Reports on the epidemiology of HAIs

Since 2020, Swissnoso has provided an overview of the epidemiological situation regarding healthcare-associated infections (HAIs) in Switzerland, based on data collected by existing surveillance systems and on the experience of hospitals.

According to regularly conducted surveys, the prevalence of HAIs in Swiss acute care hospitals is between 5.4% and 5.9%, which corresponds to the European average. These data were confirmed by the results of the second national point prevalence survey in 2022: of the almost 14,000 patients surveyed, 5.9% had had a healthcare-associated infection. These surveys have also shown that the proportion of healthcare-associated infections caused by multi-drug resistant organisms (MDROs) is lower in Switzerland than in neighbouring countries.

Significant long-term reduction in infection rates

In addition to the data collected by Swissnoso since 2017 and the publicly available data, an important source of information is the continuous monitoring of surgical site infections (SSIs). This monitoring, conducted on selected surgical procedures by 165 hospitals between October 2019 and September 2020, shows a significant long-term reduction in infection rates. Rates have declined compared to the previous periods in 2018 and 2019, which can be attributed in part to the break in monitoring between March and May 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, the pandemic had an impact on elective surgical procedures, which had to be temporarily postponed in some institutions. Even though this rate appears to be higher than in other countries, the comparison should be treated with caution because of differences in methodology and uncertainties about the validity of the data collected internationally.

Overview of HAI control and prevention activities

These reports are written by Swissnoso as part of its consultancy mandate with the FOPH. They provide information on all activities and measures taken by Swissnoso to combat and prevent HAIs as part of the NOSO strategy. For example, they provide an overview of the further development of the national monitoring system. They also describe pilot studies investigating the parameters that could lead to a potential reduction in healthcare-associated infections. The second report also – for the first time – includes data on the transmission of COVID-19 in hospitals and care homes.

Last modification 26.11.2023

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programme Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/grundlagen/bericht-epidemiologie-hai.html

Rapports sur l’épidémiologie des IAS

Depuis 2020, Swissnoso fournit une vue d’ensemble de la situation épidémiologique des infections associées aux soins (IAS) dans les hôpitaux suisses. Les rapports établis se fondent sur des données collectées par les systèmes de surveillance existants et l’expérience des hôpitaux.

D’après les enquêtes menées régulièrement, la prévalence des IAS dans les hôpitaux suisses de soins aigus se situe entre 5,4 et 5,9 %, ce qui correspond à la moyenne européenne. Les résultats de la deuxième enquête nationale de prévalence de 2022 confirment ces chiffres : parmi les quelque 14 000 patient-e-s pris-e-s en compte, 5,9 % ont développé une IAS. Ces études ont également montré que la proportion d’infections nosocomiales causées par des organismes multirésistants (MDRO) est moins élevée en Suisse que dans les pays voisins.

Réduction significative à long terme des taux d'infection

À part les données collectées par Swissnoso depuis 2017 et les données publiques disponibles, une source importante de données vient de la surveillance continue des infections du site opératoire (Surgical Site Infections, SSI). Cette surveillance menée sur des procédures chirurgicales sélectionnées par les 165 hôpitaux ayant participé entre octobre 2019 et septembre 2020 montre une réduction significative à long terme des taux d’infection. Par rapport aux derniers relevés en 2018 et en 2019, ce taux a diminué, ce qu’explique en partie l’interruption de la surveillance entre mars et mai 2020 en raison du Covid-19. La pandémie a aussi causé le report des interventions chirurgicales électives dans certains établissements. Même si le taux semble plus élevé par rapport à d’autres pays, cette comparaison doit être prise avec précaution en raison des différences de méthodologie, ainsi que des incertitudes quant à la validité des données collectées au niveau international.

Aperçu des activités de lutte et de prévention des IAS

Ces rapports sont rédigés par Swissnoso dans le cadre de son mandat avec l’OFSP. Ils fournissent des informations sur l’ensemble des activités et des mesures que Swissnoso a mis en place pour combattre et prévenir les IAS dans le cadre de la stratégie NOSO. Ils donnent, par exemple, une vue d’ensemble du développement du système national de monitorage et décrivent les études pilotes qui investiguent les paramètres pouvant amener à une réduction des infections nosocomiales. Par ailleurs, le deuxième rapport contient désormais des données sur la transmission du Covid-19 dans les hôpitaux et les établissements médicaux-sociaux.

Dernière modification 24.11.2023

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Contrôle de l'infection et programme de vaccination
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/grundlagen/bericht-epidemiologie-hai.html