Global health issues

The FOPH works on various health issues requiring international coordination. Find out here about topics including the migration of medical personnel and international drugs policy.

Innovation and access to medical products for all

In many countries, people still do not have access to the medicines they need in order to ensure an acceptable state of health. Switzerland is committed to facilitate access to medicines while safeguarding the protection of intellectual property rights which are drivers for research and innovation.

Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia at the international level

Dementia, which includes Alzheimer's disease, affects an increasing number of people in the world every year. While Switzerland has a national dementia strategy, a large number of countries still do not consider this pandemic to be a priority.

International Drug Policy

Drawing on experience, Switzerland belongs to the countries that are promoting approaches to public health, and that place the human dimension firmly at the centre of national and international drug policy.

Disease prevention and health promotion at global level

Alcohol, smoking, a lack of exercise and poor diet are the main causes of chronic diseases, both in Switzerland and worldwide. In this area, Switzerland’s activities are aligned with WHO’s global and European action plans.

International health security

A number of health threats call for cooperation between different countries. Switzerland applies the International Health Regulations and the action plan against antimicrobial resistance drawn up by the WHO to this end. It also participates in the Global Health Security Agenda.

International migration of health workers

The quality of healthcare offered depends very much on the available health workers and, in particular, on health workers from abroad. These migrations, however, lead to shortages in the departure country. A growing global awareness has prompted action in this respect, and Switzerland has contributed to these measures on both international and national level.

Comparisons and Analyses of Health Systems

Switzerland uses comparisons and analyses to identify the strengths, weaknesses and challenges of its health system. Switzerland is involved in a number of international bodies whose task is to facilitate inter-system comparisons.

Universal Health Coverage (UHC)

Almost half of the world’s population has no access to essential health services. Each year nearly hundred million people face extreme poverty because of the money they have to spend on health services.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Thématiques globales de santé

L’OFSP traite de divers thèmes de santé qui nécessitent une coordination internationale. En savoir plus sur la migration des personnels de santé, la politique internationale des drogues, etc.

Innovation et accès global aux médicaments essentiels

Dans de nombreux pays, certaines populations n’ont toujours pas accès aux médicaments pouvant leur garantir un niveau de santé acceptable. La Suisse s’engage pour faciliter l’accès aux médicaments tout en veillant aussi à la protection de la propriété intellectuelle comme l’une des incitations à la recherche et à l’innovation.

Alzheimer et autres formes de démence au niveau international

La démence, dont la maladie d’Alzheimer, touche chaque année davantage d’individus dans le monde. Alors que la Suisse dispose d’une stratégie nationale, de nombreux pays ne considèrent toujours pas cette pandémie comme prioritaire.

Politique internationale en matière de drogue

Forte de son expérience, la Suisse fait partie des Etats qui promeuvent des approches de santé publique plaçant la dimension humaine au centre politiques de drogues nationales et internationales.

Prévention et promotion de la santé au niveau global

L’alcool, le tabac, le manque d’activité physique et les mauvaises habitudes alimentaires sont les principales causes des maladies chroniques, aussi bien en Suisse que globalement. En la matière, l’engagement de la Suisse s’inscrit dans les plans d’action globaux et européens de l’OMS.

Sécurité sanitaire internationale

Certaines menaces sanitaires appellent à une collaboration entre Etats. A ce titre, la Suisse applique le Règlement sanitaire international et le plan d’action de l’OMS contre la résistance antimicrobienne. Elle participe aussi au Global Health Security Agenda.

Migration internationale du personnel de santé

La qualité de l’offre de santé dépend fortement du personnel de santé, notamment étranger. Or ces migrations créent des déficits dans les pays de départ. Une prise de conscience globale a conduit à des mesures auxquelles la Suisse a contribué tant au niveau international que national.

Comparaisons et analyses des systèmes de santé

Les études comparatives identifient forces et faiblesses des différents systèmes de santé. L’ambition des Etats participants est de s’inspirer de ce qui fonctionne ailleurs pour identifier des points d’amélioration internes.

Les soins palliatifs internationaux

Concepts et stratégies concernant les soins palliatifs dans d'autres pays et régions.

Collaboration internationale en radioprotection

La radioprotection doit correspondre aux standards internationaux et être harmonisée, surtout dans les domaines concernés par les échanges avec les pays voisins. La collaboration avec les organismes internationaux est importante.

Dernière modification 17.08.2018

Début de la page