National Vaccination Strategy (NVS)

“To protect the population adequately against vaccine-preventable diseases”. In pursuit of this goal, the Confederation, the Cantons and other stakeholders have drawn up the National Vaccination Strategy (NVS) and the associated action plan. They are now working together to implement them.

NSI: Conseil pour une famille

Why does Switzerland need an NVS?

Vaccination is one of the most effective and least expensive health measures. However, the vaccination system in Switzerland still has some weak points. Access to vaccinations is sometimes difficult, and some groups within the population are not convinced that certain vaccinations are necessary or effective. Furthermore, the roles and responsibilities of the parties involved are unclear.

The NVS creates a framework within which vaccines can be administered in a coordinated, effective and efficient manner to protect the population. It has three main goals:

  • to encourage stakeholders to take the issue of vaccination seriously.
  • to ensure that the public is given a good enough understanding of the issue tomake an informed decision.
  • to simplify access to vaccinations.

Development of the strategy

Work on the development of the NVS began at the end of 2012. The Confederation, the Cantons and the main stakeholders worked together to define the need for action, goals and priority measures.  In spring 2016, all involved parties were invited to share their opinions on the strategy project in a public hearing. The Federal Council adopted the NVS on 11 January 2017. It tasked the FOPH with its implementation in collaboration with the cantons and other stakeholders.

As the first step in its implementation, the strategy stipulates that the individual measures needed to achieve its goals be fleshed out. The partners tasked with implementation have chosen an action plan as the format for this detailed planning.

Action plan for implementation

On 2 July 2018, the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Health Ministers (GDK) and FOPH approved the action plan for the NSI. It fleshes out the elements described in the strategy, namely:

  • the measures, roles and responsibilities that will be used to implement the strategy;
  • the timelines for implementation, and how implementation will be organised and evaluated.

The action plan defines 28 measures that are needed to fulfil the goals of the NVS. These can be grouped into various thematic areas, such as provision, training and communication.

The action plan provides all parties involved in vaccination with a strategy implementation “logbook”. Like the strategy itself, the action plan is the result of a participative process. All the organisations and institutions involved in the NVS contributed. The aim of the action plan is to optimise cooperation between the different stakeholders. This is essential if the NVS is to be a success.

Outlook and evaluation

The NVS makes provision for two five-year implementation periods. An interim evaluation is scheduled for after the first phase in 2023; the full ten years will be evaluated after the second phase. The 28 measures set out in the action plan will have been launched by the time the interim evaluation takes place. They do not have a fixed duration.
Both the direction and content of the action plan may be modified in line with the findings of the interim evaluation.  

Documents

Further relevant documents are available in other languages:  

Legislation

Further informations

Vaccinations and prevention

Infectious diseases can have serious consequences. Vaccinations are the most effective form of protection, not only for your own child. There are also medicinal prophylactic treatments for diseases such as malaria.

Strategy Health2020

Going forward the Swiss healthcare system has to maintain its high quality and remain fundable and accessible to everyone. This is the goal of the 36 measures set out in the federal administration’s Health2020 strategy. Find out more here.

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 23.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

E-mail SNV

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationale-strategie-impfungen-nsi.html

Stratégie nationale de vaccination (SNV)

Garantir une protection suffisante de la population contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination. Dans cette optique, la Confédération, les cantons et d’autres acteurs ont élaboré la stratégie nationale de vaccination (SNV) et le plan d’action correspondant, qu’ils mettront en œuvre ensemble.

NSI: Conseil pour une famille

Pourquoi cette stratégie ?

Les vaccinations comptent parmi les mesures médicales préventives les plus efficaces et les moins coûteuses. Toutefois, le système de vaccination en Suisse présente encore quelques points faibles : l’accès aux vaccins n’est pas toujours aisé, une partie de la population doute de l’utilité et de l’efficacité de certains, les rôles et responsabilités des différents acteurs ne sont pas clairement définis.

Dans le but de protéger la population, la SNV crée les conditions pour que les vaccins soient administrés de manière coordonnée, efficace et efficiente. Elle poursuit essentiellement trois objectifs :

  • inciter les acteurs à prendre la thématique au sérieux,
  • fournir une information optimale à la population afinqu’elle puisse prendre des décisions éclairées,
  • faciliter l’accès aux vaccinations.

Développement de la SNV

La Confédération, les cantons et les principaux acteurs ont commencé à élaborer la stratégie fin 2012. Ils ont défini ensemble les actions nécessaires, les objectifs et les mesures prioritaires. Au printemps 2016, tous les milieux concernés ont été invités à prendre position sur le projet de stratégie dans le cadre d’une audition publique. Le Conseil fédéral a adopté la SNV le 11 janvier 2017 et a chargé l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) de mettre en œuvre cette stratégie en collaboration avec les cantons et d’autres acteurs.

La première étape consiste à préciser le détail des mesures qui seront prises. Pour ce faire, les partenaires ont choisi
de créer un plan d’action.

Un plan d’action pour sa mise en œuvre

Le 2 juillet 2018, la Conférence suisse des directeurs et directrices cantonaux de la santé (CDS) et l’OFSP ont adopté un plan d’action précisant les
éléments décrits dans la stratégie, à savoir :

  • les mesures prévues, les rôles et les responsabilités ;
  • le calendrier, l’organisation et l’évaluation.

Ce plan définit 28 mesures indispensables pour atteindre les objectifs de la SNV. Elles peuvent être regroupées par thème (par exemple,  approvisionnement, formation ou encore communication).
Le plan d’action est destiné à servir de « carnet de bord » pour les acteurs impliqués dans la mise en œuvre de la SNV. Comme la stratégie elle-même, ce document est issu d’un processus participatif : toutes les organisations et institutions concernées ont pu prendre part à son élaboration. Il devrait en outre permettre une collaboration optimale entre ces différents acteurs : un aspect crucial pour le succès de la SNV.

Déroulement et évaluation

La SNV prévoit une mise en œuvre en deux périodes, d’une durée de cinq ans chacune. Une évaluation intermédiaire sera menée à l’issue de la première période, en 2023. La seconde période sera suivie d’une évaluation globale portant sur les dix années d’application de la stratégie. Les 28 mesures définies dans le plan d’action devront être lancées avant l’évaluation intermédiaire. Leur durée n’est pas limitée.
Selon les résultats de ce bilan d’étape, l’orientation et le contenu du document pourront être adaptés.  

Informations complémentaires

Vaccinations et prophylaxie

Les maladies infectieuses peuvent être graves. La vaccination est la meilleure protection pour votre enfant et pour les autres. Des prophylaxies existent pour des maladies comme le paludisme.

Stratégie Santé2020

Pérenniser un système de santé suisse d’excellente qualité, finançable et accessible à tous : tel est le but visé par la stratégie Santé2020 qui s’articule autour de 36 mesures. En savoir plus…

Législation Maladies transmissibles – Loi sur les épidemies (LEp)

La nouvelle loi fédérale du 3.12.2010 sur la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles de l’homme (loi sur les épidémies, LEp) est en vigueur depuis le 1.1.2016, et permet la détection précoce, la surveillance et la prévention.

Dernière modification 23.11.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

E-mail SNV

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationale-strategie-impfungen-nsi.html