Diet and exercise at international level

Chronic diseases affect a growing proportion of the world’s population. A lack of exercise and poor diet are two of the major causes. In this area, Switzerland gears its approach to that of WHO and implements certain global initiatives.  

Switzerland adapts WHO’s global strategy

The Global Strategy on Diet, Physical Activity and Health defines a broad conceptual framework that requires WHO regions and member states to draw up national strategies and action plans. The corresponding resolution was approved by the Federal Council in May 2004 and the WHO strategy has been adapted to Switzerland within the National strategy on the prevention of non-communicable diseases.

WHO Europe initiatives and implementation in Switzerland  

In line with the global strategy, WHO’s regional office for Europe has initiated several projects in which Switzerland plays an active role and from which it takes on board the relevant conclusions.  

  • European Charter on Counteracting Obesity. Signed in 2006 by 53 countries including Switzerland, this charter requires governments to reinforce measures to fight obesity.

  • HEPA Europe is the European network for the promotion of health-enhancing physical activity. It encourages people in the WHO European region to adopt healthy lifestyles, in particular by doing physical activity. Switzerland funded and hosted HEPA Europe’s annual meeting in Zurich in 2014.

  • Transport-Health-Environment Paneuropean Program – The PEP promotes transport policies that take into account health and environmental concerns. The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) took part in the high-level ministerial meeting in Paris in 2014 and supports specific projects to promote soft mobility.

  • Health Economic Assessment Tools – HEAT is a tool designed for transport planners. It allows them to evaluate measures to promote walking and cycling. In Switzerland, the Federal Roads Office (FEDRO) used it as part of a study on soft mobility. The FOPH helped develop HEAT.

  • In 2015, Switzerland supported and participated in a WHO expert meeting at the University of Zurich to develop the first global strategy on physical activity.

European Union

Switzerland also takes into account the European Commission’s White Paper, which calls on shops and canteens to offer a wide choice of food, urges the food industry to reduce the amount of salt, sugar and fat in its products, and encourages people to take more exercise. 

Last modification 30.09.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Prevention of non-communicable diseases Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/praevention-und-gesundheitsfoerderung-im-internationalen-kontext/ernaehrungundbewegunginternational.html

Alimentation et activité physique à l’international

Les maladies chroniques touchent une part grandissante de la population mondiale. Le manque d’activité physique et la mauvaise alimentation en sont parmi les causes majeures. Dans ce domaine, la Suisse aligne sa démarche sur celle de l’OMS et applique certaines initiatives globales.

Adaptation suisse de la stratégie globale de l’OMS

La Stratégie mondiale pour l’alimentation, l’exercice physique et la santé définit un cadre conceptuel large qui enjoint les régions de l’OMS et les Etats Membres à définir des stratégies et des plans d’actions nationaux. La résolution correspondante avait été approuvée par le Conseil fédéral en mai 2004 et la stratégie de l’OMS est aujourd’hui adaptée en Suisse au sein de la Stratégie nationale Prévention des maladies non transmissibles.

Initiatives d’OMS Europe et mise en œuvre en Suisse

En cohérence avec la stratégie globale, le bureau européen de l’OMS a initié plusieurs projets au sein desquels la Suisse joue un rôle actif et dont elle prend en compte les conclusions.

  • Charte Européenne sur la lutte contre l’obésité. Signée en 2006 par 53 pays dont la Suisse, cette charte engage les gouvernements à renforcer les mesures de lutte contre l’obésité.

  • HEPA Europe est le réseau européen pour la promotion de l’activité physique favorable à la santé et qui vise à inciter les habitants de la région Europe à adopter un mode de vie sain, notamment en pratiquant des activités physiques et du sport. En 2014, la Suisse a financé et accueilli à Zurich la réunion annuelle d’HEPA Europe.

  • Transport-Health-Environment Paneuropean Program – THE PEP est un programme qui vise à favoriser des politiques de transport respectueuses de la santé et de l’environnement. L’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) a participé en 2014 à la conférence ministérielle à Paris et soutient des projets spécifiques afin de promouvoir la mobilité douce.

  • Health Economic Assessment Tools – HEAT est un outil à l’intention des planificateurs en matière de transport leur permettant d’évaluer l'économicité des mesures prises en faveur de la marche ou du cyclisme. En Suisse, l’Office fédéral des routes (OFROU) s’en est servi dans le cadre d’une étude sur la mobilité douce. L’OFSP a soutenu le développement du HEAT.

  • En 2015, la Suisse a soutenu et participé à une réunion d’experts OMS à l’Université de Zurich pour l’élaboration de la première stratégie mondiale sur l’activité physique.  

Union Européenne

La Suisse prend également en compte l’initiative « livre blanc » de la Commission Européenne. Celui-ci exhorte les magasins et les cantines à proposer des choix larges en termes d’alimentation, il encourage l’industrie alimentaire à réduire la teneur en sel, sucre et graisse de ses aliments et invite les individus à pratiquer davantage d'activités physiques.

Dernière modification 19.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Prévention des maladies non transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/praevention-und-gesundheitsfoerderung-im-internationalen-kontext/ernaehrungundbewegunginternational.html