The global issue of antimicrobial resistance

Throughout the world, viruses and bacteria are becoming increasingly resistant to antimicrobial treatments. Switzerland is actively participating in the WHO strategy to limit antimicrobial resistance.

Resistance through mutations

The World Health Organisation (WHO) defines antimicrobial resistance as a micro-organism's resistance to an antimicrobial drug that previously killed or inhibited the micro-organism’s growth. This resistance stems from the capacity of certain viruses and bacteria to withstand attack by antiviral or antibiotic drugs respectively. The resistance occurs when the micro-organism mutates and develops a resistance gene.

Accelerated mutations throughout the world

Antimicrobial resistance has been detected everywhere in the world. The problem is becoming increasingly serious and thus constitutes one of the biggest challenges for global health. For example: 3.5% of the new cases of tuberculosis detected in different parts of the world are multi-resistant cases. This development is proceeding at an ever-faster pace due to the inappropriate use of antimicrobial drugs, ill-adapted or non-existent programmes, frantic battles against infections, poor quality drugs, lack of laboratory capacity, surveillance deficiencies and weaknesses in legislation governing the use of antimicrobial agents.

The global action plan

As a result of collective work involving the World Health Organisation (WHO), the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) and civil society, the global action plan calls for measures in five key areas:

  • improving awareness and understanding of antibiotic resistance in the population;
  • improving surveillance and research;
  • reducing the spread of infection through effective sanitation, hygiene and infection prevention measures;
  • optimizing the use of antibiotics in human and animal health;
  • increasing innovation and investment.

Switzerland's involvement

Switzerland supported the adoption of this global action plan at the World Health Assembly in May 2015. As a follow-up at the national level, the National Antibiotic Resistance Strategy (StAR) was adopted in November 2015. In addition, Switzerland has published a comparative study of different national strategies for fighting antimicrobial resistance. This marks a contribution to the Global Health Security Agenda, an initiative launched by the United States in 2014 for fighting communicable diseases.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Global Health Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/securite-sanitaire-internationale1/enjeu-global-resistance-antimicrobiens.html

Enjeu global de la résistance aux antimicrobiens

Dans le monde, virus et bactéries résistent de plus en plus aux traitements antimicrobiens. La Suisse participe activement à la stratégie de l’OMS visant à endiguer ces résistances.

Des résistances par mutations

L'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) définit la résistance aux antimicrobiens comme la résistance d’un micro-organisme à un médicament antimicrobien auquel il était jusqu’alors sensible. Cette résistance résulte de l’aptitude de certains virus et bactéries à supporter l’attaque respectivement d’antiviraux et d’antibiotiques. La résistance apparaît lorsque le micro-organisme mute en acquérant un gène de résistance.

Accélération des mutations dans le monde

Des résistances aux antimicrobiens ont été détectées partout dans le monde. Le problème s’intensifiant, il s'agit d’un des plus grands défis en terme de santé mondiale. Par exemple, 3.5% des nouveaux cas de tuberculose détectés dans le monde sont multi-résistants. Ce développement s’accélère en raison de l’usage à mauvais escient des médicaments antimicrobiens, de programmes inadaptés ou inexistants, de luttes frénétiques contre les infections, de médicaments de mauvaise qualité, de la faiblesse des capacités de laboratoire, des déficiences de la surveillance et des insuffisances de la réglementation sur l’usage des antimicrobiens.

Le plan d’action mondial

Fruit d’un travail collectif ayant impliqué l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO), l’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE) et la société civile, le plan d’action mondial prévoit cinq domaines d’action :

  • améliorer la sensibilisation à la résistance aux antimicrobiens et la compréhension du phénomène parmi les populations;
  • améliorer la surveillance et la recherche;
  • endiguer la propagation de l’infection par des mesures efficaces d’assainissement, d’hygiène et de prévention des infections;
  • optimiser l’usage des antibiotiques en santé humaine et animale;
  • renforcer l’innovation et les investissements.

Engagement de la Suisse

La Suisse a soutenu l’adoption de ce plan d’action mondial lors de l’Assemblée mondiale de la santé de mai 2015. Au niveau national, elle a suivi en adoptant la Stratégie nationale Antibiorésistance (StAR) en novembre 2015. Par ailleurs, à titre de  contribution au Global Health Security Agenda, initiative lancée par les Etats-Unis pour lutter contre les maladies transmissibles, la Suisse a publié une étude comparative sur les différentes stratégies nationales de lutte contre la résistance aux antimicrobiens.

Dernière modification 20.05.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Affaires internationales
Section Santé globale
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/securite-sanitaire-internationale1/enjeu-global-resistance-antimicrobiens.html