“SSI (surgical site infection) Intervention” module

Surgical site infections (SSIs) account for one quarter of hospital infections. Many of them could be avoided with simple practical measures. Swissnoso has developed a corresponding module.

Skizze Notizen

The “SSI Intervention” module developed by Swissnoso tackles the issue at three levels: by improving the processes of preparing patients for surgery (hair removal, preoperative skin disinfection and antibiotic prophylaxis); by simplifying monitoring; and by automatically evaluating whether medical personnel have correctly implemented the preventive measures. The “Clean Care Monitor” app captures the observations made during the processes. “SSI Intervention” furthermore aims at improving the organisational structure for the prevention of surgical site infections in participating hospitals in order to clarify who is responsible for what.

The module is available to all hospitals

The three-year pilot phase was successfully concluded in 2018. We were pleased to note an increase in adherence to the measures in hospitals from 56% to 66%, even though the improvement was not yet statistically significant. The module aims at lowering surgical site infections by a minimum of 10% within two years. The programme has been available to all Swiss hospitals since October 2018.

Last modification 10.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/ssi-intervention.html

Module SSI Intervention (infections du site chirurgical)

Les infections du site chirurgical (en anglais : Surgical Site Infections [SSI]) représentent plus d’un quart des infections associées aux soins. Nombre d’entre elles pourraient être évitées par des mesures simples. Swissnoso a élaboré un module à ce sujet.

Skizze Notizen

Le module « SSI Intervention », conçu par Swissnoso, porte sur trois niveaux : il optimise les principales procédures de préparation des patients avant une opération (élimination des poils, antisepsie cutanée préopératoire et prophylaxie antibiotique), il simplifie leur contrôle et il détermine automatiquement si le personnel médical a effectué les mesures préventives correctement. L’application « Clean Care Monitor » est quant à elle utilisée pour saisir des observations concernant les processus. « SSI Intervention » a également pour objectif d’améliorer l’organisation en matière de prévention des infections du site chirurgical dans les hôpitaux participants. Il s’agit aussi de clarifier les responsabilités.

Module disponible dans tous les hôpitaux

La phase pilote de trois ans a été close avec succès en 2018. Il est réjouissant de constater que le respect des mesures dans les hôpitaux est passé de 56 à 66 pour cent durant cette période, bien que cette hausse ne soit pas encore significative en termes de statistique. Le module vise à réduire les infections postopératoires des plaies d’au moins dix pour cent sur deux ans. Le programme est disponible dans tous les hôpitaux suisses depuis octobre 2018.

Dernière modification 26.11.2023

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Contrôle de l'infection et programme de vaccination
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/ssi-intervention.html