Swiss Health Foreign Policy

Switzerland’s health foreign policy is a political instrument that enables Switzerland to adopt a coordinated approach to, and a coherent position on, global health at an international level. 

 
Discours d'ouverture du Conseiller fédéral Alain Berset lors de la 71ème Assemblée mondiale de la Santé, Genève (CH), 21 mai 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)
Federal Councillor Alain Berset giving the opening address at the 71st World Health Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland, on 21 May 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)

Promoting the health and wellbeing of all

On 15 May 2019, the Federal Council adopted an updated version of its health foreign policy covering the period from 2019 to 2024.  This policy enables federal players to follow a uniform approach to international cooperation with other countries, international organisations and other international stakeholders with the aim of achieving the highest attainable standard of health for all.

The Federal Council intends to play an international role in the six priority action areas listed below:

    1. Health protection and humanitarian crises

    2. Access to medicine

    3. Sustainable healthcare and digitalisation

    4. Health determinants

    5. Governance of the global health regime

    6. Addiction policy

As regards health protection and humanitarian crises, for example, one of Switzerland’s aims is to improve protection against global health risks for the Swiss population. In pursuit of this aim, it is involved in efforts within the World Health Organization (WHO) to strengthen the international system set up to detect, monitor, prevent and combat transmissible diseases. Furthermore, it is helping to combat the growing problem of resistance to conventional antibiotics, primarily by promoting action to prevent infectious diseases, develop new antibiotics and provide coordination at international level. Finally, Switzerland is working to ensure access to care in crisis situations in all countries.

Alignment with the international context

Global developments in recent years and new health-related challenges were also factored into the process of aligning Swiss health foreign policy with the international context. In particular, these include replacing the UN’s Millennium Development Goals with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. It was in this context that the Federal Council adopted the Health Foreign Policy 2019–2024. The policy follows the same general direction as the preceding programme, but includes six action areas that are closely aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals of the UN’s 2030 Agenda. This is to enable Switzerland to make an even more effective contribution to national and international health promotion.

The need for consistency on the international stage

Switzerland’s health foreign policy has been updated with the aim of ensuring that the national policy develops in a way that is consistent with Switzerland’s international involvement in health. Responding to the complex nature of relations between the many different players involved in health at international level, Switzerland became one of the first countries to adopt an interdepartmental health foreign policy strategy. This instrument enables Switzerland to develop a coordinated, coherent public health policy at both national and international level. The six action areas addressed by the health foreign policy were identified in conjunction with stakeholders in the cantons, private sector, research and civil society, as well as other affected players. There is interaction between the action areas and the activities associated with each. The Health Foreign Policy 2019–2024 will be reviewed in six years’ time at the latest.

The health foreign policy addresses the following stakeholders:

Federal bodies, such as the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the Federal Institute of Intellectual Property and the Swiss Conference of the Cantonal Ministers of Public Health; medical and scientific institutes, including hospitals, clinics, universities and research centres; other non-State players, specifically foundations, associations, non-governmental organisations and the private sector.

 
 

Last modification 07.10.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/schweizer-gesundheitsaussenpolitik.html

Politique extérieure suisse en matière de santé (PES)

La politique extérieure en matière de santé (PES) est un instrument politique qui permet à la Suisse d’adopter une approche coordonnée et une position cohérente sur la santé globale au niveau international.

 
Discours d'ouverture du Conseiller fédéral Alain Berset lors de la 71ème Assemblée mondiale de la Santé, Genève (CH), 21 mai 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)
Discours d'ouverture du Conseiller fédéral Alain Berset lors de la 71ème Assemblée mondiale de la Santé, Genève (CH), 21 mai 2018 (©WHO / A. Tardy)

Promouvoir la santé et le bien-être de tous

Le 15 mai 2019, le Conseil fédéral a adopté une version actualisée de sa politique extérieure en matière de santé pour les années 2019 à 2024.  Grâce à cette politique, les acteurs fédéraux suivent une logique commune de coopération au niveau international avec les Etats, les organisations internationales et d’autres acteurs de la scène internationale en vue d’atteindre le meilleur état de santé pour tous.

Le Conseil fédéral entend s’engager au niveau international dans les six champs d'action prioritaires suivants:

    1. Protection de la santé et crises humanitaires

    2. Accès aux produits thérapeutiques

    3. Système de soins de santé durable et numérisation

    4. Déterminants de la santé

    5. Gouvernance en matière de santé globale

    6. Politique en matière d’addictions

Comme exemple : En ce qui concerne la protection de la santé et les crises humanitaires, la Suisse veut, entre autres, améliorer la protection de sa population contre les risques sanitaires mondiaux. Dans cette optique, elle participe, au sein de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), au renforcement du système international servant à détecter, à surveiller, à prévenir et à combattre les maladies transmissibles. En outre, elle s’investit dans la lutte contre la résistance croissante aux antibiotiques conventionnels, notamment en encourageant la prévention des maladies infectieuses, la mise au point de nouveaux antibiotiques et la coordination au niveau international. Enfin, la Suisse œuvre pour que l’accès aux soins soit assuré lors des situations de crise dans tous les pays.

Politique adaptée au contexte international

Les développements mondiaux de ces dernières années et les nouveaux défis en matière de santé ont également été pris en compte pour adapter la politique extérieure de santé au contexte international. Ceux-ci incluent notamment le remplacement des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement des Nations Unies par le programme de développement durable à l'horizon 2030. Dans ce contexte, le Conseil fédéral a adopté la politique extérieure de santé 2019-2024 qui maintient l’orientation générale du programme précédent, mais comprend six domaines d'action fortement alignés aux objectifs de développement durable (ODD) de l'Agenda 2030 de l'ONU. Ceci, afin que la Suisse puisse apporter une contribution encore plus efficace à la santé nationale et mondiale.

Cohérence sur la scène internationale

La mise à jour de la PES s’est faite dans l’optique d’assurer une cohérence entre l’évolution de la politique nationale et de l’engagement international suisse en matière de santé. Face à la complexité des relations entre les nombreux acteurs de la santé au niveau international, la Suisse a été l’un des premiers Etats à adopter une stratégie interdépartementale de politique extérieure de santé. Grâce à cet instrument, la Suisse peut développer une politique de santé publique coordonnée et cohérente tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale. Les six domaines d’action de la PES, ont été établis en concertation avec les parties prenantes des cantons, du secteur privé, de la recherche, de la société civile et d'autres acteurs concernés. Il existe des interactions entre les champs d’action et leurs activités respectives. La PES 2019-2024 sera réexaminée dans un délai maximal de six ans.

La PES intègre les parties-prenantes suivantes :

Les organes fédéraux tels que l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE), le Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO), l’Institut fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (IPI) ou encore la Conférence suisse des directrices et directeurs cantonaux de la santé (CDS), les instituts médicaux et scientifiques dont les hôpitaux, les cliniques, les universités et les centres de recherche, les autres acteurs non étatiques que sont les fondations, les associations, les organisations non-gouvernementales et le secteur privé.

 

Dernière modification 26.11.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Affaires internationales
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/schweizer-gesundheitsaussenpolitik.html