4. Measures of Restraint and Treatment without Consent

Restrictive measures such as electronic monitoring, locking up, bedside rails or isolation and treatments without consent are prohibited as a rule. Nevertheless, such measures or treatments may be arranged subject to strict conditions. 

The practical situation

Measures of restraint are those that limit patients’ freedom of movement and that are imposed without their voluntary and informed consent. They infringe patients’ personal liberty and may compromise their dignity. Measures of restraint include, for example, electronic surveillance, locking doors, fitting side rails to beds to prevent falls and isolation.

Measures of restraint

A measure of restraint may only be imposed by way of exception and following consultation with the nursing staff. This may only be done if a patient’s behaviour seriously endangers their own health and safety or the health and safety of others, or substantially disrupts communal life. The measure must be appropriate and other, less restrictive measures must have been unsuccessful. If it is not an emergency situation, the restriction of any patient’s freedom of movement must be discussed with them beforehand. Cost-saving measures must not be used as a justification. Restriction must be documented and must only be imposed for a limited period. Moreover, the situation must be reviewed regularly to determine whether the measure must be continued or can be ended.

Treatment without consent

Treatment without the patient’s consent is only permitted under certain, very restrictive conditions, usually in cases of involuntary committal. It may only be considered if there are no other, less rigorous alternatives. It must be ordered by a doctor. The concerns of the affected person must be taken into account as far as possible.
The regulations governing measures of restraint and treatment without consent vary from one canton to another. It is therefore advisable to consult the cantonal legislation for more information.

What needs to be documented?

All measures of restraint must be documented in a report. Your therapeutic representative must be informed about the measure and is entitled to see the report at any time. This provides effective protection against misuse. The report must state the name of the person who ordered the measure and its nature, duration and purpose.
Before treatment without consent is given, the doctor must inform the affected person and a trusted individual of that person’s choice of the decision in writing (for example, a member of the family or another person close to the patient, someone working for a patient rights organisation or the social services).

What can I do to prevent a measure of restraint or treatment without my consent?

You, your legal representative, your therapeutic representative or your relatives can apply to the competent authorities in your canton to have such measures forbidden or stopped.

Last modification 02.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Health strategies
Section National health policy
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/4-behandlungen-ohne-einwilligung.html

4. Les mesures de contention et les traitements sans consentement

Par principe, toute mesure de contention (surveillance électronique, enfermement, barrières de lit ou isolement et traitement sans consentement) est interdite. À des conditions très strictes, de tels traitements ou mesures peuvent toutefois être imposés. 

En pratique

Une mesure de contention est une mesure qui limite la liberté de mouvement d’un patient et qui est appliquée sans son consentement libre et éclairé. Elle restreint la liberté individuelle du patient et peut porter atteinte à sa dignité. A titre d’exemple, on peut citer la surveillance électronique, la fermeture des portes, la pose de barrières de lits permettant d’éviter les chutes, ou l’isolement.

Mesures de contention

A titre exceptionnel, une mesure de contention peut être imposée à un patient après consultation avec l’équipe soignante. Il faut pour cela que le comportement du patient présente un danger grave pour sa santé, sa sécurité ou pour celles d’autres personnes ou perturbe gravement la vie communautaire. Il faut aussi que la mesure soit proportionnelle et que d’autres mesures moins restrictives aient échoué. Sous réserve des situations d’urgence, la mesure limitant la liberté de mouvement doit auparavant avoir été discutée avec le patient. Elle ne peut pas se justifier pour des motifs d’économie. Elle doit être documentée et ne peut être imposée que pour une durée limitée. Elle doit faire l’objet de réévaluations pour décider s’il est nécessaire de la maintenir ou si elle peut être levée.

Traitement sans consentement

Un traitement sans consentement n’est possible qu’à certaines conditions très restrictives, en particulier en cas de placement à des fins d’assistance. Le traitement sans consentement sera envisagé uniquement s’il n’existe pas d’autres mesures moins rigoureuses. Il doit être prescrit par un médecin. Les souhaits de la personne concernée sont pris en compte dans la mesure du possible.
Les règles concernant les mesures de contention et les traitements sans consentement varient d’un canton à l’autre. Il est ainsi recommandé de consulter les différentes législations cantonales pour le détail.

Qu’est-ce qui doit être documenté ?

Toute mesure de contention doit être consignée dans un protocole. La personne habilitée à vous représenter dans le domaine médical doit être avisée de la mesure et peut prendre connaissance du protocole en tout temps. C’est une protection efficace contre les abus. Le protocole doit notamment mentionner le nom de la personne ayant pris la décision, le type de mesure, sa durée et son but.
En cas de traitement sans consentement, le médecin doit communiquer sa décision par écrit à la personne concernée et à une personne de confiance de son choix (par exemple, membre de sa famille, proche, voire collaborateur d’une organisation de défense de patients ou d’un service social).

Comment puis-je m’opposer à une mesure de contention ou à un traitement sans consentement ?

Vous-même, votre représentant légal, la personne habilitée à vous représenter dans le domaine médical ou vos proches pouvez-vous adresser aux organes compétents dans votre canton pour demander l’interdiction ou la levée de telles mesures.

Dernière modification 02.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Stratégies de la santé
Section Politique nationale de la santé
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/4-behandlungen-ohne-einwilligung.html