Controlling infectious diseases in prisons

The frequency of infectious disease is higher among the prison population than in the community. The Epidemiengesetz (Epidemics Act) obliges all prisons to protect prisoners from the risk of infection and to provide medical treatment for them. 

Commitment of the FOPH

The enforcement of sentences and other measures is the responsibility of the cantons. As part of its statutory competencies, the FOPH is committed to ensuring that people in custody are offered healthcare in accordance with human rights. In the 1990s, the FOPH supported pilot tests to minimise infection in prisons. From 2008 to 2012, it conducted a project entitled “Controlling Infectious Diseases in Prisons (BIG)” in partnership with the Federal Office of Justice (FOJ) and the Conference of Cantonal Justice and Police Directors (KKJPD).

Epidemiengesetz (Epidemics Act)

With the entry into force of the revised Epidemics Act on 1 January 2016, all prisons were obliged to give prisoners access to appropriate measures for preventing infectious diseases. Among other things, it obliges prisons to offer people in their care a medical questionnaire on admission, to inform them about infectious diseases and, if necessary, provide access to condoms, clean material for the injection of drugs, and treatment involving prescription of controlled drugs.

Further information

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 13.01.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/bekampfung-von-infektionskrankheiten-im-gefangnis.html

Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses en milieu carcéral

La fréquence des maladies infectieuses est plus élevée en milieu carcéral que dans le reste de la population. La loi sur les épidémies oblige tous les établissements pénitentiaires à protéger les détenus contre les infections et à leur fournir des soins de santé.

Engagement de l’OFSP

L’exécution des peines et des mesures est du ressort des cantons. Dans le cadre de ses compétences légales, l’OFSP s’engage pour garantir aux personnes en détention l’accès à des soins de santé en conformité avec les droits de l’homme. Dans les années 90, l’OFSP a appuyé des projets pilotes visant la réduction des dommages dans les prisons. De 2008 à 2012, en collaboration avec l’Office fédéral de la justice (OFJ) et la Conférence des directrices et directeurs des départements cantonaux de justice et police (CCDJP), l’OFSP a mené le projet « Lutte contre les maladies infectieuses en milieu carcéral » (BIG).

Loi sur les épidémies

La nouvelle loi sur les épidémies, entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016, oblige les établissements de privation de liberté à garantir aux détenus l’accès à des mesures appropriées de prévention des maladies infectieuses. Ils sont notamment tenus de veiller à ce que les personnes dont ils ont la charge soient interrogées par des professionnels de santé à leur arrivée dans l’institution, soient informées sur les maladies infectieuses, et, le cas échéant, aient accès à des préservatifs, à du matériel d’injection stérile et à un traitement à base de stupéfiants.

Informations complémentaires

Législation Maladies transmissibles – Loi sur les épidémies (LEp)

La nouvelle loi fédérale du 3.12.2010 sur la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles de l’homme (loi sur les épidémies, LEp) est en vigueur depuis le 1.1.2016, et permet la détection précoce, la surveillance et la prévention.

Dernière modification 01.11.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division des maladies transmissibles
Section prévention & promotion
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/bekampfung-von-infektionskrankheiten-im-gefangnis.html