Your rights and participation as a patient

Your relationship with your doctor involves rights and obligations. Optimum treatment can only be given if a trusting relationship exists. Good relationships work better if both sides know their rights and obligations and are open to each other. 

Find out about your rights as a patient!

Medical treatments – either at the doctors or in hospital – produce better results if there is a relationship of trust between the healthcare professional and the patient. Trust is created if both sides know their rights and obligations and provide frank information. That’s why it’s worth knowing your rights as a patient. It will enable you to play a full, equal and self-determined role in your relationship with your doctors. It’s not about confrontation but about achieving partnership-based interaction between you and your doctor – for your health’s sake.

Patients should be aware not only of their rights, but also of their obligations

A transparent, trusting relationship is the only way to create a therapeutic framework that will make both the disease and its treatment easier to tolerate. It is very much in your own interest to inform healthcare professionals as accurately as possible about your symptoms, the treatment you have had or are receiving and what effect it is having. You must follow healthcare professionals’ instructions and inform them if you have stopped using a prescribed treatment without taking medical advice.

Your rights as a patient – in detail

We have divided your rights into four sections:

  1. Your rights at the doctors and in hospital
  2. Your right to a living will
  3. Your right to organ donation
  4. Your right to counselling

Die gesetzlichen Regeln variieren leicht von Kanton zu Kanton, weshalb einzelne Passagen allgemein formuliert sind. Es empfiehlt sich, im Einzelnen auch die kantonale und eidgenössische Gesetzgebung zu beachten.

Thank you to Switzerland’s “Latin” cantons

Patients’ rights are based on the work done by the French- and Italian-speaking Cantons of Switzerland. In 2013, the Cantons of Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Jura, Neuchâtel, Ticino, Valais and Vaud joined forces to produce a brochure entitled “An overview of patients’ rights”. You can order the brochure free of charge from the Public Health Offices in these cantons. The FOPH would like to thank the brochure's authors and the people responsible for it in the eight French- and Italian-speaking cantons for permission to use the information here.

 

Your Rights at the Doctors and in Hospital

Obtaining information, choosing a healthcare professional and care facility, treatments without consent, professional secrecy, accessing your patient record and support – learn all you need to know about these rights here.

Your Right to a Living Will

Any person who is capable of judgement may draw up a living will. Healthcare professionals are obliged to observe living wills. How is a living will formulated? What happens if no living will exists?

Your Right to Donate Organs and Tissue

If you wish to donate organs and tissues please complete a donor card and inform your relatives. Can one revoke this decision at a later date? What is a living donation and how is it regulated? Find out here.

Your Right To Counselling

If problems arise, you have the right to seek advice. If you are unable to reach agreement with your doctor or hospital, national – and, in some cases, cantonal – advice agencies are available. The addresses can be found here.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Patients : vos droits et votre participation

Les patients ont des droits et des devoirs. Une relation de confiance avec le médecin est indispensable pour un traitement optimal. Une bonne relation se base sur la franchise et la connaissance mutuelle des droits et des devoirs de chacune des parties. 

S’informer sur les droits des patients

Que ce soit chez le médecin ou à l'hôpital, les traitements médicaux donnent de meilleurs résultats lorsque une relation de confiance est établie entre le professionnel de la santé et son patient. La confiance s'instaure lorsque chacun connaît ses droits et devoirs et s’exprime ouvertement. Les patients ont donc tout intérêt à s’informer sur leurs droits. Ils peuvent ainsi assumer leur rôle à part entière, intervenir sur un pied d’égalité et participer aux décisions. Il ne s’agit pas de se confronter avec le médecin, mais d’établir avec lui une relation de partenariat, au service de sa propre santé.

Si les patients ont des droits, ils ont aussi des devoirs

Ainsi, il leur incombe d’informer le professionnel de la santé de la manière la plus exacte possible des symptômes ressentis, des traitements reçus ou en cours ainsi que des effets des thérapies déjà suivies. De même, il est de leur responsabilité de suivre le traitement prescrit et, en cas d’interruption, de le faire savoir. Enfin, on ne saurait trop souligner qu’une relation transparente permet le développement d’un cadre thérapeutique de qualité, qui peut contribuer à rendre la maladie et les traitements plus supportables.

Vos droits et vos possibilités en tant que patients

Nous avons réparti vos droits en quatre chapitres :

1. Vos droits dans le cadre d’un traitement médical
2. Votre droit à exprimer votre volonté (p. ex. directives anticipées)
3. Votre droit à l’autodétermination (p. ex. don d’organes et de tissus)
4. La possibilité de recevoir des conseils

Compte tenu des spécificités cantonales, les contenus peuvent rester parfois imprécis d’un point de vue juridique. Il est donc recommandé de se référer aux législations cantonales pour le détail, comme d’ailleurs aux dispositions fédérales en vigueur.

Merci aux cantons « latins »

Les droits des patients ont été élaborés grâce au travail réalisé par les cantons latins : en 2013, les cantons de Berne, de Fribourg, de Genève, du Jura, de Neuchâtel, du Tessin, du Valais et de Vaud se sont associés pour éditer la brochure L’essentiel sur les droits des patients. Vous pouvez la commander gratuitement auprès des services de la santé publique des cantons en question. L'OFSP remercie vivement les auteurs de la brochure ainsi que les huit cantons concernés d'avoir été autorisé à en reproduire ici des extraits.

Traitement médical

Information, libre choix, traitement sans consentement, secret professionnel, accès au dossier et accompagnement. Vous trouverez ici des informations sur ces différents thèmes.

Exprimer la volonté

Toute personne capable de discernement peut rédiger des directives anticipées, contraignantes pour les professionnels de la santé. Comment les formuler ? Que se passe-t-il en l'absence de directives anticipées ?

Autodétermination

Pour faire un don d'organes et de tissus, il suffit de remplir une carte de donneur et d'informer ses proches de sa décision. Peut-on se rétracter ? Qu'est-ce qu'un don d'organes par une personne vivante ? Informez-vous ici.

Prestations de conseil

En cas de différend avec le médecin ou l'hôpital, vous avez la possibilité de vous faire conseiller. Des antennes de consultation sont à votre disposition. Vous trouverez des adresses ici.

Rapport Droits des patients en Suisse

Le Parlement a demandé plusieurs fois une amélioration du statut des patients. Le rapport intitulé « Droits des patients et participation des patients en Suisse » dresse un bilan détaillé de la situation.

Dernière modification 25.07.2019

Début de la page