2. Free consent to treatment or care after comprehensive briefing

No treatment may be given without the free and informed consent of a patient capable of sound judgement, whether adult or minor. Patients have the right to refuse care, to interrupt treatment or to leave a health-care facility if they so wish.

The practical situation

Healthcare professionals must give patients information so they can give their free consent to undergoing treatment. Patients must be provided with sufficient information in a suitable manner. Even after this, patients capable of judgement are still entitled to change their mind and withdraw their consent at any time. They may refuse treatment, discontinue it or leave a care facility at any time. In this case the healthcare professional will inform them about any risks associated with their decision and will normally ask them for written confirmation. The risk associated with refusing treatment is then borne by the patients.

Treatment without consent

It is forbidden to give treatment without the patient’s consent. Only in exceptional cases and under very strict conditions can individuals who have been committed involuntarily to a care facility or patients who are incapable of judgement or who are being treated in psychiatric hospitals be forced to undergo treatment.
In addition, measures of restraint can be imposed if patients’ behaviour seriously threatens their own health and safety or to the health and safety of others (for example during violent outbursts) and all other measures have been unsuccessful.
Other legal provisions can also restrict personal freedom. Under the Epidemics Act, for example, individuals suffering from certain transmissible diseases can be hospitalised.

What is “capable of judgement”?

Someone is capable of judgement if they can assess situations correctly and make appropriate decisions. An individual’s capacity for judgement must be assessed in terms of the specific situation and issue. This means it needs to be reassessed each time a decision has to be made. Every person is considered to be capable of judgement, with the exception of small children and individuals who have lost their capacity as a result of mental deficits, psychiatric disorders, inebriation or similar reasons. Conversely, psychiatric disorders, advanced age, guardianship or being a minor do not automatically mean someone is incapable of judgement. As already mentioned, capacity for judgement must be assessed on a case by case basis.

Must healthcare professionals obtain consent for all interventions?

Basically yes, but the form this consent takes can vary. If the intervention is a non-invasive or routine medical procedure such as taking blood or measuring blood pressure, it can be assumed that you implicitly consent. If not, the healthcare professional must ask you clearly and distinctly whether you consent to the proposed treatment.

What happens if I am not capable of consenting?

Before treatment is given, the healthcare professional must try to determine your presumed will. They will find out whether you have a living will and/or whether you – or the competent authority – have designated someone to represent you. If this is not the case, your relatives are authorised to decide for you. Healthcare professionals are released from their professional obligation of secrecy towards them to the extent necessary. You will be involved as far as possible in the treatment plan that the doctor draws up for you in consultation with your representative or relatives. In an emergency, and if you have no one to represent you, healthcare professionals will act to the best of their knowledge and in good faith in your interest, taking your assumed will into account. Special regulations apply to people committed involuntarily because of psychiatric disorders.

Who are my relatives?

Relatives are your spouse or registered partner (provided they live in the same household as you or provide you with personal assistance); then come people who live in the same household as you, your children, your father, your mother and finally your siblings (as long as they provide you with personal assistance). Relatives are authorised to consent to or refuse medical measures if you have not designated a representative in a living will or power of attorney, or if you are not being represented by a counsel appointed by the competent authority.

Last modification 18.07.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health Strategies Division
Health Equity Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/2-freie-einwilligung-nach-aufklaerung.html

2. Traitements et soins : consentement libre et éclairé

Adultes ou mineurs, les patients capables de discernement doivent donner leur consentement libre et éclairé pour tout traitement. Ils ont le droit de refuser ou d’interrompre un traitement, ou de quitter un établissement de soins. 

