted by Swissnoso at Swiss hospitals with the support of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) in 2017 show that 5.9 per cent of patients in Switzerland have suffered a hospital infection. 

With 5.5 per cent the mean for the EU, this puts Switzerland around the European average. The data are now being evaluated in more depth to determine the mortality rate and the costs attributable to healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). The results of these analyses will be available in the course of 2019.

13,000 patients in 96 hospitals

Prevalence surveys have a long tradition in hospital hygiene and HAI prevention. In 2017 Swissnoso, with the support of the FOPH, conducted the first nationwide point prevalence survey in Switzerland. The study had threefold aims: to assess the scale of HAIs and the use of antibiotics in Swiss acute care hospitals; to characterise patients, infections and the antibiotics used; to depict procedures for preventing HAIs and antibiotic resistance. The nationwide survey was conducted at 96 Swiss hospitals. Each participating hospital captured data on healthcare-associated infections on one day between April and June 2017, covering around 13,000 patients in total.

Next national survey in 2022

The point prevalence survey is to be repeated several times in the next few years in order to document developments in efforts to tackle avoidable infections in Swiss hospitals. This survey is also a surveillance measure that supports implementation of the minimum structural requirements in the prevention and control of healthcare-associated infections, which were published in 2021. The next national survey, which was initially scheduled for 2020, was postponed to 2022 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Swissnoso is once again responsible for organising it. The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) is also conducting a PPS in 2022. It will therefore be possible to compare the data from Switzerland with data from other European countries.

Between these national surveys, Swissnoso is supplying hospitals that wish to conduct the survey annually – as was the case in 2018, 2019 and 2020 – with tools, such as access to the database, training documents and the survey protocol. 

Last modification 16.12.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programme Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/grundlagen/punktpraevalenz-erhebung-in-spitaelern.html

Enquête de prévalence ponctuelle dans les hôpitaux

Les premiers résultats de l’enquête de prévalence ponctuelle menée en 2017 dans les hôpitaux suisses par Swissnoso avec le soutien de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) montrent que 5,9 % des patients contractent une infection associée aux soins. 

La Suisse se situe dans la moyenne européenne, qui s’élève à 5,5 pour cent. Les données vont être évaluées en détail pour déterminer le taux de décès et les coûts liés aux infections associées aux soins (IAS). Les résultats de ces études seront disponibles courant 2019.

13 000 patients dans 96 hôpitaux

Les enquêtes de prévalence ont une longue tradition dans les domaines de l’hygiène hospitalière et de la prévention des IAS. Avec le soutien de l’OFSP, Swissnoso a mené pour la première fois en 2017 une enquête nationale de prévalence ponctuelle, qui poursuivait trois objectifs : estimer l’ampleur des IAS et la fréquence d’utilisation des antibiotiques dans les hôpitaux suisses de soins aigus, caractériser les patients, les infections et les antibiotiques utilisés, évaluer les processus de prévention concernant les IAS et la résistance aux antibiotiques. 96 hôpitaux ont participé à cette enquête. Un jour entre avril et juin 2017, ils ont recensé les données liées aux IAS pour environ 13 000 patients au total.

Prochaine enquête nationale en 2022

L’enquête de prévalence ponctuelle sera répétée plusieurs fois ces prochaines années afin de documenter l’évolution de la lutte contre les infections évitables dans les hôpitaux suisses. Cette enquête s’inscrit également comme une mesure de surveillance permettant de soutenir la mise en œuvre des exigences structurelles minimales en matière de prévention et de lutte contre les infections associées aux soins publiées en 2021. La prochaine enquête nationale, qui était initialement prévue pour 2020, a été annulée à cause de la pandémie de Covid-19. Elle aura lieu en 2022. C’est à nouveau Swissnoso qui se chargera de l’organiser. Le Centre européen de prévention et de contrôle des maladies (ECDC) réalisera également une PPS en 2022. Il sera ainsi possible de comparer les données suisses avec celles des pays européens.

Entre ces enquêtes nationales, Swissnoso met des instruments (p. ex. accès à la base de données, documents de formation ou protocole de l’enquête) à la disposition des hôpitaux qui souhaitent effectuer cette enquête sur un mode annuel, comme cela a été le cas en 2018, 2019 et 2020.

Dernière modification 09.08.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Contrôle de l'infection et programme de vaccination
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/grundlagen/punktpraevalenz-erhebung-in-spitaelern.html