Men who have sex with men (MSM)

In Switzerland, MSM represent the population most affected by HIV and syphilis. Almost 50% of HIV diagnoses and 60% of syphilis diagnoses are in the MSM group. A national strategy has been in place since 2012. 

Estimating the number and regional distribution of MSM in Switzerland

Together with colleagues at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, researchers of the FOPH have estimated the number and regional distribution of MSM living in Switzerland. This allows for the first time to calculate the prevalence of HIV infection among MSM in Switzerland (see download):

From HIV to gay health

In collaboration with the Swiss AIDS Association and Checkpoint sexual health centres, the FOPH has developed a national strategy, known as the Urgent Action Plan. This strategy, in place since 2012, was currently updated. The new Urgent Action was published in 2018.

A strategy with three fields of action

The Urgent Action Plan focuses on three fields of action. These are:

Field of action I

  • Inform MSM of the issue of primary infection, and teach them to recognise the symptoms.
  • Reduce the community viral load by breaking the chains of primary infection and lowering the risk of HIV and other STIs for MSM.

Field of action II

  • Reducing the interval between infection and diagnosis to under 12 months.

Field of action III

  • Preventing transmission after diagnosis.

The strategy in action on the ground

The implementation of the Urgent Action Plan is today reflected in the Break the Chains, STOP SYPHILIS, and #undetectable annual campaigns.

Break the Chains encourages MSM to avoid any risk of HIV transmission during a one-month period (in April) until they get tested for HIV in May. The objective is to reduce the risk of HIV for the gay community and MSM by detecting as many people as possible who are not (yet) aware that they have the infection.

STOP SYPHILIS offers guidance and free testing for syphilis. It is also an opportunity for MSM to ask themselves if they also need testing for HIV, chlamydia, gonorrhoea and hepatitis C.

The #undetectable campaign informs MSM that HIV-positive people who are being treated and have an undetectable viral load do not transmit the HIV virus. With this information, the campaign aims to fight stigmatisation and discrimination against MSM who are HIV-positive.

Towards better gay health in Switzerland

Risk taking and HIV/sexually transmitted infections are symptoms of a complex overall health environment, with social indicators highlighting specific vulnerabilities. External homophobia (generalised or in the form of physical/verbal assault) and internalised homo-negativity encourage, amongst their vulnerabilities, a permanent state of anxiety that reinforces, from a very young age, low self-esteem and increases the risk of suicide in young homosexuals.

The challenges of gay health go far beyond HIV/STI prevention. HIV/STI prevention is one aspect of promoting overall health in the homosexual community. Support for a wider psycho-social effort that promotes autonomy and self-determination for homosexual men and women is required.

Further information

Counselling and testing centres for HIV and other STI's

Do the risk assessment and find the right counselling and testing centre for you.

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 13.02.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/schwule-gesundheit-msm.html

Santé Gay et HSH

Les HSH représentent la population la plus concernée par le VIH et la syphilis en Suisse. Près de 50% des diagnostics VIH et 60% des diagnostics de la Syphilis se comptent parmi les HSH. Une stratégie nationale est mise en œuvre depuis 2012.  

Estimations sur le nombre et la répartition régionale d’HSH

Des scientifiques de l’OFSP ont effectué, en collaboration avec la London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, des estimations concernant le nombre d’hommes vivant en Suisse, ayant des rapports sexuels avec des hommes. Il existe ainsi pour la première fois en Suisse également des évaluateurs de prévalence du VIH chez les HSH (voir étude qui suit).

Du VIH à la santé gay

L’OFSP a développé en collaboration avec ses partenaires de terrain, l’Aide suisse contre le sida et les centres de santé sexuelle Checkpoint, une stratégie nationale sous le nom d’Urgent Action Plan. Cette stratégie, appliquée depuis 2012, était actualisée. Le nouveau plan d’action d’urgence était publié en 2018.  

Une stratégie en trois champs d’action

Le plan d’action d’urgence se compose de trois champs d’actions qui visent à :

 Champ d’action I :

  • Informer les HSH sur les enjeux de la primo-infection, et apprendre à reconnaître ses symptômes.
  • Réduire la charge virale communautaire en brisant les chaines de primo-infection VIH et rendre la scène HSH à moindre risque en termes de VIH et d’autres IST.  

Champs d’action II :

  • Réduire à moins de 12 mois le temps entre une infection et son diagnostic.  

Champs d’action III :

  • Prévenir les transmissions après un diagnostic

La stratégie concrètement sur le terrain :

La mise en œuvre du plan d’action d’urgence se traduit aujourd’hui au travers des campagnes annuelles Break the Chains, STOP SYPHILIS, #undetectable.  

Break the Chains encourage les HSH à éviter les prises de risque durant 30 jours (avril) jusqu’au dépistage VIH en mai. L’objectif est de rendre la scène gay et HSH à moindre risque en détectant les plus de personnes possibles n’ayant pas (encore) conscience de leur infection.  

STOP SYPHILIS offre la possibilité d’être conseillé et dépisté gratuitement pour la syphilis. C’est aussi l’occasion pour les HSH de s’interroger sur la nécessité d’être également dépistés pour le VIH, la chlamydia, la gonorrhée et l’hépatite C.  

La campagne #undetectable informe les HSH que les personnes VIH-positives sous traitement avec une charge virale indétectable ne peuvent pas transmettre le virus du sida. Par cette information, la campagne cherche à lutter contre les discriminations et la stigmatisation des personnes séropositives au sein des HSH.  

Vers une meilleure santé gay en Suisse :

Les prises de risque et les infections VIH/IST sont les symptômes d’une santé globale complexe dont les indicateurs sociaux soulèvent des vulnérabilités spécifiques. L’homophobie externe (ambiante ou agressions physiques et verbales) et homo-négativité intériorisée favorisent, entre autres vulnérabilités, un état d’anxiété permanent qui renforce dès le plus jeune âge la construction d’une estime de soi déficiente, et augmente les risques de suicide chez les jeunes gays et les jeunes lesbiennes.       

Les défis de la santé gay se situent au-delà de la prévention VIH/IST. La prévention VIH/IST est une composante d’une promotion
globale de la santé chez les personnes homosexuelles. Elle doit aussi accompagner et soutenir un travail psycho-social plus large qui vise l’autonomie et l’autodétermination des hommes et des femmes homosexuel-le-s.

Informations complémentaires

Centres de dépistage pour le VIH et d'autres IST

Evaluez votre risque et trouvez un centre de consultation et de dépistage VIH/IST approprié.

Législation Maladies transmissibles – Loi sur les épidémies (LEp)

La nouvelle loi fédérale du 3.12.2010 sur la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles de l’homme (loi sur les épidémies, LEp) est en vigueur depuis le 1.1.2016, et permet la détection précoce, la surveillance et la prévention.

Dernière modification 22.02.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division des maladies transmissibles
Section prévention & promotion
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/schwule-gesundheit-msm.html