6. Right of Access to Case File

Patients are entitled to inspect their patient record and obtain an explanation of its content. You are entitled to receive the documents free of charge and forward them to a healthcare professional of your choice. 

The practical situation

Patients’ right to consult their case file applies to all components of the file (in paper or electronic form), including objective comments by the healthcare professional (diagnosis, course of disease etc.) and details of treatment (medication given, results of examinations and X-ray findings, expert opinions, surgery or hospital reports, medical certificates etc.).

The right to consult does not apply to information that concerns other people and is subject to professional secrecy or to personal notes made by the healthcare professional.

If access to the patient’s case file could have serious consequences for the patient, healthcare professionals can ask for the file to be consulted in their presence or in the presence of another healthcare professional designated by the patient.

What happens to my medical file if I want to change to another healthcare professional?

You can ask for your file to be given to you personally or sent to the new healthcare professional of your choice. If the healthcare professional does not comply with your request, or does not comply in full, you can contact the competent authority in your canton.

What does “personal notes” made by the healthcare professional mean?

Many notes and comments are made by hand, which naturally doesn’t mean that they are “personal notes”. Handwritten notes are usually part of the patient’s file too and can be consulted.
There are ultimately only a few documents that can be considered “personal notes”; one example is notes made by a person supervising a junior doctor which serve solely to analyse the doctor’s behaviour towards patients.

For how long can I have access to my medical file?

Healthcare professionals must keep your file for at least ten years after the last consultation. If they are no longer working or cannot be contacted, ask their successor or the public health office in your canton.

What happens to my medical file after I die?

Your patient file will still be protected by professional secrecy after you have died. However, your relatives or third parties can gain access to certain appropriate items of information after the healthcare professional has applied to the competent authority for release from professional secrecy obligation (for example, to assist grieving relatives, for genetic counselling or as part of court proceedings).

Last modification 24.07.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health Strategies Division
Health Equity Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/6-recht-einsicht-patientendossier.html

6. Droit pour le patient de consulter son dossier

Le patient a le droit de consulter son dossier et de s’en faire expliquer la signification. En principe, il peut se faire remettre gratuitement les pièces, sous forme d'original ou de copie, et les transmettre au professionnel de la santé de son choix.

En pratique

Le patient a accès à l’ensemble de son dossier (sous forme papier ou sur support informatique), lequel contient notamment, les constatations factuelles du professionnel de la santé (diagnostic, évolution de la maladie, etc.) et les détails du traitement (médicaments administrés, résultats d’analyses et de radiographies, expertises, rapports d’opérations ou de séjours hospitaliers, certificats médicaux, etc.).

Ce droit ne s’étend pas aux informations qui concernent d’autres personnes et qui sont couvertes par le secret professionnel, ni aux notes personnelles rédigées par le professionnel.

De plus, si le professionnel de la santé pense que la remise du dossier peut avoir de graves conséquences pour le patient, il peut demander que le patient consulte le dossier en sa présence, ou en présence d’un autre professionnel de la santé choisi par le patient.

Que devient mon dossier si je consulte un autre professionnel de la santé ?

Vous pouvez demander que votre dossier vous soit remis en mains propres ou qu’il soit transmis au nouveau professionnel de la santé que vous avez choisi. En cas de réticence ou de refus, vous pouvez faire appel aux organes compétents de votre canton (voir lien).

Qu’entend-on par « notes personnelles » du professionnel ?

Le fait que des observations soient écrites à la main ne signifie pas qu’il s’agit de notes personnelles. Si elles font partie du dossier, vous devez pouvoir y accéder.
Seuls quelques rares documents peuvent être considérés comme des notes personnelles, par exemple, des documents de supervision d’un médecin-assistant qui lui servent exclusivement à analyser son comportement vis-à-vis d’un patient.

Pendant combien de temps puis-je consulter mon dossier ?

Le professionnel doit conserver votre dossier au moins dix ans après la dernière consultation. En cas de cessation d’activité du professionnel de la santé, renseignez-vous auprès de son successeur ou, à défaut, auprès du service de la santé publique de votre canton.

Que devient mon dossier après mon décès ?

Votre dossier reste protégé par le secret professionnel même après votre décès. Vos proches ou des tiers pourront toutefois avoir accès à certaines informations pertinentes une fois que le professionnel aura été délié du secret par l’autorité compétente (par exemple, pour alléger le travail de deuil d’un proche, pour des conseils génétiques ou dans le cadre de procédures judiciaires).

Informations complémentaires

Stratégie Cybersanté Suisse 2.0

La Stratégie cybersanté Suisse 2.0 vise à introduire, le dossier électronique du patient à l'échelle nationale.

Dernière modification 18.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Stratégies de la santé
Section Egalité face à la santé
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/6-recht-einsicht-patientendossier.html