Testing and counselling

The FOPH encourages counselling and testing (voluntary or doctor-initiated) for HIV and other STIs. The FOPH has published its recommendations on HIV for voluntary counselling and testing centres and for doctors. 

HIV-tests for self-administration ("HIV self-tests")

For information on HIV-tests for self-administration ("HIV self-tests") click here.

Voluntary counselling and testing (VCT)

Promotion of voluntary screening for STIs (including HIV) has seen continual growth in hospitals and sexual counselling centres since the publication of the national programme for HIV and other sexually transmitted infections.

The FOPH recommends that HIV/STI testing is always accompanied by the documentation of sexual behaviour history and counselling prior to and following the test.

The fourth-generation rapid HIV test can detect HIV infection two weeks after the risk-taking behaviour, and confirms the absence of HIV infection six weeks after the risk has been taken. If primary HIV infection is suspected (flu-like symptoms), HIV/STI testing centres ensure that more sensitive screening in the form of laboratory analysis is undertaken. Rapid tests also exists for syphilis and hepatitis B and C.

The FOPH promotes voluntary HIV/STI counselling and testing and publishes targeted recommendations regarding HIV on its website for the benefit of screening centres offering VCT.

Provider-initiated counselling and testing (PICT)

The VCT approach is complemented by "provider-initiated counselling and testing" (PICT). According to VCT rules, HIV testing should not be carried out only at the request of the patient. For example, doctors always recommend that pregnant women are screened for HIV and syphilis. Certain symptoms and clinical situations may be caused by an HIV infection and so lead doctors to suggest an HIV test. Recommendations have been made in cooperation with the FOPH committee of HIV clinical and therapy experts.

The PICT recommendations have three objectives: they must allow the doctor a) not to miss an HIV primary infection, b) to consider the possibility of advanced HIV infection where the symptoms or the clinical situation are not clear, and c) to undertake a prevention-focused interview/counselling session with patients and offer them an HIV test if they are thought to have taken risks.

BerDa (electronic history taking, counselling and reporting tool)

To ensure that Swiss VCT centres provide a high level of counselling quality, the FOPH has developed a web tool known as BerDa. On the basis of a self-administered questionnaire, BerDa automatically creates a risk profile for the person requesting the test. It offers a structure for the consultation, together with a series of targeted recommendations that are relevant to the answers given and to the client's sexual behaviour.

BerDa also collects information supplied by VCT centre clients in the form of anonymous statistical data which helps identify various trends in Switzerland.

VCT centres wishing to acquire BerDa can contact the Prevention and Promotion unit of the FOHP's Communicable Diseases division.

LOVE LIFE and testing and counselling services in Switzerland

The website of the national LOVE LIFE campaign features a "risk test" tool that tells people when and where they can take an HIV/STI test.  

Further information

Counselling and testing centres for HIV and other STI's

Do the risk assessment and find the right counselling and testing centre for you.

Guidelines and recommendations on sexually transmitted infections

The FOPH draws up guidelines and recommendations for HIV and other sexually transmitted infections along with the Swiss Federal Commission for Sexual Health (FCSH).

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 05.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/freiwillige-beratung-und-testung.html

Dépistages et conseils

L’OFSP encourage le conseil et les dépistages (volontaires ou initiés par le médecin) du VIH et des autres IST. L’OFSP a publié des recommandations s’agissant du VIH à l’attention des centres de conseils et de dépistages volontaires (VCT) et à l’attention des médecins.

Dépistage du VIH pour usage personnel (« autotest du VIH »)

Vous trouverez des informations sur le test de dépistage du VIH pour usage personnel (« autotest du VIH ») ici.

Conseils et dépistages volontaires (VCT)

La promotion du dépistage volontaires des IST (inclus VIH) se renforce continuellement dans les centres hospitaliers et dans les centres de conseil en santé sexuelle depuis la publication du programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles PNVI.  

L’OFSP recommande qu’un dépistage VIH/IST soit toujours accompagné d’une anamnèse des comportements sexuels et d’un conseil préliminaire et consécutif au test. Le test VIH rapide de 4ème génération peut détecter une infection VIH deux semaines après une prise de risque, et confirme l’absence d’infection VIH six semaines après la prise de risque. En cas de soupçon de primo-infection à VIH (symptômes grippaux), les centres de dépistage VIH/IST s’assurent d’effectuer un dépistage plus sensible en faisant une analyse en laboratoire. Il existe aussi un test rapide de la syphilis.  

L’OFSP promeut le conseil et le dépistage VIH/IST volontaire et publie sur son site Internet des recommandations ciblées sur le VIH adressées aux centres de dépistage qui proposent le VCT.

Provider initiated counselling and testing (PICT)

Le concept de « provider initiated counselling and testing » (PICT) complète l’approche VCT. Le test VIH ne doit pas être uniquement effectué sur demande du patient selon les règles du VCT. Par exemple, les médecins recommandent systématiquement un test VIH et un dépistage de la syphilis aux femmes enceintes. Certains symptômes et tableaux cliniques peuvent découler d’une infection VIH et inciter les médecins à proposer un test VIH. Des recommandations ont été élaborées en collaboration avec la Commission d’experts clinique et thérapie VIH de l’OFSP.

Les recommandations PICT ont trois objectifs : elles doivent permettre au médecin a) de ne pas rater une primo-infection VIH, b) de penser à une infection VIH avancée en cas de symptômes ou de tableau clinique peu clairs et c) de mener un entretien-conseil préventif avec le patient et de lui proposer un dépistage du VIH s’il pense que celui-ci a eu des comportements sexuels à risque.

BerDa (outil électronique d’anamnèse, de conseil et de déclaration)

Afin de garantir un haut niveau de qualité des conseils émis par les centres VCT de Suisse, l’OFSP a développé, sous le nom de BerDa, un outil Internet. Sur la base d’un questionnaire auto-administré, BerDa établit automatiquement un profil à risque du demandeur de test. Il propose une structure de la consultation, ainsi qu’une série de recommandations ciblées et pertinentes aux déclarations et aux comportements sexuels du client ou de la cliente.

BerDa récolte également les informations fournies par les client-e-s des centres VCT sous forme de données statistiques anonymes participant à l’observation des différentes tendances en Suisse. Les centres VCT souhaitant acquérir BerDa peuvent contacter la section Prévention et Promotion de la Division MT de l’OFSP.

LOVE LIFE et les services de tests et de conseils en Suisse

Le site Internet de la campagne nationale LOVE LIFE dispose de l’outil « Test du risque » permettant aux particuliers de savoir quand et où effectuer un test VIH/IST.

Informations complémentaires

Centres de dépistage pour le VIH et d'autres IST

Evaluez votre risque et trouvez un centre de consultation et de dépistage VIH/IST approprié.

Directives et recommandations concernant le VIH et d’autres IST

Vous trouverez ici des directives et des recommandations relatives au VIH et aux autres infections sexuellement transmissibles.

Législation Maladies transmissibles – Loi sur les épidemies (LEp)

La nouvelle loi fédérale du 3.12.2010 sur la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles de l’homme (loi sur les épidémies, LEp) est en vigueur depuis le 1.1.2016, et permet la détection précoce, la surveillance et la prévention.

Dernière modification 05.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division des maladies transmissibles
Section prévention & promotion
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/freiwillige-beratung-und-testung.html