En pratique

Pour pouvoir se prononcer et donner ou non son consentement libre et éclairé, le patient doit avoir été bien informé par le professionnel de la santé. Celui-ci est tenu de lui fournir une information suffisante et adéquate. Par la suite, le patient capable de discernement garde le droit de changer d’avis et de retirer son consentement. Il a le droit de refuser un traitement, de l’interrompre ou de quitter un établissement de soins à tout moment. Dans ce cas, le professionnel de la santé peut lui demander de confirmer sa décision par écrit. Il l’informera des risques que cette décision lui fait courir. C’est alors au patient d’assumer les risques qui peuvent être liés à son refus du traitement.

Traitements sans consentement

Les traitements sans consentement sont interdits. A titre exceptionnel et à des conditions très strictes, des personnes placées à des fins d’assistance ou des personnes incapables de discernement traitées dans des établissements psychiatriques peuvent se voir contraintes de suivre un traitement.
Des mesures limitant la liberté de mouvement peuvent également être imposées à un patient à condition que son comportement présente un danger grave pour sa santé, sa sécurité ou pour celles d’autrui (par exemple, s’il se montre violent) et si toute autre mesure a échoué.
Il existe d’autres dispositions légales qui peuvent limiter la liberté individuelle, par exemple la loi sur les épidémies qui permet d’hospitaliser des personnes souffrant de certaines maladies contagieuses.

Qu’est-ce que le discernement ?

Etre capable de discernement, c’est avoir la faculté d’apprécier une situation et de prendre des décisions en conséquence. La capacité de discernement doit être déterminée en fonction de la situation bien précise dans laquelle vous vous trouvez et de la question qui se pose ; elle doit être évaluée chaque fois qu’une décision doit être prise. Toute personne est présumée capable de discernement, à l’exception des jeunes enfants ainsi que des personnes qui en sont privées par suite de déficience mentale, de troubles psychiques, d’ivresse ou d’autres causes semblables. Le fait d’être atteint de troubles psychiques, d’être très âgé, d’être sous curatelle ou d’être mineur n’est pas synonyme d’incapacité de discernement. Cette capacité s’apprécie de cas en cas.

Est-ce que le professionnel de la santé doit me demander mon accord pour chacune de ses interventions ?

En principe oui, mais la forme de cet accord peut varier. S’il s’agit de soins non invasifs ou de soins de routine, comme par exemple une prise de sang ou la prise de la tension artérielle, votre consentement peut être tacite. Sinon, le professionnel de la santé doit vous demander clairement si vous êtes d’accord de recevoir le soin qui vous est proposé.

Qu’arrive-t-il si je suis incapable de discernement ?

Avant de vous administrer un traitement, le professionnel de la santé doit rechercher votre volonté présumée. Il s’informera pour savoir si vous avez établi des directives anticipées et / ou si vous avez un représentant. En l’absence de représentant (désigné par vous ou par l’autorité compétente), vos proches seront habilités à décider à votre place. Dans ce cadre, les professionnels seront, dans la mesure du nécessaire, déliés du secret professionnel vis-à-vis d’eux. Vous serez par ailleurs associé, dans la mesure du possible, au plan de traitement que le médecin doit établir en accord avec votre représentant ou vos proches.
En cas d’urgence et si vous n’avez pas de représentant, le professionnel de santé agira au mieux de vos intérêts, en tenant compte de votre volonté présumée. En cas de placement à des fins d’assistance en raison de troubles psychiques, des dispositions particulières s’appliquent.

Qui sont mes proches ?

Votre conjoint ou votre partenaire enregistré, pour autant qu’il y ait ménage commun ou assistance personnelle, la personne qui fait ménage commun avec vous, ainsi que vos descendants, père, mère et enfin vos frères et sœurs, à condition que ceux-ci vous fournissent une assistance personnelle, sont habilités à consentir ou non à des soins médicaux si vous n’êtes pas déjà représenté (par une personne désignée dans les directives anticipées ou un mandat pour cause d’inaptitude ou par un curateur désigné par l’autorité compétente).

Dernière modification 18.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Stratégies de la santé
Section Egalité face à la santé
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/2-freie-einwilligung-nach-aufklaerung.html