7. Right to be Accompanied

During their stay in a care facility, patients have a right to receive assistance and advice. They are entitled to receive support from their relatives or an external person and to maintain contact with their friends and acquaintances. 

The practical situation

At their express wish, patients can be assisted by relatives or an accompanying person from outside the facility when they are admitted to hospital or a residential or nursing facility. These individuals may be present during discussions between patients and healthcare professionals or the facility management.

Accompanying persons from outside the facility provide patients with advice and moral and personal support. To a certain extent, they make up for a lack of social contacts, particularly for patients who do not get their own visitors. Although they can assist patients during admission to hospital or a care facility, they cannot act in the place of patients or represent them.

Right to assistance during involuntary committal

People who are committed to an institution involuntarily have the right to be accompanied by a trusted individual of their choice who will provide assistance during the stay.

In some cantons, independent non-profit organisations can provide an accompanying person.

Can I receive visits from anybody I want while I am in a medical facility?

Yes, throughout the time you are in a hospital or nursing home you can decide who is allowed to visit you during normal visiting hours (parents, relatives, friends, acquaintances, people you have invited) unless there are serious medical reasons why this is not possible (for example, a risk of infecting other people or if you are in intensive care).

Last modification 18.07.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health Strategies Division
Health Equity Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/7-recht-sich-begleiten-lassen.html

7. Le droit à être accompagné

Un patient qui séjourne dans un établissement de soins a droit à une assistance et à des conseils. Il est autorisé à recevoir le soutient de ses proches ou d'une personne extérieure et à maintenir le contact avec son entourage. 

En pratique

A la demande expresse du patient, un proche ou un accompagnant extérieur peut l’assister dans les démarches liées à son hospitalisation ou à son hébergement dans un home ou un établissement de soins. Ces personnes peuvent être présentes lors des entretiens du patient avec les professionnels de la santé ou avec la direction de l'établissement.

L’accompagnant extérieur apporte ses conseils et un soutien moral et humain au patient. Il peut contribuer à combler un manque de relations sociales, en particulier si le patient ne reçoit aucune visite de son entourage. Il peut assister le patient dans les démarches liées à son hospitalisation ou son hébergement. En revanche, il ne peut pas se substituer à lui et ne peut en aucun cas le représenter.

Placement à des fins d'assistance : droit à l'accompagnement

Lorsqu’une personne est placée à des fins d’assistance, elle a le droit de faire appel à une personne de confiance de son choix qui l’assistera pendant la durée de son séjour.

Dans certains cantons, des organisations indépendantes à but non lucratif proposent des accompagnants extérieurs.

Puis-je recevoir qui je veux durant mon séjour dans un établissement de soins ?

Oui, pendant toute la durée de votre séjour dans un établissement de soins, vous pouvez recevoir la visite de toutes les personnes que vous souhaitez (parents, proches, amis, connaissances, invités) aux heures prévues pour les visites, sauf s’il y a des contre-indications médicales graves (par exemple en cas de contagion ou de soins intensifs).

Dernière modification 18.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Stratégies de la santé
Section Egalité face à la santé
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/7-recht-sich-begleiten-lassen.html