CAUTI surveillance and intervention

Catheter-associated urinary tract infections (CAUTI) are the most common of all healthcare-associated infections at around 15% of total infections. They are linked to increased morbidity and mortality, higher healthcare costs and longer hospital stays. Epidemiological monitoring is central to the successful prevention and control of these infections, which is why Swissnoso has developed a CAUTI surveillance module within the NOSO strategy.

Approximately every fifth person receives a urinary catheter while in hospital and is therefore at risk of contracting a CAUTI. Prevention measures are based on regular CAUTI surveillance. Patient Safety Switzerland conducted a pilot programme “progress! Urinary catheter safety” with Swissnoso from 2015 to 2018. This pilot included surveillance of urinary catheterisations. Swissnoso developed the “CAUTI Surveillance” module based on the results of the programme. Together with the “SSI Surveillance” module, it forms the second component of the HAI national monitoring system, a key measure of the NOSO strategy.

A national module has enabled CAUTI surveillance since 2022

Since January 2022, the “CAUTI Surveillance” module has been available to all Swiss acute-care hospitals. Participation in the module is voluntary for hospitals and free of charge during the first rollout phase up to the end of 2024. In 2022, 20 hospitals adopted the module. The data gathered from about 156,000 patients contained 176 symptomatic CAUTI diagnoses in total, working out at 0.02 infections per 100 patient days. Swissnoso has published the results in a report.

Swissnoso developed the “CAUTI Intervention” module with financial support from the FOPH to prevent CAUTI. It has been available since January 2023, in addition to the “CAUTI Surveillance” module. The two modules complement each other and provide hospitals with a comprehensive and effective CAUTI prevention system.

Last modification 23.11.2023

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Infection Control and Vaccination Programme Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/cauti-surveillance-intervention.html

Surveillance et intervention CAUTI

Les infections des voies urinaires associées aux sondes vésicales (en anglais : catheter-associated urinary tract infections, CAUTI) représentent environ 15 % de toutes les infections liées aux soins et comptent ainsi parmi les infections nosocomiales les plus fréquentes. Elles entraînent une morbidité et une mortalité accrues, une augmentation des coûts de la santé et une prolongation des hospitalisations. La surveillance épidémiologique est une composante essentielle de la prévention et de la lutte contre ces infections, raison pour laquelle Swissnoso a développé un module sur la surveillance des CAUTI dans le cadre de la stratégie NOSO.

Environ un patient sur cinq se fait poser une sonde urinaire durant son hospitalisation et court ainsi le risque de développer une CAUTI. Les mesures de prévention requièrent une surveillance régulière de ces infections. Entre 2015 et 2018, Sécurité des patients Suisse a réalisé un programme pilote intitulé « progress ! La sécurité dans le sondage vésical » en collaboration avec Swissnoso. Il comprenait la surveillance de la pose de sondes urinaires. Sur la base des résultats, Swissnoso a développé le module « CAUTI Surveillance ». Associé au module « SSI Surveillance », il constitue la deuxième partie du système de monitorage national des IAS, l’une des mesures clés de la stratégie NOSO.

Surveillance des CAUTI possible depuis 2022 grâce à un module national

Le module « CAUTI Surveillance » est disponible pour tous les hôpitaux suisses de soins aigus depuis janvier 2022. La participation est facultative pour les hôpitaux et gratuite jusqu’à fin 2024 dans le cadre de la première phase de déploiement. En 2022, 20 hôpitaux ont suivi ce module. Parmi les données collectées (env. 156 000 patients), on a recensé au total 176 CAUTI symptomatiques, soit 0,02 infection pour 100 jours-patients. Swissnoso a publié les résultats dans un rapport.

Afin de prévenir les CAUTI, Swissnoso a développé le module « CAUTI Intervention », avec l’aide financière de l’OFSP. Il est venu s’ajouter au module « CAUTI Surveillance » en janvier 2023. Ces deux modules étant complémentaires, leur application combinée permet aux hôpitaux de disposer d’un système complet pour prévenir efficacement les CAUTI.

Dernière modification 23.11.2023

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Contrôle de l'infection et programme de vaccination
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/strategie-noso--spital--und-pflegeheiminfektionen/noso-in-den-spitaelern/arbeitshilfen/cauti-surveillance-intervention.html