International Health Regulations (IHR)

Switzerland applies the International Health Regulations drawn up by the WHO in order to protect itself against certain serious threats to public health. Should such a threat arise, it coordinates its response with the WHO member states.

The functioning and aims of the IHR

The International Health Regulations govern international cooperation for the control of infectious diseases. They apply to any event which could constitute an acute threat to public health, whether this be of a natural, accidental or deliberate origin and whether biological or chemical agents, or ionising radiation, are involved. One of the main objectives of the IHR is to combat the global spread of infectious diseases, without unnecessarily reducing the flow of persons and goods.      

Entry into force at global level and application in Switzerland

The revised International Health Regulations (IHR) came into force at international level on 15 June 2007. The Federal Council approved the regulations without any reservations and designated the Communicable Diseases Division of the FOPH as the point of contact. Since 2016, the revised Epidemics Act has incorporated the IHR and governs the application of these regulations in Switzerland.

Last modification 30.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Global Health Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/securite-sanitaire-internationale1/reglement-sanitaire-international.html

Règlement sanitaire international

La Suisse applique le Règlement sanitaire international de l’OMS afin de se prémunir de certaines menaces aiguës pour la santé publique. Dans une telle éventualité, elle coordonne sa riposte avec les Etats membres de l’OMS.

Fonctionnement et objectifs du RSI

Le Règlement sanitaire international fixe la collaboration internationale en matière de contrôle des maladies infectieuses. Il est applicable à tout événement susceptible de présenter une menace aigüe pour la santé publique, qu’il soit d’origine naturelle, accidentelle ou délibérée, et qu’il implique des agents biologiques, chimiques ou des rayons ionisants. Un objectif principal du RSI est la lutte contre la propagation mondiale des maladies infectieuses, ceci sans péjorer inutilement les flux de personnes et de marchandises.      

Entrée en vigueur au niveau mondial et application en Suisse

La révision du Règlement sanitaire international (RSI) est entrée en vigueur au niveau international le 15 juin 2007. Le Conseil fédéral l’a approuvée sans réserve et a désigné la Division Maladies transmissibles de l’OFSP comme point de contact RSI. Depuis 2016, la loi révisée sur les épidémies assimile le RSI et régit son application en Suisse.

Dernière modification 30.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Affaires internationales
Section Santé globale
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/securite-sanitaire-internationale1/reglement-sanitaire-international.html