1. The Right to Information

Patients have the right to be informed in a clear and appropriate manner about their state of health, medical examinations and treatment options, the consequences and any possible risks involved, as well as the prognosis and financial aspects of the treatment.

The practical situation

Healthcare professionals are under an obligation to volunteer information to patients. They must provide in an objective and complete manner all the information patients require to consent to their treatment in full knowledge of the facts. Patients have the right to ask questions and to ask for explanations; if necessary they can also say that they have not understood information that has been given to them.

Restriction of the right to information

The right to information may be restricted in two situations:

  • Where patients explicitly waive the right to information, for example because they do not want to know whether they have an incurable disease. This naturally does not mean that they forego appropriate treatment and care.
  • In an emergency, patients can be informed later on.

Information is only given to patients. Healthcare professionals are bound to observe professional secrecy towards third parties. If patients are not capable of judgement, their designated representative must be informed; healthcare professionals are not bound to maintain secrecy towards representatives if the situation so requires.

Residential and care home agreements

Individuals not capable of judgement who are being looked after in a residential or care home have the right to a written agreement informing them of the services provided by the facility and their cost. In some cantons, individuals capable of judgement who are living in a home are also entitled to receive a written agreement.

Second opinion

Patients who would like to get a second specialist opinion have the right to consult another healthcare professional of their choice.

Why should I get a second opinion?

Seeking a second opinion is not a vote of no confidence in the person treating you. A second opinion increases the amount of information available to you and enables you to decide whether or not you want to consent to the proposed treatment in full knowledge of all the facts. A second opinion is a particularly good idea if non-urgent surgery or treatment with serious repercussions is suggested to you.
It is advisable to find out in advance whether your health insurance will pay for a second opinion.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Health strategies
Section National health policy
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/1-recht-aufklaerung.html

1. Le droit à l’information

Le patient a le droit d’être informé de manière claire et appropriée sur son état de santé, sur les examens et traitements envisageables, sur les conséquences et les risques éventuels qu’ils impliquent, sur le pronostic et sur les aspects financiers du traitement.

En pratique

Le professionnel de la santé doit renseigner le patient spontanément. Il doit lui communiquer de manière objective et complète toutes les informations nécessaires pour que celui-ci puisse consentir au traitement en toute connaissance de cause. Le patient a le droit de poser des questions, de demander des explications et d’indiquer, le cas échéant, qu’il n’a pas compris l’information.

Restriction du droit à l'information

Le droit à l’information peut cependant être limité dans les deux cas suivants :

  • Le patient renonce de manière claire à être informé, par exemple parce qu’il ne souhaite pas savoir s’il a ou non une maladie incurable ; ce qui, bien entendu, ne signifie pas qu'il renonce aux soins.
  • En cas d’urgence, l’information peut être remise à plus tard.

L’information s’adresse au patient, et à lui seul. Vis-à-vis de tiers, le professionnel de la santé est tenu au secret. Si le patient n’est pas capable de discernement, l’information doit être donnée à la personne habilitée à le représenter. Le secret professionnel est donc levé vis-à-vis de son représentant, dans la mesure où la situation l'exige.

Homes et établissements médico-sociaux : contrats

Une personne incapable de discernement résidant dans un établissement médico-social ou un home a droit à un contrat écrit qui l’informe des prestations qui lui sont fournies par l’institution et de leur coût.
Dans certains cantons, ce droit s’applique également aux résidents capables de discernement.

Deuxième avis

Si le patient veut demander un deuxième avis médical, il a le droit de consulter un autre professionnel de la santé de son choix.

Pourquoi un deuxième avis médical ?

Demander un deuxième avis médical n’est pas un acte de défiance vis-à-vis du professionnel de la santé. Son objectif est d’améliorer votre information pour que vous puissiez décider en toute connaissance de cause si vous consentez ou non au traitement qui vous est proposé.
Cette démarche est particulièrement indiquée lorsqu’une intervention chirurgicale non urgente ou un traitement lourd vous sont proposés.
Il est prudent de vous renseigner préalablement sur la prise en charge par votre assurance de ce deuxième avis médical.

Dernière modification 18.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Stratégies de la santé
Section Egalité face à la santé
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 74 17
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/patientenrechte/rechte-arzt-spital/1-recht-aufklaerung.html