Transgender people

Several international studies have highlighted the vulnerability of transgender people with regard to public health. Based on this evidence, in 2012 the FOPH included the transgender population in the implementation of NPHS.

A population often invisible to public health

Several international studies highlight the greater vulnerability of transgender people with regard to public health, particularly in relation to HIV and other sexually transmitted infections. According to a meta-analysis of 29 studies carried out in North America, the prevalence of HIV in transgender women (male to female) is estimated at between 11.8% and 27.7% in major American cities, and can be up to 35% in transgender sex workers. For transgender men (female to male), the prevalence is between 2% and 3%.

No official epidemiological data is currently available for sexually transmitted infection amongst the transgender population in Switzerland.

In collaboration with the Agnodice Foundation, the FOPH has included transgender people in the implementation of NPHS.

This takes place at several levels:

  • Inclusion of the variable “transgender” in additional mandatory STI declaration forms
  • Inclusion of the variable “transgender” in the voluntary BerDa advice and screening tool.
  • Inclusion of the variable “transgender” in projects relating to sex work.

Transgender people and sex work

A 2008 study conducted by the Agnodice Foundation in transgender women active as sex workers in Lausanne paints a worrying picture of the risks faced by this population and highlights specific vulnerability factors. These can be summarised in particular as unprotected sexual contact in the context of their professional work, as well as the sharing of syringes for injecting hormones or silicone with the aim of feminising their bodies.

Female transgender sex workers are severely marginalised and frequently the victims of extortion and violence - including police violence. Problematic drug and alcohol use is frequent under pressure from customers. Their psychological health is particularly fragile. Average rates of depression and numbers of suicide attempts are higher amongst this population than the general population.

Their customers present specific characteristics. They seek a feminine body and a functional penis capable of erection and ejaculation. This study estimates that the 50 transgender sex workers who responded have sexual relations approximately 30,000 times per year.

Since 2012, the FOPH has been making its partners on the ground working for HIV/STI prevention aware of the importance of systematically including transgender sex workers in their projects. Transgender people, including transgender sex workers, are the focus of the “Migration and vulnerability factors 2016” Framework.

Further information

Counselling and testing centres for HIV and other STI's

Do the risk assessment and find the right counselling and testing centre for you.

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 17.09.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/transmenschen.html

Les personnes transgenres

De nombreuses études internationales mettent en évidence les vulnérabilités des personnes transgenres relevant de la santé publique. Fort de ce constat, l’OFSP a intégré en 2012 la population transgenre dans la mise en œuvre du PNVI.  

Une population souvent invisible de la santé publique

De nombreuses études internationales mettent en évidence les vulnérabilités des personnes transgenres relevant de la santé publique, notamment face au VIH et aux autres infections sexuellement transmissibles. Selon une méta-analyse de 29 études menée en Amérique du Nord, la prévalence VIH chez les femmes-transgenres (male to female) est estimée entre 11,8% et 27,7% dans les grandes villes américaines, et peut s’élever jusqu’à 35% chez les personnes transgenres travailleuses du sexe. Les hommes-transgenres (female to male) présenteraient une prévalence entre 2% et 3%. Il n’y a actuellement en Suisse aucune donnée épidémiologique officielle sur les infections sexuellement transmissibles au sein de la population transgenre.  

En collaboration avec la Fondation Agnodice, l’OFSP a intégré les personnes transgenres dans la mise en œuvre du PNVI. Cette intégration s’est faite à plusieurs niveaux :  

  • Intégration de la variable « transgenre » dans les formulaires complémentaires d’IST à déclaration obligatoire.
  • Intégration de la variables « transgenre »dans l’outil de conseil et dépistage volontaire BerDa.
  • Intégration de la variable « transgenre »dans les projets touchant au travail du sexe.

Les personnes transgenres et le sexe tarifé

L’enquête de la Fondation Agnodice menée en 2008 auprès des femmes-transgenres travailleuses du sexe à Lausanne dresse un
tableau inquiétant des risques encourus par cette population et soulève des vulnérabilités spécifiques. Celles-ci se résument notamment aux rapports sexuels non protégés dans le cadre de leur activité professionnelle, ainsi qu’à l’échange de seringues pour des injections d’hormones, voire de silicone, dans le but de féminiser leur corps.  

Les travailleuses du sexe transgenres sont fortement marginalisées et fréquemment victimes de chantage et de violences – y compris de violences policières. Une consommation de drogues et d’alcool problématique est fréquente sous la pression des clients. Leur santé psychique est particulièrement fragile. Le taux de dépression et de tentative de suicide est en moyenne plus élevé auprès de cette population que dans la population générale.  

Leurs clients présentent des caractéristiques particulières. Ces derniers recherchent un corps féminin et un pénis fonctionnel capable d’érection et d’éjaculation. Cette enquête estime qu’environ 30'000 rapports sexuels sont annuellement effectués par les 50 travailleuses du sexe transgenres qui ont répondu à l’enquête.  

Depuis 2012, l’OFSP sensibilise ses partenaires de terrain travaillant dans la prévention VIH/IST auprès des travailleuses du sexe d’intégrer systématiquement les travailleuses du sexe transgenres dans leurs projets. Les personnes transgenres, dont les travailleuses du sexe transgenres, font l’objet d’une attention particulière dans le cadre « Migration et facteurs de vulnérabilité 2016+ »  

Informations complémentaires

Centres de dépistage pour le VIH et d'autres IST

Evaluez votre risque et trouvez un centre de consultation et de dépistage VIH/IST approprié.

Législation Maladies transmissibles – Loi sur les épidémies (LEp)

La nouvelle loi fédérale du 3.12.2010 sur la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles de l’homme (loi sur les épidémies, LEp) est en vigueur depuis le 1.1.2016, et permet la détection précoce, la surveillance et la prévention.

Dernière modification 17.09.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division des maladies transmissibles
Section prévention & promotion
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/transmenschen.html